Ratings based on 1,349 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Old Town Queen

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Above
Cons: Above
Location: Cathedral across the street and shops and galleries as well.
Everyone stops in for a look-see but a few are fortunate to have full access. There is an old worldliness and charm to her which excuses some minor flaws. Small details but nevertheless noted....drapes off the runner so they didn't close all of the way...xeroxed letter of welcome...longish wait to be seated in patio dining....Poisitives now, very friendly staff, excellent food, including breakfast and both restaurants are good but I preferred the patio for ambiance and cuisine( the other being a tapas type). The plunge pool is refreshing and the view lovely but you can't make a day of it. I did not go to the sister property at the beach so I can't report on that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Wonderful location to explore all of Old San Juan from. Very safe neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel centrally located

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at El Convento. Staff was excellent. The restaurants on site were very good. The location is a walking distance to all the sites. The 6 o'clock wine and cheese is really appreciated after a long day of exploring. I would definitely stay there again and not hesitate to refer my friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pure relaxation

Posted Feb 9, 2017
A beautiful location with the most thoughtful of staff all there for the guests rest and relaxation. Give your self a treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in Old San Juan

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: location in Old San Juan and historic, luxurious experience Cons: expensive, no breakfast included, no airport transportation, no swimming pool or beach, ( size of a jacuzzi now), no card keys, no concierge (clerks do it all). Perhaps a bit overpriced for what you get (small room in a nice location). But if you like history and art and architecture in Old San Juan, there is no better. Everyone( guides, tourists, etc) references it as the tether post for finding locations in relation to it so it is world famous and for good reason. Got beautiful pictures of the hotel and walking distance to El Moro and Castillo San Cristobal. Made a lot of memories there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old city charm

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The staff was awesome
Cons: Quiet the A/C unit on roof can be heard on 5th floor
Excellent hotel, walking distance to all of old city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Great hotel within Old San Juan

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Great food, friendly staff, classic colonial theme!
Cons: Phones did not work. Food service was slow ( breakfast). Very small pool.
Location: Shops, La Fortaleza, San Felipe del Morro, Restaurants, Flamenco shows, and churches.
This is a great hotel to stay in within Old San Juan. Rooms are very clean, decorated with great taste, upscale, and comfortable. The restaurants have great food and the staff is excellent. Located near many tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hartford

Perfect getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel was perfect for our needs. The room and public areas were lovely and we were able to step out the door and walk throughout old San Juan. The good was a little pricey, but no worse than expected for a hotel. All in all, we were delighted with our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in great location.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Great location. Wonderful staff. Classic old building, updated.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the facility was classic and well maintained. Our only issue during the stay was a wedding reception being held in the hotel courtyard, with loud music until 1230 am. This party was not in a separate hall, but in the open air courtyard at the center of the building. The rooms surround the courtyard, and doors face it, so there was no way to block out the loud noise. It was so loud we couldn't hear the TV, and obviously couldn't get to sleep. This was a stupid management decision, rude and insensitive to the guests. Very disappointing that they would prioritize making money over their hotel guests. Otherwise, we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Location: Old San Juan!
Beautiful hotel in a historic property. Staff was very accomodating. Traffic can be difficult as the streets are narrow