Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Hotel en área tranquila de isla verde

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Decidí conocer el hotel ya que me parecía interesante desde afuera. La realidad no fue tan lejana de lo que imaginaba, salvo por algunos detalles como el de no tener desayuno en la tarifa, el desagradable olor de la madera que recubre los ascensores y algunas otras nuestras de la necesidad de una pronta renovación
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had great stay!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Hotel is nice, staff is very friendly. Be wary of some of the employees at the tour desk. I had one flat out lie to me in regards to the rainforest. She said there was no entrance to forest outside of the tour services, and said I needed to go with the tour which is >$100 for half day. Ludicrous!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The room was nasty... Nat's, rug, nasty

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I would never stay again... room was dirty.... no hot water just warm... Nat's... rug dirty... stayed in room 1116... The rear of pizza hut... walls and door dirty... $25 per towel if you lost the paper card or towel..$50 per day hold on credit card..... moved to a better hotel!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san juan, pr

Posted Aug 27, 2016
It was a nice, clean hotel. Close to a nice strip, with plenty of restaurants, beach walking distance away, and activities. They stay was pleasant. I go back, but the rooms where not to big!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

What Happened?

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The staff are professional, the restaurants, bar and coffee shop are a welcome bonus. The pool area is nice.
Cons: The mattress, pillows and air conditioner.
Location: Supermarkets, casino, local restaurants and Old San Juan and airport are nearby.
We stayed at the Verdanza about 3 years ago, and we were proud to know the hotel was owned and operated by Puerto Ricans. The room back then was in much better shape. This time around the room appeared shoddy. The mattress was old, and uncomfortable. The bed sheets were flimsy and had seen better days. The pillows were flat and worn out. The bathroom floor was dirty although the bathroom appeared clean. Also, the parking rate has gone up to $12 per night. The air conditioner didn't do an adequate job in cooling the room. We set it at 60 degrees, and the room felt musty and damp. Not a pleasant night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent hotel one block to isla Verde beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Excellent staff members, nice pool area with kids water playground.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San German

Buen acceso a la piscina

Posted Aug 22, 2016
El aire no enfría bien. No había un zafacón en toda la habitación ni en el baño.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Excellent hospitality, corteous service, clean rooms, nice facilities and amenities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They charged me unexpected extra fees for adult

Posted Aug 9, 2016
They charged me unexpected fees that are not even in the hotel information . Worst customer service ever . Check in and check out are super duper slow . Not going back at all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The most disappointing experience ...

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location and the small café makes a mean latte.
Cons: Read "My Experience" -- a great deal needs improvement.
Location: Easy access to beach, nice pool, easy access to good local food.
It started at check-in and did not improve: 3 computers 1 receptionist = DISASTER. Check-in took between 45-60 minutes; our room was in a location without elevator service (walk-up); curtains soiled, bedcover non-existent, carpet questionable and the kicker NO HOT WATER during our entire stay. I did receive a call from a supervisor who indicated in her voice message she was going off duty within minutes of leaving the message but I should stop by the front desk for immediate assistance: HA -- what a joke. Upon listening to message I immediately went to front desk to find [SHOCKER] no one on duty!! When checking out I was not asked about my stay (clearly, they didn't want to have to deal with a possible irate guest in front of a large group just about to check in). When I offered details on my experience and asked how the hotel would make this up -- perhaps offer to comp a night or two -- I was informed that I had to go THROUGH Expedia because they were powerless to do anything. Like I didn't already know that since my husband called twice and I called once about the lack of hot (or even lukewarm) water. I should have immediately switched hotels but booking through an outside party is frustratingly limiting. Would share pictures but, what for? I want to forget this place ASAP.