Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albion, NE

Great rustic hotel near the heart of Old San Juan

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: This hotel has all the old time charm you could ask for....even down to the elevator! It was within walking distance of everything!
Cons: Ive seen a lot of reviews talk about the noise. You are in a city, there will be noise. It wasn't disruptive and I slept quite well. It was great.
Location: There is a plaza right outside of the hotel. There is also lots of shopping (cigars, souvenirs), castles, lots of food, culture...its amazing.
We arrived off of our cruise ship early and ended up showing up 4 hours before check in. The staff was very accommodating and let us drop our luggage off in a secure location (locked luggage of course). They were so nice and willing to help. They gave us a map and let us know of some good local places to get authentic cuisine. The room was very large and offered a safe free of charge. The bed was comfy and we had beautiful shutters that led to our window/balcony. They offer free wifi in their lobby, which is nice. We also asked for pretty places at night and they were happy to tell us where we could hang out and watch the stars or see some nice places at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good For Post Cruise Stay

Posted Aug 2, 2015
I stayed here as a 1 night post cruise stay. Staff was great and nice however, would not allow early checkin for cruise passengers. It would have been nice to allow for early check-in. Great location nightlife, restaurants, shopping in close proximity. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for longer than a 1 night stay. Room was very minimal. TV and bedspread were very old. Elevator is very small and old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Location location location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great downtown location, everything else is for purists: everything works, everyone is friendly, everything is clean, that's it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room smell bad.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Room smell bad and out side of the room they have a little yard with some furnitures that smell bad also. Some noises with kind of extractor in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UTAH

Great staff, close to everything in Old San juan

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Perfect location. Great AC. Horrible wifi. Not fitted sheet on the bed. Friendly staff. Big rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Perfect location, drive to the beach.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
I visited Old San Juan for the historic landmarks. This hotel is in the perfect location just for that. I was able to walk the whole city with no problem. About a 10 min. Walk from each landmark. However, if you're looking for a "beachy" get a way I suggest staying elsewhere. This hotel is about a 15 min. Taxi ride from the nice beaches which start in the Condado area. There are no beaches in Old San Juan. The staff was super friendly and helpful with many things. Its not the Waldorf Astoria but as stated before it really is in the perfect location! I would come back for another stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location in Old San Juan

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Restaurants, tbeaters, museums, plazas, galleries, shops.
Location, location, location. This is the best this hotel has to offer. Located in Plaza de Armas, the mos beautiful plaza in San Juan, it has great restaurants around it, close to everything! Next to that the staff. Good people, try to help you most of the time. They can fix or improve certain features of the hotel: celings, furnitures, keys, WiFi system. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. The most beautiful architecture ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Well localized hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2015
The staff is exceptional Kevin, Sheila, Luis the manager. I stand in a single room, there are very small and no windows. But the hotel is well centralized in Old San Juan. I used the room only to sleep and to hold my belongings, just what I needed. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. One thing is the AC can get loud at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sheri from Philadelphia

Don't let the lobby fool you! Great location.

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very bare bones. It is located in an ideal location right off a beautiful square in the heart of downtown San Juan. However the accommodations are much more like a motel than a hotel. The room we stayed in was very small (almost too small for two people) and had no window and a tiny bathroom. The room was not extremely clean but not horrible either. The price is competitive but definitely not a luxurious experience if you're looking for that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Keys didn't work - room was cleaned once in three days - very basic and not worth the money. We often travel to San Juan for business and we will take ours elsewhere. The hotel does have a lot of potential.