Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 19, 2017
This was my second time staying El Canario for the Lagoon. The rooms are clean and the staff is great. I was very happy with my stay over all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to everything, GREAT Staff!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Really nice local hotel. The staff is great! We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great visit in San Juan. The place is very clean! They're cleaning all day, everyday! I left my jacket when I checked out. I called less than 2 hours later to tell them. As soon as I called, the lady at the front desk said "I have it right here!" We even had the pleasure to meet and talk with the owner. The hotel is close to everything. You don't even walk 5 minutes before arriving to food places. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk. This will definitely be my hotel of choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Passaic, NJ

NICE HOTEL

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: everything, cozy hotel off the strip
Cons: elevator needs to stop jerking, shouldn't have rolling beds
Location: close to the strip and beach, lots of restaurants to visit, sightseeing bus
close to main strip, great continental breakfast, great front desk, great a/c, good amenties
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel for overnight stay. Close to beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: It was a nice clean place to stay for the night. They also allowed us to store our luggage for free.
Location: Close to beach, restaurants
This was a nice little hotel, not luxury, but a good place to stay for one night while traveling to a cruise. The lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to keep our luggage in a locked room while we explored San Juan prior to boarding our cruise. We returned after our cruise because our flight was late afternoon, and offered to pay a fee, but they again kindly allowed us to store it for free. I was very impressed by that, since they did not owe us anything. I read other reviews where they said the air conditioning did not work. Ours did work, and almost too well, but we were able to control it. They offered a Continental breakfast in the morning which was basic, but good to start the day. Juice, coffee, fruit, breads and cereal were the options. Not great if you are gluten-free like me, but I got by with the fruit and a muffin I had brought. The hotel was within close walking distance to a view of the ocean, and a public beach where the waves were quite turbulent. A 1 km walk toward Old San Juan brought us to the Playita de Condado (public beach) where there was a breaker reef, so the water was much calmer and nice for swimming. If you don't have a 5-year old in tow, it is about 5 kilometres to walk to Old San Juan. If you like shopping, there were some high-end stores just a 2 minute walk away, including a Cartier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul MN

Nice location and staff.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice location close to Condado beach and restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was older but very clean. Nice TV and a little fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta GA

Nice location.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Staff hotel they are very friendly.bilingual and ready to help.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made me feel at home.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a small, locally owned hotel located one block off busy Ashford Street and two blocks from the beach. (Close to the big La Concha.) The property is older and the room could be made more comfortable, but the owners are making it as nice as they can. The thing that causes me to give this hotel a strong positive rating is the people. They really make you feel at home. Rafael and Samantha at reception were especially helpful and charming. If you like the "boutique" hotel experience, consider El Canario.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Stayed overnight before AND after a cruise in 2 different rooms on different floors. Both were clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff were outgoing and even secured our luggage for the time between our checkout and boarding. They even had a room ready and waiting for us at 9am when the ship returned. Excellent location also with beach, restaurants and Walgreens only blocks away. Would use this hotel again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The continental breakfast could include a few vegetables.
This is a small nice hotel close to everything in Condado area.