Ratings based on 2,072 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beach, NJ

We were so incredibly happy!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Our second trip to PR, we absolutely loved the RC SJ. Staff.... Talk about the happiest place on earth. All of the staff from checking in ...until the minute we left ....were 100% genuinely good people. Their good mood and cheer were contagious! Extra cheers to Aurura & staff (by the pool/beach.) She made my daughters day! Waiters all went out of their way. Bellmen/pool & beach staff rocked! Food. BLT we ate here our first night and the waiters were cool, teaching us about the island/surf spots. And providing excellent help with the menu (try the honey glazed salmon) MARE restaurant had the most beautiful breakfast buffet. We were visiting during Easter and booked the special Easter brunch. It did not disappoint... Beef Wellington, seafood & sushi, appetizers and incredible desserts!!!!! Ohhhh and il mulino restaurant. It was so good we almost went back a second night. Order the chicken parm! The host was beyond hospitable and cared about us receiving the best service. The room: we booked a pool view and had a sweet view of the ocean. Clean. Well kept. My son was able to check the waves from our room. Ohhh and the waves. If you are looking for small - Med boogie boarding/surfing waves this beach is for you. (My son is an experienced 9 year old and was entertained for hours) a two minute walk off the premises is a great break. We were fortunate Mother Nature gave us a great week!!!! Nothing but greatness to report. Hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great place to stay for everyone!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
I travel to this hotel several times a year for quick vacation getaways , have worked in hotels, and think this review will be pretty spot on for most of you. 1) Hotel facilities- Its a beautiful hotel, it is not as opulent or flashy as most ritzs (if thats what you're expecting you will be disappointed- but its far less expensive than many other Caribbean Ritz Carltons are- so I'm cool with it) but its very nice nonetheless. There are some areas that are tired and need some updating but Ive been there twice this year so far and they are working on things. Lobby, bar, restaurants and casinos are all great. The hallways are very nice. Rooms are a LITTLE dated and need some sprucing but nothing that should have an impact on anything. 2) Staff/Service- Typical Ritz Carlton, everyone goes out of their way to help. Honestly, I get a little annoyed having to tell people "Im fine, thanks or I don't need anything right now". No one lets you walk by them without asking if everything is ok, but thats what you're paying for. 5 star service all the way. Anyone who complains about the service here, must not have actually stayed here or are compensating for some other gripe. 3)Food- Never had anything bad there. Sushi bar is awesome and everything is very fresh. Waiters and bartenders are super attentive. 4) Beach/Pool- Perfection- Including the beach bar/restaurant I am a pretty high maintenance guest and stay at Ritz Carltons all over and continuously come back here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome trip

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful artwork and clean. The staff is customer-focused!
Cons: More elevators
Location: Great location on beach -- walking distance to great restaurants and only minutes from old San Juan. Quick trip from airport as well.
We had a relaxing experience. The staff is top notch and they are totally focused on making your trip the very best. The hotel is located in a great spot so you are quick to arrive from the airport and start your vacation. Accommodations were wonderful. Food was delicious and the drinks were awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not at all what I expected or paid for

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Staff tried hard. Pool Cabana was great.
Cons: Beach is way overcrowded. Front desk is extremely inefficient, room bookings etc were a real issue for two days. Room cleanliness was a real problem.
Location: Old San Juan has some charm, but know where and what streets to go on.
There will be an email with pictures and video sent to Management of Marriott expressing our displeasure
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Deigo

Decent tourist hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: New carpet.
Location: Not a lot do do.
Kind of tired, but ok for a few nights. Food was fairly good. Not sure there's a lot better in San Juan. Don't make a special trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice facility, small and manageable.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nice size hotel. Close to the airport. All the facilities are easily accessible. Good service. Spa service was awesome. Nice fitness center. Only complaints would be the elevators were not always working properly and the carpets and fabrics in the rooms and hallways seemed faded and looked like they needed a good cleaning. Best deal was breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Not like a true Ritz Carlton

Posted Apr 12, 2017
This hotel is not like a true luxury Ritz carlton although you will be paying Ritz prices . The rooms and hallways need updating and renewal.The prices for food and drinks are astronomical-even in the coffee shop and around the pool. Pool and bar cocktails are $16 +. A waffle $18. Coffee $5 plus tip-there's ur simple breakfast tab.That being said-AMAZING staff ,so warm and totally accommodating LOVED the staff.The hotel is just fair..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel, with wonderful people and the best service ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service! Good food. Fantastic location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Never left the resort once we got there. Ate, drank, relaxed, sunned, and enjoyed the beautiful amenities. We will go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Good hotel close to most attractions but expensive

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I liked the hotel. It's is very lovely and quaint. The staff is professional and facility is well run. My only issue is that it is extraordinarily expensive. Because of the high cost, I found my expectations for a superior presentation highly elevated. The $40 Brunch lacked diversity of choice (no fish, or meat item) with limited menu options and the BLT Steakhouse on premises was sub-par....my $57 steak arrived with the garlic butter sitting unmelted on top of a freshly cooked but cold steak. The design of the hotel is a big u-shape that circumscribea large oasis pool. With no swim up bar, the staff works hard to get you a cocktail. Simply put, this a 4-star hotel that requires updating to a more modern 5-star presentation to be worth the money. It simply wasn't Ritz Carlton standard. The only way to acquire the typical Ritz quality, was through upgrade through the Club-level standard. Cut the price or spend the capital to modernize resort external common areas and rooms