Looks are Deceiving
Posted Feb 2, 2017
Despite the photos and listed amenities, the Caribe Hilton is quite underwhelming in person. The hotel has been renovated recently and the lobby, bar, and pool area are modern and classy, but it's clear that they simply repainted and ignored the rusting sliding door, chipped furniture, cracked doorframe, and stained bathtub. The listed amenities fail to live up to their descriptions; the mini-golf was a poorly maintained putting green, the gym equipment was 20+ years old, and the private beach was littered with branches, seaweed, and broken lounge chairs. Certainly does not justify the hefty resort fees that came at check out.
The biggest complaint came with the staff and hotel "rules". Staff and security were extremely rude when we showed up to the beach without wristbands and with our own drinks, despite there being no sign or notice that you cannot bring your own food or beverage to the beach and that you need a wristband to enter. Casual pre-dinner drinks in our room yielded mysterious noise complaints from a roaming security guard who insisted we were blasting music and waited outside our door for 10 minutes like a college RA. They also do not allow Uber pickups at the hotel in an effort to curry favor with city cabbies. The two exceptions came with the Enterprise representative, who was cheerful and helpful in planning a rainforest day trip, and Danny at the pool bar, who honored our drink cards despite closing down the bar and made a mean pina colada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by jlopezvela , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.
We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with the taxi situation. As you were explained, the hotel does not manage the taxis, and is the Puerto Rico Tourism Company who handles the restriction of Uber in touristic areas. Our Executive Team is working hard to not let this situation affect our guests in their experience in our hotel.
We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.