Ratings based on 3,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Ideal location near Old San Juan

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location and pool area the most. Surprised how rough the ocean was. The Lagoon made it possible to swim in ocean water, but I stuck with the pool.
Location: El Morro, the City Gate and the Cathedral in Old San Juan are a must if you have never been. Good museums in Old San Juan as well.
Lovely stay, ideally close to Old San Juan--the purpose of my trip. Enjoyed the pool and the garden area very much. Room was small, but acceptable. Nice view to the west only. Still, enjoyed the view. Dining was expensive, but food was excellent and selections were outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Paid for more $ for an "Ocean View" Room. Was given "garden view" room. When we questioned front desk was given one floor higher in garden tower that supposedly had ocean view. It may have had a "view" over the acre of jungle between tower and water. Stayed at this property before and knew which tower had "ocean view" rooms after much hassle was given an "ocean view" room in the other tower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

A big convenience

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: I liked it's geographical location, the facilities and activities within the facility, the friendly staff, and very family friendly.
Cons: The cleanliness of some areas of the hotel was not up to par to
Location: A 10 minute drive from the airport made it easy to get to and leave from; 20 minute walk to Old San Juan and surrounding neighborhoods.
All in all, it was conveniently located to many different attractions on PR. From a 20 minute walk to Old San Juan, or a 10 minute drive to and from the airport, it was still secluded enough to not have vehicle traffic to take away from the serenity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs major improvement

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We liked that the beach was nearby but the food was expensive and there were many insects/creatures/cockroaches in the hotel. The staff did not respond immediately to try's left out in the hallways for hours at a time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel should of had jacuzzi tub

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Great experience hotel doesn't except cash though a little weird
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Nice hotel and staff Needs a little TLC

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Cons: A little paint and cosmetic work done
Location: Nice location on the beach
Nice hotel Comfortable beds getting a little run down Needs a bit of TLC Enjoyed our stay there
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great family resort

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: We loved how family friendly the resort was.
Location: The hotel is less than a 10 minute cab ride to Old San Juan. It's also within an hour to El Yunque rain forest.
We had a wonderful time at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. The beach and pool facilities were top notch and always very clean. There were always plenty of chairs, towels, and umbrellas too, which is all too often an issue with these types of resorts. However at the Caribe that was an non-issue. The staff was also extremely friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

Mixed Bag

Posted Mar 29, 2016
The Caribe Hilton is a mixed bag. The resort's common areas are beautiful. The indoor/ outdoor lounge nad grounds are top notch and modern. It is located on a protected private beach with calm waters that are perfect for children. The pools are very nice. We were given a room in the tower. Our room was not modern. The lobby of the tower had a moldy smell. The room - with balcony, while Clean, needed updating. The wall above the beds was dusty. The rugs need replacing. There was no microwave. The bathroom was spacious and appointed with stone tile and a huge walk in shower with rainhead. Still you could see that the bathroom needed fresh paint. This is an old hotel- but on the plus side- it is solid concrete and you cannot hear anyone beside, above or below your room. Beds were soft and comfy There were several restaurants on site. We ate dinner at LemonGrass and it was superb. The Pina-Colada Club restaurant was also good. The valet staff was wonderful. There is a Starbucks on site and we got breakfast there daily.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachussetts

Great for families

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Room with balcony view of the ocean, and nice pool and beach areas.
Cons: Service from towel hut staff, especially to families who would simply like an umbrella, some beach toys, or floats for their children.
Location: Touring the forts was fun with the children, and Old San Juan was great for dinner!
The hotel grounds and room were beautiful. The convenience of the pools and the private beach were excellent. My only complaint is that the staff at the towel hut were rude and disinterested in customer service. They made it seem like I was inconveniencing them to ask for beach toys for my sons. During the free float hour every day, they said I could only have one float for our family, when I have two young sons. They would have spent the entire time fighting over use of the float. They had plenty of floats available, and gave me a very hard time about handing out another one to us. When we asked for them to put up an umbrella over our beach lounges (as was advertised on the sign that they did), they seemed bothered by the request. This was the only area at the resort in which I encountered unfriendly service. I also found all of the restaurants to be extremely expensive, even Quiznos!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland OH

Great property, Service Oriented Stay.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, food, and service.
Cons: Room update.
Location: Old San Juan is a gem! Many great restaurants all around. La Plaza de Las Americas was a nearby mall for more modern shopping.
Beautiful property. Great personnel. They are very service oriented. Every person was very helpful. I liked the taxi availability on site 24 hours a day. Valet retrieval was also very convenient. Available for 24 hours a day and you could check out your vehicle as many times as you needed to for a flat rate. Loved the beach service, the snorkel rental, we tried all the restaurants which were fantastic. My only mediocre experience were the rooms. They were a fair size, could probably use some updating but where the rooms lacked the property and staff made up. All in all I will definitely return.