Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in great location.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Great location. Wonderful staff. Classic old building, updated.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the facility was classic and well maintained. Our only issue during the stay was a wedding reception being held in the hotel courtyard, with loud music until 1230 am. This party was not in a separate hall, but in the open air courtyard at the center of the building. The rooms surround the courtyard, and doors face it, so there was no way to block out the loud noise. It was so loud we couldn't hear the TV, and obviously couldn't get to sleep. This was a stupid management decision, rude and insensitive to the guests. Very disappointing that they would prioritize making money over their hotel guests. Otherwise, we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Location: Old San Juan!
Beautiful hotel in a historic property. Staff was very accomodating. Traffic can be difficult as the streets are narrow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arroyo Grande, CA

Pre-cruise stay in Old San Juan

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I was looking for a pre-cruise hotel near the port of San Juan , Puerto Rico and read the outstanding reviews for the El Convento. Listed in the book "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" this treasure was everything Imagined. Old world charm in the form of a 350 year-old former convent, along with attentive, and welcoming staff. The rooms are spacious and inviting and the location is ideal for sightseeing. Many historic sites are within walking distance. Shops, restaurants, and bars are everywhere. No need to leave the El Convento for dinner and drinks. A fine restaurant and tapas bar are located in the hotel's central courtyard. In short, the El Convento is the epicenter for experiencing the charm, beauty and history of Old San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Right in heart of Old San Juan, beautiful spot to stroll along the foreshore. Shops, restaurants and plenty of local culture.
A superb hotel in a beautiful setting in Old San Juan. Very good service, friendly and willing to make your stay just right. We could take advantage of the full breakfast included as we were leaving early so they credited us the same amount in the tapas restaurant. We loved the welcome wine and cheese hour. They have 24 hour team coffee and fruit. Spectacular ambience inside the hotel courtyard area. Beautiful rooms, clean quiet and well worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

close to downtown activities

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: peaceful
Cons: nothing
Location: in the middle of all activities
great experience...nice decor...silent and peaceful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Noise piping when upper washrooms used
Location: In centre of old San Juan and within walking distance to everything. There is a free tram that will take you around the town and to the forts.
Staff very welcoming. Room on 1St floor was very clean, and you get a great feeling of being away from the ambiance of the room. Due to double doors you don't hear anything from the hallway. Food especially the home fries are amazing. And matradie was very sociable and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, comfortable, historic hotel!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
We always love our time at El Convento! Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, in an absolutely beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We love this hotel! After trying a number of other hotels in Old San Juan we have settled on this one as our very favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

Great choice in Old Town area

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Great location (if staying in old town). Beautiful, peaceful common areas. Feels like an oasis.
Cons: Front desk staff had trouble telling us about restaurants open late on a holiday. The valet was actually the one with the answers.
Location: In the historical area, walking distance to the free trolley and all historical sites. Near many bars and restaurants.
My wife and I had trouble sleeping the first night. Our room on the far end of the building (past the stairs) had constant rumble noise. After that first night we were fine as the room AC was loud enough to drown out the constant mechanical noise. I doubt this will be a problem for most guests. The hotel location is either going to be very good or not good, depending on your priorities. If you want to stay in the old town - complete with cobblestone roads, historic sites and really cool small bars and restaurants, this hotel is perfect and your best choice (we walked past the other hotels in the area). If you want to hang out at the beach, this hotel is not in the optimal location and you should look elsewhere. The breakfast (limited menu, no buffet) is terrific. It's about $20 per person if not included in your room rate. We tried one dinner there, but unfortunately most of the kitchen staff was gone due to a major holiday and a big wedding. Our dinner entrees were horribly over-salted (the server felt bad and the manager removed the charges). The appetizers were great, so I wouldn't count out the restaurant for dinners on normal nights. Good choice if you have a car. Parking is across the street at a valet lot (sign says $25 but hotel will charge you $20/day, unlimited in/out). If you get there on a weekend and a sign says lot full, get the valet's attention and tell him you are at the hotel. Cops will let you through barricades on weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Boutique hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Lounge area, breakfast and room
Location: Located centrally in Old San Juan right next to Calle Fortaleza and Calle San Francisco. Walking distance to Puerto de San Juan, El Morro fort.
We had a lovely time in Old San Juan and in El Convento. We stayed there for almost a week in November. Right from our check-in to check-out we had no complaints and was very effortless. The hotel, room and breakfast was all very good. Front desk staff were very helpful to answer our queries and help us book tours to Rainforest, Bio bay and caving adventures. They also recommended nearby hotels and cafes for lunch/dinner or snack. There is 24hours coffee/tea/water/fresh fruits available in the common lounge area which was something we used a lot. It was especially nice to sit there with a cup of hot tea and enjoy the rain. I highly recommend this hotel.