Ratings based on 1,973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely resort--family friendly

Posted Jul 23, 2016
My 10 year old and I had a great time at El Conquistador. There was tons to do--pools, a water park, and a lovely beach. It's a short walk to the biolumescent bay kayak tours (we loved Glassbottom tours). We arranged a very nice tout of el Yunque from the hotel. The breaksfast buffet at las Brisas was pricey but one of the best I've had. There are other food options which are also good. As a vegetarian, however, the choices were somewhat limited. It would have beem nice if some of the traditional bean dishes also were available with meat in them. If this were the case I might have given a 5 star. The staff were exceptionally nice. I would go again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not a hotel to stay if you want peace and quiet

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The front desk staff was very inefficient . They did not know if suites were available when I wanted to upgrade. The room was average at best and outdated. There area was noisy . I will Never Stay in this hotel again. It is better to stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Losing Steam

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Have stayed here many times before. This last time noticed that the hotel has deteriorated some but noticeably. Food is extremely expensive and not special at all. Breakfast for 5? $200!!! And options were basic. Palomino Island beach also has deteriorated. Beach more stoney than ever before. Difficult to walk. And now locals get there by boat and played incredibly loud music from their boats. It would be ok except that they all are playing different types of music and there's not order and it's loud. EXPEDIA USERS BEWARE- the hotel now charges $51 per day for "hotel amenities" which gives you essentially wifi. Horrible! They claimed that purchases over Expedia do not include this fee. Ridiculous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort close to beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Great time. First time in Puerto Rico!! Will return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY GOOD, HOWEVER, THE FOOD IS TERRIBLE

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: LOCATION AND BEAUTIFL SURROUNDINGS
Cons: FOOD MOST DEFIITELY, AND ALSO THE REEPLTIONIST DESK COULD B EE MORE PLEASANT
Location: FERRY TO CULLBRA, OPOSSIBEL TO GET TICKES PLASE MAKE ARRANGMENTES WITEH THEM, SO YOU CAN SELL THEM AXT THE HOTEL.
VERY NICE, STAFF FREAT, LOCATION FANTASTIC. FOOD TERRIBLE
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Great Staff! Need a little bit of more maintenance, but is really good for an old colonial hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montville, NJ

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: All in all a great place to stay. Good food, nice staff, well decorated, clean, lots of activities.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathrooms
Location: About an hour ride from the airport. Zip lining, rain forest adventures, fishing, diving, snorkeling, jet skiing, sight seeing nearby.
Nice place. Well appointed. Lot's of places to eat. 4 nice restaurants and a few more casual spots. Lot's of markets, shops and bars, and a Starbucks. Typical resort prices. Fairly weak drinks. Nice pools but they are all 3'-6" deep with a very shallow section for little kids, which is good and bad. I would have liked a little depth somewhere. No beach at the main property. You must ride a tram down to the marina and get on a boat for a 15 minute ride to the private island. It's worth the trip. Nice island, lots to do. You just may have to wait on line 10 minutes for the tram in either direction. Very friendly staff. Our room was nice but not spectacular. I guess it was one of their less expensive rooms. My only complaints are a lack of ventilation in the bathroom and no lock on the bathroom doors. The bathroom had two sinks and a separate closet for the toilet. This was great because we had two adults and two kids in the room. The problem was absolutely no ventilation in either room. So after 4 showers and people using the toilet, the bathroom was a smelly humid place for my wife to dry her hair and get ready for dinner. I don't know if all rooms are like this, but I assume all the rooms in my building are. Certainly not a deal breaker, just a little annoying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Very shocked at the unreal prices of everything. Sat down with my husband at a normal breakfast buffet with two coffees and paid $70! Had to pay $15 (plus tax) per day to park a vehicle, and that wasn't even valet. Had to pay a $32 day resort fee. There weren't even robes in the room, the bath products were what we've found at a Super 8 motel, the tile in the bathroom was very outdated and grungy, they used a loose sheet instead of a fitted sheet on the bed, the staff wasn't super friendly, and the food was really just subpar. These may sound like very small and petty things, but when you're paying that much money to stay at such an "upscale" resort, I expect a little bit more than what we received. No major upsets at the El Conquistador but if we visit Puerto Rico again we will definitely choose a different place to stay. Not worth the money in our opinion. If you do decide to stay here, YOU SHOULD WITHOUT A DOUBT stop at a grocery store and buy your own meals and alcohol and put them in your mini fridge in the room. A 10 oz. beer costs about $6 and a cocktail will cost about $11 and the average plate will run about $18- $20. Not too crazy but it adds up so quickly. You can bring your own drinks with you anywhere at the resort. Definitely head over to Palomino island even if it looks like it will be overcrowded, it's so worth it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We booked this hotel last minute when we decided to stay in Fajardo. Prices seemed high for a last minute booking but we were blown away by the hotel. Hotel was gorgeous and so many things to do. We regretted not staying there longer. The room was perfect. Very comfortable and clean. If we return to Puerto Rico or have friends going we would definitely recommend this hotel! A+
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Had a great time but....

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Stayed for 5 days. Dining is very expensive at the hotel. I requested upon booking a roll away bed for our room and they neglected to tell us after 3 calls to the front desk that it was not allowed in our particular room so one of my kids had to sleep in 2 chairs we had to push together. Property is beautiful. Make sure u ask when booking if there will be a convention during your stay because they close off parts of the hotel during the convention events such as the main pool.