Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virgin Islands

Great location in the Condado

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, good location in the heart of the Condado. Room was clean but could di with an upgrade. Ovwrall a pleasant stay, I would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good cheap hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Cheap, close to the beaches and interesting places, very clean, nice staff.
Cons: This hotel is not recent but is well maintained. So it is not perfect but absolutely decent. Everything is already very good.
Location: Condado seems to be the best place to stay in San Juan, but do not stay more than 3 days. Hire a car and visit the country!
I you wanna stay in San Juan for cheap and in good condition this hotel is for you! I actually spent 13 days over there. The building may look pretty old fashion but is in fact very clean and well maintained throughout. It takes around 3 minutes walk to get Condado beach. It is close to all amenities (bus, restaurants, post office, supermarkets, ...) and to old San Juan and La Plaza del Mercado. Each room is spacious, contains a fridge, air conditioning, bathroom and balcony. I was very happy with the breakfast which include good coffee, orange juice, many sorts of breads, cereals, pastries and fruits all you can eat and in self service. Others hotel in the area offers parking deal if you are driving. There is also a laundry room equipped with washing machine, dryer and ironing material. The staff (cleaning, maintenance, front desk) is absolutely LOVELY except one guy (who proceeded mycheck-in) with a very strange and intrusive behavior and saying that he is the boss while he is actually not. Dealing with this guy was my only one disappointment in this hotel. Ultimately, this hotel is suitable both for short and long stay. I would come back with pleasure!
3 out of 5
by William from Apple Valley, MN

Will stay again in future

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very good for my one night stay in that I boarded a cruise ship early the next day. The cleanliness of the room, service and amenities where what i wanted in this case.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

literally 2 blocks from everything.

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: The excellent staff and cleanliness. TV's were great, water was hot when needed to be.
Cons: A night stand on both sides of bed would be nice, a few more hooks and or shelves in the bathroom for clothes, towels and toiletries.
Location: Found some great restaurants on main street (Ashford) 2 blocks from hotel. Just like Vegas Strip, if you need it it is there. CVS, Walgreen's, Grocery
I do not need a resort when on vacation, I look for cleanliness first. I read the ratings given by people who have stayed there. The El Canario by the Lagoon is not a resort, it is an extremely friendly, very clean, appropriate hotel for exactly what you need. A place to sleep, shower and do it all over again. Not one person on the staff, and we talked to many, were anything but nice and extremely helpful. Laundry room on premise great for extended vacations, 2 blocks to grocery, restaurants, beaches and of course, public transportation. Manuel and Rafael were our first faces at the hotel and both gave very precise and great ideas for travel, restaurants and such. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Did I miss a pool? maybe if there was one I would have used it. Did I enjoy sitting on the patio on an 85 degree day drinking Puerto Rican beer under the palm trees.....absolutely! The continental breakfast was more than I expected with 6 different breads for toasting, pastries, cereals, oat meal, coffee, tea, milk and orange juice, fresh bananas. If going to Puerto Rico for overnighter before cruise, perfect. If going for more than that and want to spend your hard earned money on the local cuisine and sights, enjoy this quaint clean friendly hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

tiny room, good location

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: more desk staff
Location: lots of fast food
our queen-bed room was tiny, the bathroom had no tub, just a small shower, definitely a low-end place--we booked it for just one night between flights. the biggest problem was that there was only 1 person on duty at the desk, answering phones and giving restaurant suggestions, etc., to other groups, and so we had to wait a long time just to check in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach!

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Good hotel, clean, friendly staff and close to the beach!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Griknok

Very Good!

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Great location, nice facilities. It's clean, well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Very close to the beach!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Ok, pretty basic but good for an overnight,

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Staff was helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was basic, patio was nice. Good for price in area . If what you're looking for is a clean, cheap accommodation, this is it.
4 out of 5
by Bente from Stathelle

Enkelt, men bra hotell med enkel frokost

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotellet ligger 300 m fra Condado-stranda og 15 minutters gange fra ei lita, værbeskytta,fin strand ved brua over til gamle San Juan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a short stay

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed only for one night, the hotel is nicely situated and the staff was friendly. The room was quite small, but for us it was ok. There are many bars and restaurants nearby, but the hotel is by a small road, so there's not much noice from outside. The old town is a bit further, we walked there (took a while), but didn't want to walk back.