Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Love love love!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Awesome hotel with awesome benefits!!! The staff were timely and helpful with all of our questions! Room was nice and cozy and staff even validated rather or not a tour we signed up for was legit or not! Loved every minute of our stay, will def be staying there when we visit again! Happy travels!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel was in a good location.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent in helping me and my husband get to where we needed to go. The overview was good as well.
Cons: I seen none.
Location: the location was good and there were restaurants near by and also a Wal-mart and Walgreens down the street.
my experience with the hotel was good. it was right beside a convenient store.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Loved our stay !! Very clean very helpful staff !!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The Room was amazing !! Clean neat !! Modern !! Star was very friendly ! Not to far from Everything !! I would love to stay here again .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Perks, room, pool
Cons: The firness room, nothing was working, for me it is very important and it could make me choose a different hotel next time if I am by myself.
Location: Dining across the street, viejo San Juan,
To be honest, I was a bit disappointed when I first saw the hotel. However, everybody on the staff were really nice, the room was big and comfortable, with the best minibar rates that I have ever seen. Free parking, good breakfast included (with menu, not buffet) Great location, with a bunch of good restaurants in walking distance. Enjoy the view from the pool on the roof.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great...

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Coneniently located in Miramar.
Cons: Service
With a little bit of effort this small hotel could be really special. However, cleanliness is lacking, the waft of bacon grease hits hard especially upon entering the elevator. Our bed did not have a protective mattress cover. When the bathroom mirror was steamed up "Mel loves..." clearly was apparent. Obviously the mirror had not been cleaned. Ice available only at the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room that I paid for wasn't available.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Told me that they refunded my money to Expedia. How do I get my refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Ciqala Team, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review,as we explained to you at ck-in due to a system error we accomodated you in other type of room that have the ammenities of the original one and also inmediatley we contacted Expedia to proccess amount diference from the new room type. Normally that takes from 7-10 buisness days to reflect it in your account. Thanks so much for your comments.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

The home away from home

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The room was amazing and extremely spacious!! The staff in the dining area were warm and hospitable
Cons: The cleanliness of the room floor & the way the front desk staff greets the guess especially upon their arrival to the hotel. First impressions counts
Location: We did not get a chance to explore things to do within the location of the hotel, we basically just stay in and enjoyed the hotel
We stayed at the CIQALA hotel after we returned from our cruise to the Caribbean. Our first contact with the staff at The CIQALA Hotel was not what we expected from the front desk staff. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 3pm on 9/4/2016, there were 3 staff at the desk, we said good afternoon to the 3 ladies who were present but no one there acknowledged us, they continued to have a conversation among themselves and did not respond to our greeting. I waited for a few (still no acknowledgement) and said good afternoon a second time. At this time, one of the ladies looked at me appearing a bit annoyed, responded "good afternoon". Disappointingly, she gave no apologies for ignoring us, but proceeded to check us in. Needless to say, with this initial/first encounter we felt a bit uncomfortable. However, even though we did not received a warm welcome or an apology from the ladies at the front desk for initially ignoring us, our stay at the CIQALA was awesome!!! It truly felt like the "Home away from home". Our encounter with the rest of the staff was quite pleasant. Once we got to our room, we immediately called our friends and family and told them about our amazing room!!! We also recommended that if they go to Puerto Rico that the CIQALA hotel is the perfect place to stay. By the way, even the front desk staff in the end weren't so bad after all. Overall, we would most definitely stay at the CIQALA hotel the next time that we go to Puerto Rico.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We did not have a 4.5* experience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: It is very clean. Very modern. Very updated.
Cons: I, like a lot of other people who have reviewed the hotel, was not a fan of the 1/4 shower curtain. It's just weird. I like more privacy.
Location: The location is sketchy. I did not feel completely unsafe, but I could not say that I felt 100% safe either. It is in a residential neighborhood.
Upon arrival, we were very confused with parking. There are not any instructions on where to park. After sitting in front of the hotel for a few minutes, a staff member came out to tell us that a "garage" door would be opened and we would park in there. The parking spots are very tight. I mean, very, very, very tight. As the passenger, I had to get out of the car before my husband could park in a space. It is not for the faint of heart if you have issues with backing into a parking space. I was not driving, so I really did not care. Until there was not a space available. At that point, after having come in from a very long day, the garage door was opened and we pulled in. However, there were not any spaces available. So we sat.And contemplated as to what to do. A staff member finally came out and said that our car would be valet parked. Okay. But why would you not have come into the garage as soon as you opened the door? On the second night of sleeping on the bed, I told my husband that something was definitely wrong. The mattress formed a bowl in the middle. My back was destroyed after the second night of sleeping in a hole. I called the front desk and asked them to please look at it. he said that he would send someone up. Again, after another long day, we finally got back to the room. I tested the bed and it had not been fixed. I called the front desk. She said she would come up and look at it. No one ever came. Until the next day. One day before checkout. Thanks. Or not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good Hotel with Better than expected amenities.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Free parking, free Wifi, and free breakfast and free beach shuttle and the awesome rooftop pool (though do note that is a lot smaller than pictured).
Cons: The parking is very tight though free valet parking is available. Rooms are cleaned inconsistenly.
Location: Old San Juan, Isla Verde, Yunque Rainforest, Plaza Americas, several great dining options, the Bacardi factory, several musuems and beaches are near.
Stayed recently for a week at this hotel. The staff can be a bit of hit and miss sometimes with service but some are consistenly excellent. We were a party of 3 and the signauture suite was able to accomadate us well. We visited several sites throughout Puerto Rico and used the hotel as our base from which we left each morning to explore the island. The hotel served its purpose for us quite well and the staff was helpful in letting us know which places to visit. We grabbed breakfast almost every day. While the quality was pretty good it got boring as the meal options are not changed at all (but it's free). We'd usually have breakfast each day, go sightseeing or relaxing at the beach, and then go have dinner at one of the many great restuarants near by. To get the most of of this hotel you should definitely rent a car as it's not necessarily within what are considered the tourist areas of San Juan. Also, we stayed our last night in a presidential suite and (if you can afford it) it's great option for families and parties of multiple people. The food at the rooftop area was decent but we mostly ate in the very many nearby restuarants. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend this hotel for the native non touristy experience of the island as it felt like a home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Ciqala Team, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience with us in this review. We are happy to read that you had a nice stay with us; that your signature suite was nice for your party. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary cook to order breakfast and that you enjoyed dinner with us. Thanks so much for recommending our hotel, we look forward to continue welcoming you back at your home away in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Thanks so much for your review! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and wrkcoming

Posted Sep 8, 2016
the staff are nice, respectful and courteous. My only recommendation will be the gym, which had only a treadmill, an elliptical, and one multi use exercise machine. The gym must be upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Ciqala Team, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review, we are more than happy that you enjoy your stay with us. See you soon!!!