Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Tryp by Windham Isla Verde

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Situated just across the street from the beach. Nice location with lots of food places in walking distance.
Location: I'm not sure I'd stay anywhere else. I definitely plan to visit again. If you are in the area and you're looking for a nice place to stay - check out
I just returned from my vacation in San Juan, PR and I selected Tryp by Wyndham as my hotel. I am NOT disappointed. I must say, I was worried based on some reviews but I'm glad I took the opportunity to form an opinion on my own. I would...WILL definitely return. My request for a higher floor and ocean view was honored - no extra fee! The hotel: Posh, well decorated and very modern. Much like a boutique hotel. A few people told me it was formerly a Howard Johnson. It has been renovated and it is really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Good food, small room, lights went out twice in the room while getting ready for my wedding which set us back a good half hour of getting ready so I wouldn't recommend it to get a bridal party ready. The lobby is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very nice place will stay there again very clean rooms nice gym
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Excelent attention . The room is snall and the air condition dosnt work .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Yariann Adorno, E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Please apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our a/c. We appreciate you letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clark New Jersey

Sweet

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Nice beach right across the street. Staff members were very sweet. Breakfast left a little to be desired. Would be nice to be able to get coffee anytime a day maybe a coffee station in the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Yariann Adorno, E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and are glad to know you enjoyed Isla Verde beach and that our staff members served you well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Rooms are small but comfortable. Frosted glass panel on bathroom barn door is a bit unnerving but otherwise the Rooms are nice. Close to beach, airport, and Walgreens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location, everything else very meh

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Pool area was nice, but the repetitive music track and lack of any service made it so I only spent an hour or two there each day.
Cons: Food is very poor quality - both the breakfast and room service. Many better options in the area.
Location: Old San Juan is a quick $10 Uber ride away. And of course the rainforest, other excursions.
This hotel has a good location, right across the street from the beach. If you walk down the beach a little bit, you can rent beach chairs ($4) and umbrellas ($10) for the day. The hotel has also recently been renovated, but you can tell that it was done cheaply as other commentators have noted. Service at the hotel is virtually nonexistent. No one to greet you upon arrival, no welcome sangria (which they advertise). No personal touches at all. The one day I went to the continental breakfast ($15), again no one to greet you again. Very bored looking staff who seemed visibly annoyed when I asked where the coffee was. I always always tip, but no one at this hotel did anything I could actually tip for. Pool/beach towels can only be obtained from the front desk. No one tells you that, you have to ask. Upon check-in they don't tell you anything, just give you a room key and send you on your way. I had to ask about internet, breakfast, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room with no view, but ok for a cheap trip!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Small room with no view. Ok for cheap trips. The restaurant has good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Prerfectly located hotel in Isla Verde

Posted Dec 27, 2016
This hotel was howard Johnson's for many years. Currently a very updated fashionable-boutique-esque look with almost perfect location to everything in Isla Verde. Across the street from the beach, walking distance to every restaurant in the area and very close to the airport. Hotel staff is professional and the restaurants (Emigrate and Faccio's Pizza) have good queality food and drinks. Pool area is not the biggest, but good enough to chill from the beach before going out in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Room, Location and Staff

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The room was smaller than what I am use to but the decor of the entire facility was awesome. Make sure you request a room with a microwave and fridge. All rooms do not have them and they are upon request. Great Stay and Location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Yariann Adorno, E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed our rooms, location and staff and we look forward to welcome you back!