Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roomy stay great location poor service NO LUXURY

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Great location, friend roof top bar and restaurant staff
Cons: Front desk, building service, cleaning staff hospitality and guest services.
Word "LUXURY" needs to be removed from hotel name. The hotel is located in a great location, near major attractions. Recommend rental car, instead of relying on taxi or tour services. We stayed in room 504. The three bedroom, two bathroom penthouse was very spacious for our family of five. Caution, the refrigerator comes stocked with beverages and snacks totaling about $100 US. If you do like us and have the items removed by housing keeping, make sure to get an printed statement from the front desk to make sure you are not erroneously billed after your departure. The roof bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and accommodating. However the front desk, building services, and cleaning staffs' hostpitality and services are very disappointing and underwhelming. Door persons and front desk, to include the management, are more interested in conversations with each other than checking in/out guests and answering questions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Off the beaten path

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly.
Cons: ventilation system - hallways stunk of kitchen food smells kept getting sewage smell from sink and/or whirlpool tub in bathroom
Location: not much
Stayed here for 3 nights prior to leaving on a cruise. Would not stay at this location again for more than a night. Many of the hotel guests stayed here because they were leaving on a cruise. Pool is the size of a hot tub. nothing to do nearby. Told we could walk to Old San Juan in 20 minutes but took a city bus which was quite fun! The bus ride was at least 15 minutes, so I doubt we could have walked. Definitely not my idea of a VIP hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Jan 8, 2017
It was a quaint hotel...completely non standard with regards to the construction style, garage, lobby, room wall finish and decor. The mattress in the main bed was very good while the one in the pull out sofa was terrible. The shuttle to the condonado beach was good. Breakfast was excellent. It all depends on the price for which you buy this room. I wouldn't call these rooms luxury...but they are pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I stay there for my honeymoon

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The services, and the pool on the top of the roof. w/nice view and the breakfast all them are made it perfect for the tasting.
Cons: Well, there is always something to improve, and I'd say make sure the building outside is clean and the please include a taxis better options.
Location: It was a nice place, nearly to the beach, and San Juan that its the capital of Puerto Rico. For me, it was good due I know well the area.
I had a pent house or more like they called, Presidential Suit. I also included a romantic package w/ flowers, and champagne is included with chocolate all on the master room and the jacuzzi all super great. It was a great place to stay even the price were a litter high.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATLANTA

“SAVE YOUR SELF THE MONEY AND TROUBLE, MOTEL CIQAL

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: nothing.. except One nice lady checking us in.. dont remember her name
Cons: they need to correct the ratings to 1star
Location: horrible
Where do i start?.. Check in was Horrible , we got 2 ladies , the one who was helping us check in was nice but not too knowledgeable or maybe the other lady whose name i made sure to get ELIZABETH kept rudely interrupting my conversation with the 1st Representative , Elizabeth was RUDE AND INDIFFERENT, that is when she was not fidgeting with her cell phone, worst experience of my life Furniture in room very basic cheap the walls are not even painted at all . This is not a hotel its a cheap apartment converted into a cheap Motel , Do your self a favor and stay elsewhere. This is a terrible motel!! TERRIBLE. We checked in and out within the hours that's how bad this place is. We could not fathom staying even one night. . Our room 402 was pathetic , Went to the business center which is by the dinning hall, It is simple pathetic, A high school cafeteria is 100% better than this dinning space. PLEASE DO YOUSELVES A FAVOUR - dont book this place, LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Sara , Hotel Management
We are very sad about your review, because at ck-in Elizabeth explained all the servicves that we offer including the made-to-order american breakfast, beach shuttle with complementary chairs and umbrellas. At ckin inmediatley we offered a complementary crib for your baby. You requested a ocean view room as condition to stay at the hotel in the alternative a full refund of your stay against to the hotel policy. Our rooms have city view as established in our webpage and in your reservation. Lamentably you decided to check-out because we could not comply your ocean view request. Your room has a modern style decoration and the walls has texture that looks like gray cement. Our staff are very pleasant to deliver the best service to our guest. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponce, PR

Excellent for family trip to the city.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
This was our 2nd stay and the experience was better than the first time. The place is safe, staff is very helpful, room was big with all facilities, front desk service excellent, and the breakfast...the best in the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

post cruise

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: nice place, boutique, great staff
Cons: Showers were beautiful but due to design leaked very badly. Curtain needs to extend full length of shower and be a little longer to avoid leaking
Location: nothing near that we saw. noisy location if you were on main levels. (room 104)
Rooms small for "suite" expectations. Water cold in shower room 104. Food was good but very limited menu for dinner. Included breakfast was excellent. Location a little far from most "tourist" attractions but quick taxi ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
In love with this hotel! The pool, the staff, the room was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill SC

Post cruise stay. Christmas Eve.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Reserved 3 rooms. One on floor 1 was very noisy with no hot water in shower. AC worked very well in all rooms. Showers lovely but leaked all over floor as curtains were not long enough and too short to cover distance of spray. Food excellent for included breakfast and dinner though very limited menu for evening. Overall very pleased however rooms were much smaller than the "suite" term would lease you to believe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Super great staff and super comfortable rooms. Cleanness really neat, a great experience and nice location.