Ratings based on 1,724 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Great location and access to beach and pool area. Great staff and great food!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milford CT

Exceptional Overall Experience

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Plenty to do. Nearby locations.
Very pleased, hospitality was top notch, valley attentive, concierge & management exceptional, room services personalized. Restaurant on location were a plus, Overall very satisfied
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Get away to PR

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Cons: We have no complaints!!!
Location: Restaurant musts: Sak-I, Mi Casita, El Alambique, and La Playita Restaurant!!! Delicious foods!!!
Our room had a city view and still it was beautiful!!! The bed and pillows were divine! The room was clean. Staff were extremely pleasant professionals and accommodating! The grounds and the pools were fantastic and beautiful! We loved everything about El Intercontinental!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Friendly, helpful staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The best thing about this hotel is the people that work here. William at the front door, Nestor, the concierge, Luis, waiter in Trattoria Italiano
Cons: There was nothing we didn't like.
Location: The beach is beautiful and clean.
From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty. Every staff member greeted us with a smile and something nice to say. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the location is stellar. Will definitely be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, too expensive and room is too small

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The water in the front of the hotel has a very foul odor. I paid almost $900 for a two nights stay....the rooms are terribly small. Be sure to look over your bill there are way too many fees. I will not be going back ever again. Ritz price with Double tree accommodation. Terrible
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa


Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Close to almost everything!
Beautiful beachfront location! Loved Salsa night! Breakfast food needs improvement. Great location with good service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

staff great, but rooms need TLC & Casino closed.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Great location on beach, but limited entertainment.Good reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Worth the 20min bus ride into Old Town for shopping
Building works being carried out beside pool & restaurant areas were very noisy! Staff pool area & beds at the Intercontinental are still excellent & the grounds are immaculate. ..,however rooms need TLC Especially bathroom The Old heavy dark wood bedroom furniture has been replaced which is a shame as loses some of its old colonial charm ....;but the biggest loss is the Casino closure, you now have to leave hotel most nights for entertainment. Needs to bring back the casino & update bathroom to bring it back up to its former top rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pool

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Nice stay, would stay at this hotel again. Great location (isla verde beach) and great pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The pool and friendly people.
Location: Jet Ski right on beach as well as body rubs (all for additional $)
We loved the location of the hotel in relation to where everything is in PR.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful place to stay right on the beach

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The fact that the beach was right outside & the pool area was fantastic.
Cons: Making sure the rooms are ready for the next stay.There were glitches on the TV which was pretty annoying at time of a movie & curtain hooks broken
Location: There are many restaurants near by. I would highly recommend Senor Frogs in Old San Juan. It was AMAZING! You will definitely have a GREAT time!
I had a GREAT time staying at this hotel. The beach is literally downstairs. The pool area was awesome w/ a swim up bar. I wouldn't recommend the drinks too much unless its a mojito. I didn't really encounter any problem staying there but there was one day out of the five days that we had no room service so we had to call for them but other than that, it was lovely. I also recommend the Saki restaurant although they're options are very limited but trying it out didn't hurt. There are many other restaurants near by that one can try if interested. Another point, I wish to add, at time of departure, there was a HUGE problem w/ my flight so I had to stay for two more days so I called Intercontinental back to see if they can accommodate me in any way for two more days being that I was there for five days but they were still giving me high rates & referred me to one of their smaller hotels which was a bit upsetting but overall, the hotel was GREAT & I wouldn't mind staying there again but I would rather try out a new place.