Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel, fabulous position

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Position and facilities
Cons: Struggling to think of anything.
Location: Too many to list! Very close by
Hotel, pool, restaurants etc were excellent, staff very friendly and efficient. Suites were well well appointed and with all the facilities and equipment you would want. The location is great, right at the centre of the marina with all the shops, restaurants, tour boats etc very close to hand. We will definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by Fabiola, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you so much for choosing Marina Suites and for taking your precious time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy to see that we have fulfilled your expectations and that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Your lovely comments regarding our staff are so much welcome. We do work hard to ensure all guests are as comfortable as possible during their time with us. I will share your kind words them with the entire team. Looking forward to welcoming you on board once again then! From Marina Gran Canaria with love, Yours sincerely, Fabiola
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant hotel close to everything with great pool

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Hotel rooms are actually large, fully -equipped apartments with separate bedroom, bathroom and living area. There is a large balcony; ours was overlooking the marina and Puerto Rico. The infinity pool is excellent and there was a good buffet at breakfast, with plenty of choice and good quality food. The hotel has a large range of extras available, such as massage and organised activities for adults and children. There is a quiet area for over-18s with sun-loungers and jacuzzis. Staff are numerous and very helpful. I can highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Fabiola - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, I would like to thank you so much for choosing Marina Suites as your holiday destination and for posting such a delightful review about us. We are very happy to see that we have fulfilled your expectation and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Looking ahead to welcoming you here again! From Marina Gran Canaria with love, Yours sincerely, Fabiola
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family holiday

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Great family holiday, the hotel was pretty much perfect- particularly the pool, food and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very clean and well maintained hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
We visited this hotel during October half term with our young children of 2 years old on half board basis. Upon arrival there was no one to help us with our bags, we were told by unhelpful receptionist "this is a 4* hotel, not 5*" which we thought was quite abrupt and left a bad impression. During the course of our stay, it got much better. We stayed in room 808, a very well cleaned room and well equipped with kitchenette. Nice big sized front room with beautiful views overlooking sea and marina. We are vegetarian and the dinner at hotel was good for vegetarian, we spoke to chef who catered for our needs. The dinner waiters were very friendly with our young twins, especially Modesto who was very very smiley and provided excellent service throughout our whole week of dining. He was very welcoming towards our young twins children. Breakfast spread was very good. Pool area can get busy but we only went in afternoon time so we got sunbeds and that wasn't a problem. Infinity pool was nice. Adults only area is lovely, good jacuzzi which was set at a nice cool temperature. Kids disco was fantastic. Kids really enjoyed that. Carlos was very good at this. Housekeeping were very good and came at excellent times during the day when we were always out. Very Clean rooms. Excellent location of hotel, walking distance to Puerto Rico beach, marina and restaurants. Had a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely staff, generous accommodation

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Staff Size of accommodation Evening outlook (when the boatyard was closed) The infinity pool
Cons: A proper upgrade of the bathroom, preferably with a decent shower rather than a narrow bath.
Location: We last visited Puerto Rico about 30 years ago, and the retail centre is much as we remembered then, with little evidence of any maintenance.
Whilst described as overlooking a marina, a more accurate description is immediately beside a boat yard complete with lifting cranes and angle-grinders. The suite sizes are both generous and well equipped with a separate bedroom and kitchenette with cooker, microwave and normal domestic size fridge. The bathroom would have been good in the '80s but the refurbishment has been done down to a price rather than up to a standard and is already showing through as such. The wash hand basin has been plonked on top of the previous marble surface and because of its new height, would be difficult for vertically challenged guests. The pool area and breakfast/pool bar area doubles for the evening entertainment where the rather rotund 'Elvis' is a reasonable performer provided you have never heard the real thing ! The infinity pool was delightful, and the sun-loungers are rather cramped together between the wall of the boat yard and the pool edge. The food was generally quite good with the desserts consistently top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Simply amazing

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
I think the first thing to say is that we don't leave reviews of anything. However, we just had to on this occasion! This was, without any exaggeration whatsoever, one of the best hotels and holidays I have ever experienced and had. The staff were so polite, accommodating and nothing was ever too much. The room was lovely, and so clean. The infinity pool was the best pool we have ever been to, overlooking the sea. The atmosphere was so serene, I felt like we were at a meditation retreat! The views from the room looking over the marina were stunning. I do not have one bad thing to say, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to absolutely anyone. Thank you to Marina Suites !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great location and fantastic for children

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great facilities at this hotel. My daughter loved the kids club she had a fantastic time. Hotel clean, fresh, lovely rooms. Had a marina view was really good. Even offered us a room to shower in after we had checked out as we were having a late pick up these things make such a difference to the end of the holiday. Food a bit reptative. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Leslie

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Will be back there for sure. Very clean, very modern, very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great stylish hotel overloooking the sea

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Great hotel, very clean, amazing staff, stylish, infinity pool overlooking the sea, great buffet meals, great entertainment.
Cons: Bed was very large in deluxe suite but far too hard so made it hard to sleep. Needs a mattress topper.
Location: Town of Puerto Rico is very poor over cheap over development (nice gardens in middle though). Visit Amadores for a good beach.
Overall a great 4 star hotel. Very little we did not like. Recommerndations to management: I suggest to reduce the size of adult only area for the benefit of other hotel guests who are a little cramped in the pool area. Use more of the space near kids club- make a small pool for them in that area? Remove the cactus near kids club.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We enjoyed our 2 weeks at the hotel which was well located. Marina view rooms have great views of the sunset. Spacious, clean rooms with friendly and helpful staff. Minor maintenance issues were quickly dealt.