Ratings based on 1,431 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Spanish history

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Staff was very attentive, Angel attended to every question we asked. My daughter and I arrived after the the daily wine and cheese party so they delivered two bottles of wine to the room. Hotel is in walking distance to shops, restaurants, museums, and Forts. We slept good in beds though bed cover was dingy. They have two restaurants which were nothing fancy. There are many good ones in walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely hot!!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
All common areas are open air and no AC. This includes all hallways, restaurants, bars, etc. It is a lovely hotel and the staff were great, however I would not stay again, especially in summer months. Just too uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami florida

Beautifuly quaint.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Easy check in and check out. Staff very helpful on all questions. This boutique hotel is just beautiful, we had dinnner with room service a couple nights, sitting on the terrace overlooking hotel beautiful natural landscape with the sounds of Coqui, perfect. If you are looking for a pool, this is not the hotel for you, the pool is tiny, but you have access to sister hotel chains an Uber away. Would stay there again on our next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Better than the Pictures!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
El Convento is a MUST stay for anyone who admires classic architecture that creates a feel and an ambiance of a different time when vacations were truly holidays. I would return in a heartbeat. The people who worked there were warm and professional. The room was clean and the air conditioning was cold. The location was right in the heart of Old San Juan. If you still want to go to the beach, they have beach privileges at some of the beach resorts (we loved the courtyard at isla verde).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We enjoyed our stay here and will come back. Location is perfect of course. Walkability is great. On several occasions we ate in the hotel restaurant which was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Back in San Juan for our 20th wedding anniversary!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, cheese and wine, look of the hotel
Cons: Restaurants - service was great, food average
Location: Great location, short walk to everything
Little late in writing this review (stayed in May 17) but felt it necessary as we had such an enjoyable time. We had the pleasure of staying at El Convento during our 20th wedding anniversary celebrations. Loved the look of the hotel and the staff were helpful and friendly. It was the little extras and attention to details that made our stay better, like the turn down service with water and chocolates and the cheese and wine evenings. With it being our anniversary (British couple that got married in San Juan in 1997) we were upgraded, given a bottle of fizz and chocolates and even got a welcome gift of wine and cheese as we arrived late. We also took advantage of a day at the beach in the sister hotel Conche. Again lovely hotel with great staff. Decided we will be back doing the same for our 25th anniversary!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Most charming hotel in San Juan.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: its history, architectural lay out, amenities and staff.
Cons: more bed options (I am 6'6)
Location: Romantic night walks, a few really cool bars and restaurants. Beautifully painted houses in tiny cobble stone streets. Historic fortifications.
The character ofthis hotel makes it an absolute must if you want to get a feel for what San Juan viejo is about while enjoying luxury amenities, and being greeted by a top notch staff. The direct surroundings of the hotel are nothing short of magical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Helpful Staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The location was great!
Location: Within walking distance of many of the sights in San Juan.
The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and wanted to make your stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Old San Juan PR

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The only complaint is that the first night they didn't have the room we book we had to stay somewhere else other than that it was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Hotel!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, and colonial style.
Location: The location is great, at the heart of Old San Juan with all the historical sites and restaurants/stores.
This is a very beautiful colonial style hotel. The staff is always eager to make your stay the best possible. We tried the breakfast and the food was excellent. You can ask for access to the sister hotels to go for pool and beach. This hotel is definitely great for couples and/or adults without kids.