Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ireland

Very good hotel, helpful staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We were looking for a relaxing holiday, we certainly managed to achieve this, it was a most restful week.
Cons: There was some mould on the ceiling of the bathroom of our room, and the road noise at night was noticeable despite our room being on the 4th floor
Location: The hotel is a bit of a climb from the beach area to get to the lift at the hotel, although this would not be a problem for most guests,
We arrived 2 hours before nominal check-in due to an early flight arrival. The check-in was very simple and we were offered a drink at check-in while we waited. We were given a room key where we could charge lunch etc to our room while we waited for it to be prepared. At this stage we went for a look around, the mirador pool area was very nice an quiet, just what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We had a lovely stay at the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa. The rooms are a good size. The first room we stayed in suffered from road noise, the hotel is a good 200 foot above the road but I think the sound must bounce off the rocks and in to some rooms. We spoke to reception and they weren't surprised so must be used to people complaining about this. We were moved to another room, one floor below (at an additional charge as the room was designed for 4 people / families) and there was no road noise at all. I was surprised at the lack of toiletries in the room. A bar of soap is provided and a fixed container of shower gel is attached to the shower wall but there is no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion so you will need to take your own. The hotel has two pools, we preferred to pool on the top floor as it was much quieter and there was much more space. They had activities such as aqua gym and aqua spin in the lower pool. Both pools were very cold so brace yourself! We were on B&B basis so I can only comment on breakfast, we ventured out in the evening for dinner as there are plenty of restaurants along the beach or at the harbour (a good 20 minute walk away). There was plenty of choice for breakfast, hot and cold, sweet & savoury. The staff were very attentive, the restaurant was well run and was kept very clean. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful hotel with stunning view

Posted Oct 11, 2016
This was an absolute gem. Perfect mini break in a perfect location. Try get a room in block 4 so you overlook the infinity pool and bay from your balcony. My partner and I have not a single complaint. The hotel is worth every penny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex uk

Lovely clean hotel could improve.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
This is my second visit to this hotel. Things have changed!! The main problem is the new card system even tho u have a a/I bracelet on, you have to swip your card every time, what is the point in having bracelet on. This really is a total pain and slows everything up. Also in the evening you cannot go to the bar, you have table service this is fine until it gets busy then your waiting 40mins for a drink. Quality of food is not as good as our visit last year. I get the impression they are trying to cut back on drinks and food. Such a shame as this is a lovely hotel and in a perfect Position .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very special treat, worth every penny!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Superb short stay, with fantastic facilities including infinity pool and spa. The food was Excellent including a great vegetarian options. The staff made our stay especially special with complimentary sparkling wine and cake to celebrate my husbands birthday. My only grumble was that you couldn't have a quiet siesta in your room without being disturbed by the cleaning team & banging doors! Can't grumble at being forced into having a few more hours sunbathing in the peace and tranquility around the Infinity pool...as long as there were no larger than life loud Italians around! But I'm being harsh...we will definitely be booking another stay, really worth every penny and the staff were exceptional! Thank you for a great stay and giving my husband the birthday he will never forget!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haslemere

Comfortable, well catered 6 day stay.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
I enjoyed my stay with my family at this hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy. I did consider the bar tariff to be quite expensive. The pool was very clean. It is an infinity pool and gives a nice effect overlooking the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Tranquil beach view

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Everything really it was a lovely experience. but I don't think men should have to wear long trousers to eat dinner, shorts should be adequate.
Cons: Another All-inclusive tariff wristband for non alcoholic drinkers which is more financially beneficial for non alcohol drinkers
Location: The beach is a short walk with shops all along the beach front. You would need to take a taxi into Peurto Rico shopping centre but that was only 4 eur
Lovely Hotel with a fantastic sea/beach view. Such a peaceful view from your room balcony & the hotel pool. Loved the jacuzzi seats in the outdoor pool, fantastic. Helpful/friendly staff. Great holiday, would definitely go again. As a suggestion I think it would be beneficial for the hotel (all hotels really) if there was an all-inclusive tariff introduced for non alcoholic drinkers via a different coloured wrist band. I think it would increase hotel profits as the All-inclusive rate per day is too high if you are a non alcoholic drinking couple travelling with children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

A week in the sunshine

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff, and lazy days on the Mirador terrace.
Cons: The evening entertainment, additional a la carte options and the toiletries provided.
This is a nice hotel for a relaxing week in the sunshine. The location is great, set high up in the cliff with superb views out over the Atlantic. The nearby beach is lovely with plenty of restaurants. As hotel buffets go, the food here is good and plentiful but the a la carte is expensive. The staff are very polite and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean with well-appointed bathrooms. The Mirador terrace is nice and quiet during the day. The spa is pretty good but the treatments are expensive and not particularly high quality. The evening entertainment is poor and the public rooms are far too hot. The all-inclusive has too many restrictions and is confusing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful views of sea from all rooms. Very clean and spacious rooms. Food was very good with a very good choice. There are two pools and the smaller is a very lovely quiet one with a bar. Overall a excellent hotel would definitely return.