Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Staff anticipated our needs

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very impressed with the resort and staff equally - There is an authentic 'happy to see you' feel that the staff exuded. Also, they let you see their individual personalities - they aren't robotic in their friendliness. All three restaurants were fabulous. Our only disappointment was the way moderately stormy weather seems to effect the beach - bringing all sorts of debris from rainforest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Paradise

Posted Apr 23, 2017
First time at this resort. It was excellent and service was first class. Concerns about lack of food options are legitimate. However, the food was delicious and we were well taken care of. We went with three small children, room was spacious and we probably all could have fit in the shower. Recommend without hesitation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Over promising and under delivering!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The pool and the beach.
Cons: Everything but the beach and the pool.
Location: There is nothing nearby. Had to take a 45 minute ride to go anywhere.
Overrated and overpriced and far away from everything. Limited food options with limited restaurants. The pool is nice and so is the beach. The staff was average at best. The maid service was sub-par. The concierge had limited knowledge and the tour company was mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

Beautiful resort on nice and quiet beach

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Great for couples and families. I was vacationing with my wife but we could easily bring our children as the resort has several activities for kids.
Cons: The food was a bit expensive.
We spent a three day weekend at the resort to celebrate my birthday. The resort staff are so welcoming and accommodating. We received a complimentary upgrade from a king oceanfront room to a one bedroom ocean view suite with butler service. Happy birthday to me! It was simply beautiful. Spacious, well decorated. Well stocked mini bar. Refrigerator with enough room for some small personal food items. Espresso and coffee maker. Large living area with a sizable sofa and chair. Large flat screen TV. Full bathroom and shower. Large balcony with a sofa, two ottomans and a table for 4. The balcony with one sliding door from the living room and one sliding door from the bedroom completely faced the ocean. The bedroom was spacious with a large walk in closet. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Flat screen TV. Nightly turn down service (closing the curtains, turning back the comforter, putting out slippers, leaving something sweet on the pillow) was something I looked forward to every evening. The master bathroom was enormous. Two sinks, TV in the mirror, shower and tub more than big enough for two people. The grounds of the resort were stunning. Beautiful landscaping, sculptures, lakes, flowers, ponds. The pool was generous with ample chairs and cabanas. The resort never felt over crowded which was very nice and added to the overall relaxation of the trip. We did two private tennis lessons with pro Tucker. He was awesome and it was a great work out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great service and warm atmosphere

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The staff treat the guest so well and they make you feel as you're in paradise, very accommodating on all your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel with many amenities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: All of the amenities on site such as good restaurants and resort style golf course. Staff was very helpful and extremely friendly.
Cons: Restaurants should be open more often. There are three restaurants on site and one is a beach style restaurant.
Location: The hotel is close to the rain forest and relatively close to San Juan by car.
Wonderful stay at the hotel. Staff was very attentive and the grounds are lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decadent spoil you rotten getaway

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The privacy of ir from everything else.. no need to go anywhere but there
Cons: Gatehouse took forever to go in or out but that's minor and the coffee machine in the room was terrible and there is no coffee available in the lobby
I can only say that if you need a honeymoon spot or a romantic get away, this is the place to go without traveling far. There are almost 1,00 acres to the resort filled with biking trails, hiking and over 3 miles of private beach. They even groom the sand every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Spa Retreat

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Beautiful resort with loads of amenities and activities all on property. Gorgeous beach and bay for relaxing and collecting shells. The water and surf can be aggressive so not the best for swimming and certainly not ideal for snorkeling. But the many pools at the hotel are well suited for all ages. Food is very pricey and if I had to discount the 5 star rating it would be in terms of food. We don't mind paying top dollar for the best food, but paying top dollar for average food is not pleasant. Don't get me wrong we did not eat a bad meal at the resort during our 5 day stay, but the room service was very average, comparable to an upscale 3-4 star resort and paled in comparison to a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. The poolside restaurant Seagrapes was also average and the main eatery, The Fern was pretty good but again not top dollar good. My wife and I ate well and without any alcoholic beverages the tab was $175. Again, for that price except a more memorable meal. The big exception to the average food was the wonderful flavors of the Beach Club (formerly Molasses) which we felt was the best of the restaurant options at the St. Regis Bahia Beach. The Beach Club is a stunning setting surrounded by the golf course, ocean, and multi-tiered waterfall pools. I highly recommend you check this place out! The Kobe Beef Burger and the Cuban sandwich were top shelf. On that note, the spa was also top shelf. Perhaps top 3 spa experiences my wife and I have had. Staff was fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful Hotel in Paradise

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Secluded location, beautiful well kept grounds and very friendly staff.
Cons: Looser dress requirement for Fern restaurant. No nightlife, need light entertaiment... kettle drums or guitarist. Pool restaurant stay open later 7pm!
Location: Secluded nothing nearby. Peaceful location.
One of the nicest hotels that we have ever stayed at. Wonderful clean beach, you can walk forever. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting close to the beach

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The kids club was a lot of fun for our little one, and there were other children who said they had come back for many years and knew the sitters well.
Cons: No music on pathways please, and better sofa beds.
Location: The beach is very wide and not crowded at all. Lots of other activities onsite.
We had a suite for our family of four. We enjoyed the pool with many different areas to explore. The beach was excellent and well maintained, with staff to bring you chairs and umbrellas. I really liked the grounds and many places to explore around the large property. Only downsides: the music every where (including outdoors around the pathways) was driving me crazy - especially along the beautiful wooden paths through the trees, I would rather enjoy the wind in the palms and sounds of birds than the new age-y spa music. Also, the fold out sofa bed was really thin & creaked every time someone moved. It was okay for a small child, but probably not for an older child or teen. We have previously stayed at the Four Seasons at Nevis, and liked this resort just as much.