Ratings based on 1,107 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

AMAZING!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: free breakfast, friendly staff, free parking, food truck right next door!
Cons: cleaning system? The towels weren't always new.
Location: Food truck next door.
Everything was smooth here. The front desk personnel was SO amazingly nice, friendly, and helpful. She told us about the food trucks nearby (where we went to four times in our five days there!), gave us information about the area, and helped us through everything. The hotel has a free shuttle that goes to Condado beach and picks you up. They also have free bike rentals. Breakfast and parking is FREE (which is SO hard to find in San Juan). It is not ON the beach but it's not too far. We had a rental car so we used the shuttle once but drove once to the beach. There are tons of parking lots for about $6.50 for the whole day--very reasonable. We loved it so much that we had two nights at the end of our trip unbooked and wanted to venture out but decided to book at the Ciqala again. We are excited to go back! We love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posh hotel with neat amenities

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: The shower curtain rod was awkwardly short.
Location: it's downtown but also very close to Old San Juan so .... the whole city is at your fingertips.
Outside of a comfortable bed and clean bathroom, there's not typically much I want from my hotels. Until now. CIQALA has a legit mini-kitchen which was great, a balcony in the room, not to mention the layout of the room was very modern and made me feel more at home. The snacks in the minibar were also not a complete ripoff but rather their natural price, so that was incredibly helpful for when we found ourselves wanting something, for which there's little excuse because there happens to be a 24-hour convenience store literally right next door. The rooftop has a fantastic view, the warm tub/pool was right next to the bar so I could enjoy cocktails while soaking, and the food from the kitchen was very good, too. Speaking of food, the breakfast situation is quite ideal, as you can get eggs and some kind of carb for free every morning, it's SO much better than your typical free breakfast. Lastly, it's worth mentioning that they have a few bikes to loan out, so we were able to take a very easy ride to Old San Juan too. Very, very worth the price, lovely place in which to enjoy a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Traveling fronteras NC with Kids and their Wired/girlfriend and grand kid...we stayed for only one night but everything was great. Roof top pool with a Bar. Free parking and free breakfast. Awesome facility and staff. The attention was unbelievable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tyler, texas

Decent hotel, bad neighborhood

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel was decent but better can be had for the price. Not close to beaches at all. Gang tagging all over area, homeless people sleeping outside hotel. The staff were tremendously friendly and offered tips. Breakfast was great, rooftop was nice. Would not stay here again. Spent last night at hotel on condado beach and it was much nicer area, hotel was cheaper and about 3 minute walk to beach. If I come back to San Juan I will stay on condado beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Filthy Room with Nice Staff!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We reserved the presidential suite. The suite was filthy! Food on the floor, used sheets with hair, dirty dishes with hair and particles in the utensil draw. The roof top is tiny with a hot tube size pool. The hotel is in a sketchy area. We canceled the 2nd night. We would like a refund! I have pictures to prove it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Awesome hotel with amazing staff!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The hotel was awesome and the staff even better. On Saturday night, there was a young female server at the rooftop bar who went above and beyond giving us an idea of the nightlife in old San Juan. Every suggestion was on point. Everything was amazing about this stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

Very nice.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
It was very relaxing. It was clean, the pool was great at the roof top. The food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Nice hotel, the pool is a joke.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Nice hotel, the pool is a joke. The rooms are comfortable, it is a decent location, but the pool is about the size of a king size bed, and therefore is a joke. Breakfast is tedious, with very cheap ingredients, canned fruit, and incredibly heavy pancakes. If you're staying for a few days, you will tire of the breakfast quickly. Everything else about this hotel is quite good, but it is interesting that their photograph shows a pool, which is actually incredibly small and shallow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

nice hotel with great rooftop

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Loved the staff they were very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was great. We got to sit outside and eat breakfast and look at the nice view. The rooftop is beautiful. They only have 34 rooms so it's not packed when you go up to the rooftop. The pool is open 24 hours! The only thing I didn't like was that the parking garage was really small. I had a hard time getting in and out of my car. Also, the outlets in my room were not working properly. I had the hardest time charging my phone. I did not like how the shower was. They have half of a shower curtain. While you are taking a shower you feel the cold air hitting you. I would give this hotel a 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
very convenient location, nice and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room