Ratings based on 1,372 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel full of charm and atmosphere; perfect!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was superb! The quaint charm is unbeatable. The location is excellent especially for wandering and walking the streets of Old San Juan.
Cons: Nothing could be improved!
Location: Within walking distance of any sights in OSJ; the forts are nearby; they offer access to a private beach if desired.
We have stayed here in the past and continue (and will continue!) to come again and again! The hotel is full of charm and great for relaxation. It is within walking distance of all of the best that Old San Juan has to offer. We love dining in the courtyard restaurant; especially for breakfast. The superb staff makes the vacation even more satisfying! Wait staff, housekeeping, bartenders--all were top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

A wonderful, comfortable, elegant hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Great rooms, great facilities, great location and fabulous building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Charming and Peaceful

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Tranquil oasis in the middle of old San Juan. Lovely little sitting areas, patios, and fountains. Nice customer service, they even hand you a rose at check in (a very unique and charming detail!) Great location! The only complaint would be the room; it felt cramped and outdated (stayed in a deluxe suite). The doors creaked, there was considerable dust collected in the room corners, the bathtub didn't drain well. There was no ventilation in the bathroom either. We had small table with one chair, but not even enough space to fit our luggage without tripping over it. I would suggest updating, thoroughly cleaning, and refreshing the rooms and it would be absolutely perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
A pleasant surprise to the end of a wonderful week in Porto Rico... I will go back to this hotel and stay longer... so very happy to be there....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, N.Y.

Wonderful place in San Juans Old Town

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: We love the place, it is just charming and shows a lot of attention to detail, you can feel the history behind all this.
Cons: There is really nothing that could be improved.
Location: The location is great, next to the Catedral San Juan de Bautista. The perfect place to explore the Old Town of San Juan.
We stayed at the El Convento for 7 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Since we stayed for 7 nights we got a complimentary upgrade in a bigger room facing the Caleta de las Monjas, special thanks to Andrea :-). We really appreciated that and to our surprise there was a bottle of Cava brought to our room shortly after our arrival. It was a great start to a wonderful week in San Juan. The staff is absolutely amazing, very friendly and attentive. They really make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in old San juan

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Staff is great. In excellent area for touring old San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, unique and elegant former convent

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We loved the original details and high ceilings of this beautiful hotel wrapped around a courtyard. Extremely friendly and attentive staff. Hot tub and pool on top floor overlooking the old city. Marvelous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Charming hotel in perfect location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Hotel el Convento is a beautiful hotel located right in the middle of old San Juan. We were able to walk to all the sites without any problem. The room was clean and had every amenity we needed. The hotel itself was so gorgeous with a romantic old timey feel. There was a small pool and hot tub on the roof open 24 hrs. They even had a wine and cheese event every day from 6-7. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay there again! Thank you Hotel el Convento for a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Best way to see Old San Juan

Posted Mar 4, 2017
We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights to see Old San Juan. This small boutique hotel is absolutely amazing. Very historic feel with all the modern amenities. 5 minutes walk to all major attractions. We just loved it. Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Old Town Queen

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Above
Cons: Above
Location: Cathedral across the street and shops and galleries as well.
Everyone stops in for a look-see but a few are fortunate to have full access. There is an old worldliness and charm to her which excuses some minor flaws. Small details but nevertheless noted....drapes off the runner so they didn't close all of the way...xeroxed letter of welcome...longish wait to be seated in patio dining....Poisitives now, very friendly staff, excellent food, including breakfast and both restaurants are good but I preferred the patio for ambiance and cuisine( the other being a tapas type). The plunge pool is refreshing and the view lovely but you can't make a day of it. I did not go to the sister property at the beach so I can't report on that.