Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and conveniently located hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The cleanness and the staff treatment. Also the convenient to the beach.
Location: Visit the Old San Juan, lots of hotels and places to eat around.
A good experience, very clean and the staff is wonderful. I'm already planning to go back and stay around the end of the year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. We take pride of our staff and for work of our maids. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Small but clean and keep in very good condition. Staff very polite and helpful. Definitely I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Location Location...

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Close to the beach and Ashford Avenue. No pool. The reception area must be a little bit more organized. Excellent location to go for a walk and find a restaurant for a culinary experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel right in the heart of the New San Juan Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great for the price!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This little boutique hotel is perfect for a 1-2 night stay. It is not a modern, updated hotel but it is clean and has everything you would need for a short stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. It is just a short 3-5 minute walk to the beach, hotels, restaurants and shops. It sits between a Holiday Inn Express and I believe a Comfort Inn. For the price, I loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff (our most precious jewell) and the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great staff, hotel location and conditions. Everything was very clean. The location is perfect and the price was better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to make this great review about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the great comments about our staff. We care about our guests and try to exceed their expectations every time. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 19, 2017
This was my second time staying El Canario for the Lagoon. The rooms are clean and the staff is great. I was very happy with my stay over all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and also about our staff. We try to exceed our guests expections every time they come by providing excellent customer service and providing to the guest the best accomodations. We hope to have you back as a guest one more time, please give us a call so we can offer you a discount for your fidelity. Warm regards, Canario by the Lagoon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to everything, GREAT Staff!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Really nice local hotel. The staff is great! We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great visit in San Juan. The place is very clean! They're cleaning all day, everyday! I left my jacket when I checked out. I called less than 2 hours later to tell them. As soon as I called, the lady at the front desk said "I have it right here!" We even had the pleasure to meet and talk with the owner. The hotel is close to everything. You don't even walk 5 minutes before arriving to food places. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk. This will definitely be my hotel of choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time writting the review about your stay. We take pride of our staff and how they always try to give that extra mile in order for our guests to have the best experience they could have. If you ever turn back to San Juan, you can always come to your home away from home! Warm Regards The Canario by the Lagoon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Clean hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel was in a great location and was squeaky clean. The breakfast area was nice a restful.
Cons: The breakfast itself was only so-so. I was sad that they didn't have good coffee or cream. The room was clean, but very drab--not a drop of color.
Location: Close to the beach and nice restaurants. Easy to get to old San Juan by bus and easy access to the highway to get anywhere else on the island.
We stayed for 5 nights at El Canario by the Lagoon. It was in a great location; nice neighborhood and very close to old San Juan and close to the highway to get to other locations on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Passaic, NJ

NICE HOTEL

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: everything, cozy hotel off the strip
Cons: elevator needs to stop jerking, shouldn't have rolling beds
Location: close to the strip and beach, lots of restaurants to visit, sightseeing bus
close to main strip, great continental breakfast, great front desk, great a/c, good amenties