Ratings based on 2,145 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Beautiful hotel, with great accommodations.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great/friendly staff all over the hotel, ready to help and make your stay the best experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Setting!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
This was my second time at El Conquistador and my son's first. Although I hadn't been there in about 15 years, it was just as every bit as fabulous as I had remembered it being. Gorgeous setting with many opportunities to take in the stunning views, friendly and helpful staff, many pools to choose from, and Palomino Island (along with the water taxi ride) is such a bonus! We had a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Impressive property and picturesque views

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Impressive rooms, pools, and views.
Cons: More options for evening/night time activities, and higher quality more affordable food options.
Location: We found a 2hr jet ski tour nearby just by searching the web, and there is a row of local restaurants called the "kiosks" 15min away that's awesome!
I stay at the El Conquistador for 4 days with my girlfriend and her parents, it was they're first time traveling in Puerto Rico and staying at a resort. Everybody was really blown away by the magnitude of the property and the phenomenal views it achieves. As a resort we found it lacking in nightlife activities for adults and quality/affordable food, but to be fair we were there mid-week and didn't try every restaurant so another guest might have a different experience. We still recommend checking out local restaurants nearby of the kiosks for excellent food. Overall, it's an amazing place and I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Beautiful resort, friendly staff, breathtaking ocean views, best vacation ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Excellent hotel for families or just couples. Lots of things to do within the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We had a wonderful family vacation. We didn't want to leave!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delaware

Hotel a bit tired and old

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Our very expensive room was very mildew-y with bathrooms that needed to be cleaned, furniture that needed to be updated and there needs to be places to hang wet towels and betting suits in the bath... ALL the staff were lovely... the hotel is just seeming tired and in need of refreshing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice hotel, enjoyable visit

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The views are spectacular. You can see some of the local Puerto Rican islands and St. Thomas on a clear day.
Cons: They need to do a better job of maintaining the hotel.
Location: Nice little village with local restaurants is an easy walk.
We were there for 5 days and while we went out for dinner a couple of times there was no need to unless you wanted to meet up with people who were not staying in the hotel (more on this later). The hotel has good dining choices and pleasant staff. For the most part things were in good repair but there were notable exceptions. Walking from our room to the lobby we passed shutters that had areas of rot. The rowing machine was a functional Concept 2, but at least 15 years old with a display that did not work and a broken lock that caused it to fall apart if you tried moving it by picking it up from the center. One thing you should know is that guests are not welcome. We have family in Puerto Rico. One night we made reservations at a nice on property restaurant for 4 family members and the two of us. When they arrived the staff would not let them on property even though we vouched for them. It took intervention from the hotel manager to allow them to enter. He then lectured us on how the family members had to stay with us the entire time. I would never attempt to have guests over for dinner again. There are great choices that are close by and trying to have someone over is just not worth the aggravation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Third time's a charm!!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The ferry to the private island is a very unique and awesome experience!
Cons: The resort used to have a casino. That's gone and now it's this odd space - kind of "club-like" although families and children were hanging there.
Location: What's great is that you don't have to leave the resort - it has anything you could want there.
My family and I have stayed at this resort three times - it is fabulous!! Truly something for all ages. Beautiful weather and friendly and accommodating staff!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, expensive for what it was.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Amazing views, nice staff, delicious fine dinning, yummy drinks, The private island is awesome!
Cons: Clean the pools. Make sure the bars have the ingredients to make drinks from their menu. Better Wifi (especialy if you charged extra for it).
Location: Catamaran excursions out of marina (5 min). Old San Juan (1 hour). Do not do bioluminesent tour (not visible!) Multi tours makes kayaking impossible.
Awesome Private island with plenty to do. Beach, mini golf, horseback riding, and all the water sports. There are several bars and restaurants which for the most part were very good, but very overprices. The bars run of out stuff quick. At one bar, they ran out of mint, so no mojitos or flavored mojitos. Then the next day at a different bar, ran out of coconut, which is in almost all the drinks. (all this on weekdays, no school vaca week). The fine dinning restaurants are very good but very expensive. My wife and I both got steak ($50 each), steak comes by it self with no sides or any type of sauce. You had to purchase $2 sauce each from a sauce menu or eat your steak dry. No sides either, $11 for mash potatoes or vegi. At $50 i would have though it would have had a side and come with a sauce. There were 3 main pools (and 1 more that you would have to take a tram to) the pools were constantly dirty. Always have leaves and dead bugs. The main pool has a bar you can sit at (while in the pool) I noticed either glasses or napkins always floating in this pool. Self park is $17 a day. Resort fee is expensive as well, (we paid $250)...I was told by the front desk the resort fee is for the room amenities and the wifi (which I would think should be covered by the expensive room rate). Wifi only works by the pool (slow) and in your room (for us the wifi only worked by the couch for some reason, not so much in bed or in bathroom. Overall and good experience besides issues above.