Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for a family of 4

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: pool + location
If you are more than 2 persons / room they will charge $33 / person / day. It came out close to $190 / night for us. For that price you would expect a better room. It is old, no coffee (you have to pay for it), AC makes a lot of noise and the on site restaurant is OK if you like fried food. I blame expedia for the over charge of the hotel since they always mentioned $112 / room until we entered the credit card and the price went up, charging an extra $66 / night. This is unfair because since the beginning we said we were a family of 4. Oh yes, when we arrived for check in, they did not have any reservation for us. The lady (half friendly) asked me how long ago I booked. I replied about 2 weeks. Finally after waiting about 30minutes they could verify we had the reservation but she said that the person checking emails for expedia reservation probably missed it and 2 weeks was too short. The pool is nice, location is very nice so I guess this hotel is good if you are 2 / room. Yes, forgot to say that expedia keeps calling this hotel Parador MaunaCaribe but there is no mention of that name in the hotel. It is Tropical Inn (the chain). I wish either Expedia would mention tropical inn or there would be a sign outside saying this is Parador MaunaCaribe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great stay, beautiful Inn/Hotel, breathtaking view

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: I have been staying at Parador MaunaCaribe for years now as part of my annual trip back to my homeland, Puerto Rico. It's such a beautiful place!
Cons: The sheets, comforter, and window valances can use an updated pattern. Its been the same pattern for years now and it would be nice to change.
Location: Maunabo, Puerto Rico is such a tranquil small town protected by beautiful scenic mountains along the Caribbean coast! Lighthouse is a must see.
A great stay in a beautiful small town! Breathtaking views and you cannot go wrong with great staff, great food, infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea, and bar!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
El hotel es fabuloso, además es perfecto para descansar y para los niños es estupendo. Hay mucha seguridad y la comida es muy buena. Ofrece todas las comodidades que uno como familia busca en una hospedería.
5 out of 5
by Marta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent value. Great hotel for the low price.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Stayed on beach. Nearly no one around. Quiet. Nice staff. Often we had entire beach to ourselves. Not a fancy hotel, but given the price, a great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome view but the beach is not accessible.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: The view and restaurant.
Cons: The rooms could be remodeled/updated.
Location: Good times at Kandela's Bar & Grill just next door. Los Bohios restaurant was also very good. Nothing else to do.
Pros: The view is great, the restaurant in the hotel has great authentic Puerto Rican food. The swimming pool was very clean and the view from the pool is also very nice. The hotel is next door to a bar and grill called "Kandela's Bar & Grill", which had good food, drinks, music and atmosphere. The only other restaurant we found was "Los Bohios" which was also very good. Other than the restaurants/bar mentioned already there's absolutely nothing else to do. Not a huge deal since we drove to other cities. Room was good enough. AC was either on or off, no way to adjust the thermostat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great value !

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best values on this trip. Seems like wash clothes are not a priority at hotels in P.R. Is a very nice setting, on the beach, beautiful infinity pool, good food and service in dining room, breakfast included in rate.. Wifi avail. only in open air lobby area. A.C. worked well but was LOUD! Very relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Hotel on the very low budget

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Cons: beach is closed due to high currants, restaurant is a joke, towels never changed, no ice cubes after 9pm, prepare yourself at nearby town, after 10pm reception and parking lot is locked/closed, too expensive for 3star hotel. Pros: clean hotel, pool too, staff friendly, very quiet, isolated, secluded hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful and romatic