Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really a Hotel...

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Not really a Hotel but a Motel. Our room was way out dated and small. Bathroom was worst. It really looked like a cheap motel room. The hotel apart from the room is ok. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was great. And the location was the best thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We will take what you wrote to better our service in the near future. Our hotel is centrally located in Ashford ave. close to the action and just a block away from the beach. Our property offers all the simple basic amenities but not the high cost of additional unnecessary resort fees that you might or might not want. We do offer simple clean rooms with private bathrooms cable tv and free WIFI. We also offer 24 hour front desk service and tour desk to help you plan your perfect trip on the island. If you are looking for a resort type of property you may look elsewhere for that type of hotel but if you are looking for a nice simple clean room at a perfect location then look no more and and book with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Bad experience

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I wish I could give a better review had I made it inside the hotel. Arrived at hotel, found free parking and entered the place. Atmosphere was nice and hotel attendant was very professional. However I discovered they had moved me down to the sister hotel with an upgrade. Cool I thought.... but when I get there, I find it tucked in the backend of a no way out street. I had to back my car and squeezed my car back around. I saw the attendant and asked where the parking was. He told me I had to find my own. So I spent the next 30 minutes driving around with no success. Frustrated, I Called Expedia to cancel and get a refund but unsuccessful no refunds for that hotel. Never again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. You were upgraded to king sized bed. Upon Expedia informing us quite by surprise, you were having a difficult time looking for parking, the Front desk attendant waited outside with the valet to park your car at an available spot. we will take what your wrote to provide a better service in the future. Take care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Lamp shades were a bit run down but I liked my room. Check in was easy, greatly located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
thank you for your review. We will take what you wrote to provide a better service in the future. Take care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Very good and great location. Thank you! Honest and wonderful staff. Price offer was very good too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and we hope to see you again son. Take care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I will never visit Puerto Rico again Trip from hel

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
I was a guest at this hotel 10/27-10/31 they charged my card on 11/2 $200 for smoking. I DO NOT SMOKE!!! I complained to staff about the smell coming into room 107 from the broken window over the shower. And now these people want to steal my money and say I smoke in that room. This is absolutely ridiculous. They are thieves & LIARS. No free breakfast no free parking as stated on the website. I want my refund ASAP. These people are not stealing my money for something I didn't do. And I will never visit Puerto Rico again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Upon checking in you signed and acknowledged to our terms and conditions during your stay which included among other things, that our property is a non-smoking property and any indications of smoke in the room is subject to a penalty fee of $200.00. The housekeeping manager confirmed the presence of smoke in the room after you checked out and applied the associated fee. This fee covers the deep cleaning required to prepare the room for our arriving guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Shore, MD

Great in so many ways

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: There are lots of restaurants, from fancy to down-home. And a supermarket right across the street for everything from snacks to personal necessities.
It was not a complete surprise, but I enjoyed so much the comfort, size and cleanliness of the room! And the location was ideal for my purpose; many options for eating and traveling right there in front. I was with old friends and new relations and we all enjoyed the convenience and comfort of the hotel. It felt like we were home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to give the best possible service and appreciate your feedback! We hope you consider us again, next time you visit Condado. Take care.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location Location Location

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice it is a great location for all needs
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you found our property perfect for your needs, (in the middle of the action in Condado). We hope to see you again in the near future. Take care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We work hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Staff let us keep our luggage there until we checked in. The room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We work hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy Condado a few more hours after check-out. We also provide our guests with a fully furnished bathroom at our property in case they want to enjoy the beach one last time and have a quick shower before they head towards the airport. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to the beach.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cute little hotel, but too small. We had some ants in the room and a weird odor in the restroom. Restroom was also very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We will take what you wrote to provide a better service in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.