Ratings based on 888 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Beautiful hotel! Close to everything!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Staff was extremely friendly. They made you feel more like home. Everyone gets to know you and the are very helpful. The bad part was I had to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful old convent converted into a hotel. Room with balcony. Comfortable.
Cons: Food could be improved. Choices for breakfast are few, except for eggs. Overpriced.
Food not very good and overpriced. Few selections for breakfast except for eggs. A few pieces of fresh fruit with a couple of spoonfuls of yogurt was skimpy and not very good. Ditto with a dish of fresh fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A beach somewhere

Classic historic hotel with amazing staff

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Location: Located in Historic Old San Juan, the area is full of opportunities to explore. Check out the fort within walking distance and the amazing restaurants
We had an overnight stay in San Juan and chose the El Convento based on other reviews and were not disappointed. What an amazing facility! Old world charm with modern conveniences and the best staff on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
A beautiful historic hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. My stay at this hotel far exceeded my expectations. You could feel all of the rich history as soon as you walk into this hotel and walk the hallways towards your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Wonderful stay in Old San Juan historic landmark

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Cons: Hotel confirmed via text that we could check in at 3pm, but room wasn't ready until after 4pm. Staff apologized, but delay was hard after long trip.
The hotel is a beautifully appointed historic landmark in the heart of Old San Juan. Our room was lovely - spacious with a high ceiling, antique furniture, comfortable bed and modern bathroom and windows that look out on a quiet side street. Hotel is structured around an internal courtyard, with a restaurant and live jazz music the night we stayed. Wine and cheese hour at 6pm was a nice touch - be sure to go up to the rooftop pool area for beautiful views of the bay. Hotel is just blocks from historic monuments like the El Morro fort, as well as great restaurants and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Great location, in the heart of the city of old San Juan! Everything is walking distance to great food and shopping! Hotel service was excellent and staff was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Beautiful hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Beautiful building with very friendly and attentive staff. The only downside to the hotel was that the shower wasn't properly sealed, which resulted in a significant puddle of water on the floor after every shower. Not a deal breaker, because most of the time you leave after showering and room service did an excellent job of always cleaning everything. Staff had great recommendations for local restraurants. Overall, amazing experience and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Easy access to Old San Juan amenities, museums etc

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: the staff and personnel
Cons: All rooms should be the same size
Location: everything shopping, dinning, sightseeing, exercising, romantic
I just had the most wonderful time while staying at El Convento The staff beautiful. Lovely area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in the heart of Old San Juan.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Very nice hotel in the heart of old San Juan. I stayed there with my two teenage sons on our summer vacation from The U.S. mainland. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again. No criticisms whatsoever. None.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful boutique hotel.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Most everything.
Cons: The only thing that I could say could be improved is the smell of the A/C when it kicks on. It had a mildewy type smell that was odd at times.
Location: The Cathedral is across the street as is a tasting bar for wine and coffee. Several wonderful restaurants are nearby and it's minutes from both forts.
We loved our stay at El Convento. I'm not one to enjoy staying at a cookie cutter Hilton or Doubletree when I travel and prefer to experience something a bit unique and more interesting. El Convento certainly fits the bill. The ambiance and history is beautiful and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The mix of old (gorgeous shuttered windows and wrought iron fixtures!) and new (air conditioning, tasty coffee, and endless bottled water!) make for a perfect experience in Old San Juan.