Ratings based on 1,934 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay but the room need some update

Posted May 24, 2017
Overall I had a nice stay at the hotel, amenities are great, staffs are friendly & the location is perfect. However, they need to update the bathroom in their rooms. This is the smallest bathroom I have stayed in for a 4 star hotel. The bathroom fixtures have seen better days. Also for a hotel that charge resort fee, I need more than just Internet access. Maybe newspaper in the morning or free bottles of water. None the less its strength well made up to its short coming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melendez

Sensational

Posted May 23, 2017
Me and my wife had a great time at the intercontinental at San Juan the facility was clean welcoming and had great food and drinks will be coming back very soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice Hotel close to the beach.

Posted May 22, 2017
My girlfriend and I had a wonderful experience at the Intercontinental in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The staff was very friendly, and attentive to all our needs. It was our first vacation together, and after the manager discovered this, he upgraded our room from a city view, to a room with a beach view! He did not need to do this, but he wanted our first time in San Juan to be a great one! I can't say thanks enough. We will definitely be going back to the Intercontinental at San Juan Puerto Rico in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Over all was excellent! Quiet place to rest, private access to the beach and great pool. The rooms were clean, and big and a nice balcony with excellent view. Great location with plenty restaurants, pharmacies, convenient parking space across the hotel. Excellent!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Mother's Day vacation

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: I liked most that the staff were super friendly. Always with a smile on their faces and very eager to assist when needed. Centrally located.
Cons: We did not get to eat at the restaurants in the hotel but we did have a few drinks at the pool bar. The quality was not as good as I would have liked.
Location: The hotel is very centrally located to everything you need. 24 hr markets, stores, food. Amazing restaurants. Tourist attractions. Airport is close
I have been to SJ a few times but it was my 1st stay at the Intercontinental. I have heard so many great things from family who have stayed at the hotel, post from travel blogs, travel groups on facebook and media, that I had to try it out for myself. The price was amazing and the resort fees were pretty reasonable. I loved that the staff always had a smile on their faces and always quick to assist when needed. The agent who checked us in (Valeria - I hope I have her name right) was quick and efficient and gave so many helpful recommendations that we used and fully enjoyed all of them. The pool, jacuzzi and surrounding grounds were well maintained, clean and very inviting. I was also told from another guest that the pool is 24 hours, if that is true, it is a great perk for water lovers like myself. We had a city facing room on the 7th floor and I throughly enjoyed the views. Spaciousness of the room. Cleanliness and access to the rest of the amenities offered by the hotel. I wish the room had a fridge that did not come with a surcharge (the fridge comes stocked with drinks, candy, snacks for a fee but if you want them removed so that you can use the fridge for your personal items I believe there is a $15 charge for removal) I loved that the hotel is so centrally located to a 24 hr market, stores, restaurants, nightlife, the airport and many tourist attractions. Also a very short cab ride to Old San Juan I would definitely recommend the Intercontinental
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Convenient

Posted May 21, 2017
Close to the airport (you can see flights landing and taking off from your room). Rooms are decently cleaned. The hotel itself is clean and pretty. I have an issue with the minibar situation. Do not stack a minibar and advise guests that if we want to be cleaned out we have to pay $15 so that we may store our own items. I'd suggest asking guests before hand if they would like a stacked minibar or not or have a separate refrigerator for guest to utilize. I feel as though we were being forced to purchase overpriced items and not have the convenience of going to local markets to save money by storing beverages, snacks and food on our own. Definitely tacky to charge to clean it out. Also, we felt slightly threatened when told that the minibar and snacks on the desk have a sensor on it and if we even move it in the slightest we'd be charged some obscene amount. Further, don't send staff to the room to "inspect" the minibar, ESPECIALLY without warning your guests that some random man will be dropping in to view it. Very odd. If you don't trust your guest the minibar shouldn't be in the room unless requested. And another funny/odd thing is to tell your guests that your poop towels have sensors in it and if they're not returned we will be charged $50 or whatever. Other than these two issues my stay went well and I appreciate that. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted May 20, 2017
On my visit to this hotel...it was very nice and calming everything like we expected..staff..bell hop was great..very help ful..nice and ready to help...overall I would stay there again..kudos beautiful experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the beach

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean and spacious.
Cons: Work on excursions and transportation efforts
Location: Casinos, good restaurants, and a minature mall within walking distance.
Pleasant staff and very nice hotel close to the beach. However, staff was unable to help with transport to excursion sites just because we were just a party of two. We felt this should have been arranged by the hotel since we were staying there. Also, IMO the female concierge (can't remember here name) was unhelpful and apathetic. Although, Nestor did try to arrange transportation for us later on, by then we just didn't want the aggravation. We probably would never stay here again. Word of advice--Rent a car and be ready to spend ten dollars on a umbrella on the beach. Yes, they charge you for shade!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging rooms

Posted May 18, 2017
While the San Juan Intercontinental was fine and has a nice beach, the rooms show their age. Paint in the ceiling of my bathroom was peeling and had clearly been repainted more times than can be counted. There was a power strip sticking out of a hole in the wall under the counter next to the bathroom. The other side of the strip came out of the other side of the wall and was plugged into an outlet there. (I'm not sure about San Juan, but that's an electrical code violation where I am from.) All the surfaces were scratched and worn with age, there were small holes in some of the sheets. On the other hand, the facilities outside of the rooms were nice and the bed was comfortable. In summary, the Intercontinental had seen better days and needs an update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Cool hotel right on the beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel was decent. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Shower took a while to get hot but it did get hot. Amenities were cool. Couple gripes though...bathroom door in the hotel room wouldn't lock. It's on this sliding mechanism and the hook never got latched where it should, leaving the door open and sometimes sliding back open an 1/8th of the way. There was a, i guess makeup mirror in the bathroom that I wanted to use for shaving, however the light around the mirror barely cane on rendering that type of mirror useless since the lighting in the bathroom was dim itself, maybe due to a light bulb being out. Toilet was not sturdy to the ground, so everytime you sat or got up it was a like rocky. Despite the gripes... Hotel staff was pleasant and the overall stay at the hotel was cool.