Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
comparing the price to hotels close by this was a good deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama

Very good location

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel is very basic, and definitely not a B&B. But the location and staff can't be beaten. The A/c was freezing and I couldn't find a way to turn it off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us Juan. I trust you made it back home safely. Temperature is controlled by our staff and always maintained at around 69 to 71 Degrees Fahrenheit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Covers your basic needs.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Nice comfortable hotel. Lovely staff. But the devil is on the details. Needs a little more effort on the small things. My bedsheets had a cigarette hole and the shower could use proper cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Our apologies for your issue with the bed sheets and shower. we will be discussing this issue with the cleaning crew at one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room

Posted Dec 26, 2016
No controls in the room for ac/ heat. No phone, WiFi or breakfast. No microwave I'm room. Only good thing is that it is in the middle of old San Juan and can walk anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is central air conditioned. We are sorry you could not connect to the Internet when you tried. There is WiFi available on the premises. Although we don't offer breakfast, coffee is served from 7:30 to 11:00. A microwave is available in the coffee area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Good Place to Stay in the Heart of Old San Juan

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The location is truly fantastic. There are very good eateries, bars, the historic forts of Old SJ, and some amazing views only minutes away on foot.
Stayed at the S.J. Suites Hotel for a night in a recent trip to PR. It was a good place to stay. Everything was pretty good, no complaints. Just before bed I noticed the room was a bit warm. So I went to speak to the person at the check-in desk, and he immediately helped adjust the temperature. The third floor (at least) seems to have a single thermostat for the entire floor. There was also no fan in the room. These did not pose any issues once I approached the receptionist. Overall, it was a good experience staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us AJ. I'm glad the enjoyed Old San Juan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Very comfortable and spacious room. Good air conditioner. Hot water. Clean room and nice staff members.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed Old San Juan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Location For Pre-Cruise Stay!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Loved the spacious room, easy check in and out, fantastic location and charming character of S.J.Suites. Raymond made our stay even more enjoyable!
Cons: Loved it just the way it was!
Location: It is located in the heart of Old San Juan close to the free trolly stops, shops, bars, restaurants and the harbor. Ideal location with lots of charm!
We arrived in Puerto Rico a day early and stayed at the S.J. Suites in Old San Juan. We had a large comfortable room with a king size bed, window facing the street, a very nice leather chair, futon and fridge. It was a little dated but the location and being genuinely welcomed by Raymond at the front desk more than made up for that! He was helpful in every way! His recommendation for dinner at Barrachina where the Pina Colada was invented did not disappoint! My Steak Fajitas were just perfectly cooked and my husbands coconut shrimp also. Of course we both enjoyed a Pina Colada! We loved riding the free trolley that stopped throughout Old San Juan and all of the shops that were close by our hotel. A cab to the cruise port was 10 minutes and $17 plus tip and we were all checked in and on board The Gem by noon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Wow Maria! Thank you very much for your extensive review. Love the pictures two. I hope to see you next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: warm or hot water
Location: great location, zero to complain about on this.
accommodation and location very suitable for us. Warm or hot water to shower would be a definite bonus. very frendly staff and knowledgeable to. tks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you Julian for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very friendly and informative.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Location Location Location. I wanted to tour Old San Juan to see more of it.
Cons: Can't think of a thing. It is not fancy, but then neither is the price.
Location: Old San Juan is the reason I selected this hotel. Lots to do and see in Old San Juan
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Much appreciated. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good value for location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable. They gave us some great recommendations for restaurants, parking garages, and other things to do
Cons: The AC was turned on super high and there was no thermostat in the room so we were freezing. Also, there isn't a window in the majority of the rooms!
This is a good option if you want a little more privacy than a hostel and a good price, but don't care so much about glitz or amenities. It's a great location in OSJ, close to dining, nightlife, etc. but not so close that the noise is bothersome. The rooms are fine, main complaints being that it was absolutely freezing, with no option to adjust the temp in our room ourselves. Also, being in an old row house means that most of the rooms have no window, and the fluorescent lights get a little harsh. Good for people who are out and about all day, and really just want a place to sleep and keep their stuff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Raymond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. I apologize for the AC issue. Usually we set the temperature around 70 degrees so it is a pleasant temperature to all. I'm glad you had a nice time in Old San Juan.