Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs a facelift and better soundproofing. Noisy through 1 am, even with interior room. Also did not know room would not have a window!!!!!
Location: Location good. Able to walk to everything. Able to walk to cruise ship with luggage, all downhill and not far.
Stayed here for one night before embarking on cruise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

You get what you pay for

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Chosen for the central location and proximity to the cruise terminal, and reasonable price. Two other couples in our party froze in their rooms all night (we are talking no controls for A/C and room at 40 degrees F), had no water at the sink and cold water for a shower. Rooms are sparse and bathroom supplied with two towels. Very old hotel that needs a complete renovation. Did not feel secure in room as doors did not have dead bolts but just a turn-button lock. Only positive thing to add is the night staff person recommended a good restaurant for dinner and breakfast, and luggage hold for day at no charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Oregon

Great location in Old San Juan

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The convenient location!
Cons: The rooms are from the 80's. The toilet was extremely loud when flushing and there was no communication for breakfast options.
Location: Everything was within walking distance, except for a swimmable beach. Numerous food/bar options!
Although this hotel could use some major updating, it was located in a great spot! There were plenty of restaurants/bars located within walking distance and the food was amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guayanilla, PR

Nice Hotel well located in the heart Old San Juan

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: shower valve.
Location: In the heart of Old San Juan and there are activities in many places at walking distance.
No car needed to walk from the Hotel to all areas of Old San Juan. Bed was comfortable. Even supermarkets and pharmacies are one block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, central

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very friendly, informative staff. Bed comfortable. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Very close to shops/restaurants and sea front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
comparing the price to hotels close by this was a good deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama

Very good location

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel is very basic, and definitely not a B&B. But the location and staff can't be beaten. The A/c was freezing and I couldn't find a way to turn it off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us Juan. I trust you made it back home safely. Temperature is controlled by our staff and always maintained at around 69 to 71 Degrees Fahrenheit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Covers your basic needs.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Nice comfortable hotel. Lovely staff. But the devil is on the details. Needs a little more effort on the small things. My bedsheets had a cigarette hole and the shower could use proper cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Our apologies for your issue with the bed sheets and shower. we will be discussing this issue with the cleaning crew at one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room

Posted Dec 26, 2016
No controls in the room for ac/ heat. No phone, WiFi or breakfast. No microwave I'm room. Only good thing is that it is in the middle of old San Juan and can walk anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is central air conditioned. We are sorry you could not connect to the Internet when you tried. There is WiFi available on the premises. Although we don't offer breakfast, coffee is served from 7:30 to 11:00. A microwave is available in the coffee area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Good Place to Stay in the Heart of Old San Juan

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The location is truly fantastic. There are very good eateries, bars, the historic forts of Old SJ, and some amazing views only minutes away on foot.
Stayed at the S.J. Suites Hotel for a night in a recent trip to PR. It was a good place to stay. Everything was pretty good, no complaints. Just before bed I noticed the room was a bit warm. So I went to speak to the person at the check-in desk, and he immediately helped adjust the temperature. The third floor (at least) seems to have a single thermostat for the entire floor. There was also no fan in the room. These did not pose any issues once I approached the receptionist. Overall, it was a good experience staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us AJ. I'm glad the enjoyed Old San Juan.