Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Simple facility in convenient location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This is a very basic hotel, essentially providing a clean room for overnight stay and that's all we wanted. It is right in the heart of Old San Juan and walking distance to the forts, restaurants and piers. Front desk Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms have no windows but were overall clean and comfortable and have AC. Very old and slow elevator but in working condition. Good Wifi but available only near reception area and not in rooms. Area is safe with convenient food, pharmacy, taxi stand, grocery store all just steps from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

A little too basic

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location, coffee shop
Cons: Room wifi would be nice but until there's window glass and enough lamps, it's no go.
Location: Dining and shopping, sightseeing.
Upside-Great location, walk to Old San Juan food and shopping. Friendly and helpful staff, nice bed linens and great coffee shop. A/C good in 308, but the downside-window has no glass, only old shutters and heavy black curtain which lets in (Saturday night) street noise until wee hours, and drapes can't be pulled back if you want daylight. I tied them up using a plastic bag. Room has no character (ugly) and I guess floors are dirty due to no window glass.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are constantly updating our facilities for our guests satisfaction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cortland, ny

convenient hotel but dishonest service

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I actually enjoyed my stay until after returning home I received an additional charge of $250 for medical services which they then informed me was for smoking but while I am a smoker I never smoked in the room and only did so outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Tatiana, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, any and all feed back is appreciated. None the less, we never charge a smoking penalty without confirming with our housekeeping staff first to avoid false charges. Again thank you for your review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Basic, Affordable Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Staff is outstanding; very helpful, knowledgeable; they go out of their way for customers. Location is excellent; 10 minute walk to everything in area
Cons: There is shower only but that was fine with me. I was there 1 week and they missed room service twice. Access to a desktop computer would be nice
Location: El Morro and San Cristobal are 10 minute walk. Surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants. Wonderful old architecture everywhere. Safe to walk.
Arrived early afternoon and was able to get early check-in. Lots of brochures and maps in lobby. My room was windowless so felt a like a dormitory but was clean. Not spacious but perfect for one person. Water in shower was fine and air conditioner worked well. Elevator is slow but I took stairs to second floor without any problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez, Hotel Management
thank you for reviewing your stay with us, consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, nice staff

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Stayed one night at this hotel. Everything is nice. The room is comfortable and OK for the stay at old San Juan. Very nice staff. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan Puerto Rico

It felt unsafe.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
It felt unsafe. There were bugs running around on the floor. There was no cell phone reception Wi-Fi did not work vending machines did not work ice machines did not work some of the tiles in the ceiling in the bathroom were exposed the air conditioner did not work properly and stuff is very unfriendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Tatiana, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, any and all feedback is appreciated. I am very sorry to hear you felt unsafe at our property. None the less, I have no complaint on record about bugs or a/c. Ice and vending machine products are available upon request to our 24/7 front desk personnel. Once again, thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old fashioned hotel in great location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location and historic feel.
We loved staying here. It is not the Sheraton. Old style without many of the fancy amenities. We felt like we stepped back in time. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful location right in the middle of Old San Juan, right across the street from a plaza and within walking distance of all the attractions. We would definitely stay there again. Only down side is that parking is hard to find, but that is the same for all of Old San Juan. We found a parking lot a few blocks away for $3 per day and just left the car parked and walked everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property, happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

ok hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Good location. Basic room , bed comfortable, very noisy. No windows makes it feel like a cell water not very hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Tatiana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax VA

Nice hotel. The best most central location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
I had a great time staying in this cool old school/antique hotel. It is the most centrally located hotel you'll find in Old San Juan. Will definitely be staying there during my many trips to San Juan. The staff is the best out of all locations I've stayed. Very helpful and respectful. Very professional as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are always happy to hear feedback from our guests :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel repairs need to be made
Location: Wonderful plaza, shopping, dining, coffee shop, fort
Cheap, close to everything and friendly staff. However, my family booked three rooms and between the three rooms items were missing (towels, hair dryer, shampoo) or did not work (air conditioner, t.v.) The rooms have no windows and are very basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Tatiana Alvarez, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do apologize for the deficiencies in housekeeping during your stay, room descriptions are provided in all online sites, consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan and for future reference our suites facing the plaza have windows and or a small balcony.