Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I've ever been

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: View and pool were ok.
Cons: Maintenance and image
Information posted in the internet has nothing to do with the room I got. I had to change rooms, second room was better but also it is not what I expected and what I saw in the web. Concept has nothing to do with quality, as I can understand it is rustic but quality and maintenance of the hotel is terrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsafe conditions, etc.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just don't go there.
Location: Too secluded. No shops or any place to get provisions of any kine.
What is advertised is a joke. We were met by an unfriendly person at the front desk. The whole place smelled terrible. We were told the beach wasn't for swimming??!!. The whole point of going there was to be on the beach. After going to another beach with friends who lived there we came back at 7:00 to be told if you want to eat you have to hurry because the restaurant closes at 7:00. I asked if the front desk staff was there all night. No, everyone leaves except for one security guard from 8:00 to 5:00 am. While we were eating a litter of small cats ran around the outdoor restaurant. The place was empty except for a few other guests that we saw. My daughter and I felt unsafe and vulnerable there. When Expedia checked out the situation that night no one answered the telephone. I checked out the next morning. What Grand Bahia is advertising is completely bogus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice and quiet close to the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2015
I overall liked this hotel/parador. The staff was very nice and helpful and the facility was kept ok. Currently going through some renovations. The beach is not for swiming and the area smells strong due to close proximity to a salt procesing facility. They make you turn off the ac when leaving the room and prohibit taking alcohol to your own room. They only have music or party activity during weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Spent 12 days in Puerto Rico and many hotels and this one was the best of all of them. We are planning on a visit back in about a year and the Grand Bahia will be the only hotel we will be staying at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good location on oceanfront

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Its location and gazebos and gardens.
Cons: Light in the room and bath room. The staff's attitude - not very welcoming, sign this sign that.
Location: It is a good location to get away from it all.
I liked the location except for the sulfur smell in some aras. Enjoyed the garden and amenities on the beach and swimming pool. Ate all three meals - appetizers were good, other meals OK. The room was odd shaped, dark and with very noisy air conditioner.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Angie from San Juan

I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT!

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Worst stay in my entire life. We had an incident with one of the employees who got out of control so we requested to talk to the manager about it and we never received a single call or any feedback. It's a hostile environment when you are simply having a good time. I had stayed with the old administration and it was very different and they offered me a better services. I do not recommend it at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Minnesota

A great deal

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. We drove from San Juan (My advise: do not use GoogleMaps in Puerto Rico as the information is only good for major metropolitan areas; a better alternative is MapQuest; the hotel shares a sign with the on-site restaurant "Con el Agua al Cuello"). The staff was very welcoming. You receive one key with the tv remote and the AC remote. The rooms are bungalows that have decent space, a closet and private restroom. They are quiet rooms with high-ceilings so it doesn't get very hot. We used the AC occasionally. The infinity pool is the best feature. There are mangroves in the area and you can rent a kayak for an hour. If you want to venture out, go to the nearby beaches: Playuela/Playa Sucia, El Combate, or El Boquerón. You won't regret it as the beaches are beautiful. Additional features of the hotel are spa/massage or you can schedule a tour at the front desk. We will get back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan

Beautiful sunsets can be watched from the pool

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Staff is very kind and helpful. It is located in a very beautiful nature park.
Cons: Maybe work on that air conditioning rule, charging an additional $25 is very high if you do some calculations.
Location: Great beaches nearby and also good restaurants near Combate Beach.
I read the bad reviews and they were exaggerated. Yes there is this rule of turning of the air conditioner and lights when you leave the room but maybe we should always do that to conserve energy. Food was great, breakfast very good. Yes the beach is not for swimming but you got two beautiful beaches close Playuela and Combate. Had a really great time. Bring your mosquito spray.