Ratings based on 1,391 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Nice hotel in the middle of Historic Old San Juan.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: We really like the room and the area.
Cons: Nothing that I can remember.
Location: The location is very good, just close to everything, good restaurants around, the famous " La Bombonera, Pirilos Pizzeria among many others.
The hotel is a beautiful place. We received a upgrade and the room was big, comfortable with a touch of the past in every corner. The bathroom was very spacious, we have two televisions, a living room and two small closed balconies. The hotel personnel were very helpful and nice with us. The hotel has everything you need for a wonderful stay, in the 3rd floor you will find complementary coffee, tea, fruits and water. In the 4th floor there is a small pool and a jacuzzi. I recommend this hotel to anyone, very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Central location in Old San Juan

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Perfect location for exploring downtown Old San Juan. The staff was courteous and the hotel was clean and comfortable. We will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Definitely worth it to stay here. Great central location. Wonderful breakfast with fresh juices. Complimentary wine happy hour 6-7 nightly. Family friendly. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good hotel in a great location. Worth the price. Great look and style with professional service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Location and friendliness make El Convento the ideal hotel for a visit to Old San Juan!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kayenta

Total relaxation in the heart of old San Juan

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Enjoyed the nightly wine and cheese on the beautiful patio overlooking the old city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st joseph, mi

Great central location walkable to old San Juan.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Loved the hotel charm, it was very clean and had good service, especially the night staff was wonderful. Great wine and cheese for guest. The one negative experience we had is that they could only give us one room key which was a major inconvenience for planning and getting in and out of our room as our party wanted to do different things. We had to go back 4 times to ask and they kept saying come back in 15 minutes which turned into a full day later.... would stay again but would not check into a room without 2 keys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

In the Heart and Spirit of Old San Juan

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The location is number one (heart of Old San Juan). The history, convenience and beauty and excellent staff allowed you to be relaxed and comfortable.
Cons: Ask questions of the staff of what is available thru the hotel. They may forget to tell you options available i.e.(visiting sister hotel)
Location: So much to see, forts, shops, restaurants, Bacardi Rum Factory, Rain Forrest. Email the hotel they will forward you a list of places that are a must
We wanted to experience Old San Juan. Hotel El Convento's location was perfect. We could walk out our front door and be surrounded by the true culture of the city. So beautiful from location. You can walk everywhere and be safe. Very steep roads so be prepared if you have weak knees. Visiting the Forts and the Rain Forest is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is perfect in every way.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: The location was perfect for exploring Old San Juan. There were so many bars and restaurants with great food and drink and entertainment.
The hotel staff were personable, fun and very helpful. The beds were comfortable, the wine and cheese reception every night was fabulous, the wave pool and whirl pool on the top floor were fun, and the location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Historic and Peaceful

Posted Apr 4, 2017
This was our second visit and we truly enjoy this hotel. Great for those looking for a quiet retreat away from crowds.