Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, United States of America

Cute historical gem in the middle of old town

Posted Oct 25, 2016
When my fiance and I came to Puerto Rico, we wanted to stay somewhere that FELT like we were in Puerto Rico (not some generic hotel), and this little gem right in the heart of old town was definitely that. We really enjoyed our stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for everyone. One of the biggest pros is the locations. This is right across from the main cathedral in the heart of old town (hidden next door to the exorbitantly expensive Hotel El Convento) — and just a block from the coast. It's also just a short walk to the castle. The down side is that if you're renting a car, it can be a bit difficult to get all the way here and down the tiny cobbled streets. There is also NO HOTEL PARKING — you'll need to valet right next to the cathedral for $21/day. Trust me, you want to do that. The staff is absolutely fantastic — very helpful and willing to give you a list of recommendations for where to go for the best food, the best drinks, the best music, etc. The rooms themselves are definitely different. Very much on the small side. Our room fit our bed, a tiny night stand, mini dresser, and little TV. You can barely even pass each other inside. The shower is big enough, but the water had only 2 settings: cold and scalding. So we had to do a bit of back-and-forth regulating. The electricity also went out one of the mornings, but we decided to just go in town and it was back on when we came back. So overall, not the biggest or most luxurious accommodations, but certainly unique.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jul 21, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Villa Herencia on our honeymoon...what a wonderful experience!! The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome! The breakfast served freshly prepared, the fantastic dinner recommendations, help with getting taxis and rental cars...the list goes on and on. Jonathan and Juan, thank you so much for the fantastic vacation!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Jul 18, 2016
My wife and I just returned from our Fourth of July trip to Puerto Rico. We stayed at Villa Herencia for three nights and absolutely loved it. If you're looking to stay in Old San Juan this is the place to stay. Great location, pretty close to the Morro Castle and many of Old San Juans great restaurants. Located on a quiet street in a beautiful building. Hotel is small which we loved, not much if any noise at any given time. The rooms are beautiful, great design and are kept nice and cold which was very nice to come back to after a long day of walking. Staff was very friendly and helped us find some restaurants and activities to do. Turn down service was great, our room was always clean and smelled great. The King bed was very comfortable. A couple of cons. Only reason I leave these is in case people care about these issues. The cons were very few and easily looked past by my wife and I. The room is a little small. Not much room to maneuver once your bags are down. The water temperature was a little erratic in our room. Either scalding or freezing but we always expect this when traveling so it didn't bother us. The parking was tough which I don't blame the hotel for, it's rough everywhere in Old San Juan but it did add $25 extra daily to our stay so just keep that in mind in case you can't find street parking. Like I said, just a few cons but the good far outweighed the bad and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Happy traveling!
5 out of 5
by Dx from London


Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
I cannot fault the hotel in any way. It is beautiful and the staff so friendly and helpful. The best thing about it is the location as it is situated walking distance to pretty much all the attractions in Old San Juan. The photos on the Web is an accurate reflection of the hotel. The breakfast is basic but there are many places locally if you want something more substantial. Uber is new to PR and is very much cheaper than the local taxis. If you do call a taxi from the hotel you are advised to have a quiet word about a particular driver who should be avoided at all costs not least because he drove into oncoming traffic and generally was not mentally fit to be on the road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, IN

Nice location, the whole area was walkable.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: It was beautiful!
Cons: Breakfast, was just okay. Nothing super exciting.
Nice place, we enjoyed it. Great location. (No further info needed, but your form insists upon more words!)
5 out of 5
by Hector J. from Puerto Rico

Romantic stay at Old San Juan

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Outstanding hotel with great location in Old San Juan. Excellent and ample decorated rooms. Outstanding and friendly staff. Breakfast also included!!! Outstanding!!!!! THANKS!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, Louisiana USA

Wonderful boutique hotel in Old San Juan

Posted May 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was extremely helpful, and the hotel was architecturally exquisite.
Cons: I can't imagine how the hotel could be improved.
Location: The hotel is on a quiet street within easy walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. The area is full of interesting restaurants and shops...
This hotel is one of the most charming and beautiful hotels we've ever enjoyed. The staff was incredible-when we checked in, we had a great conversation with the desk clerk, who gave us some great tips for places to go near the hotel. It was almost as if he knew exactly what we were looking for. The rooftop terrace was an amazing place to sit and have a drink during the early evening, and the location was perfect.
4 out of 5
by Richard from LA Area

Old world charm with modern amenities

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed one night but could have stayed much longer in this charming place. Great location, nice clean rooms with great amenities including breakfast and wifi. Would definitely return. The only issue is parking but that applies to everywhere in old San Juan. We found a parking lot within walking distance for $25/night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: beds, decor, staff, lobby, terrace, free wifi, free breakfast on a silver tray!
Cons: stronger wifi, hot/cold water situation
Location: Old San Juan
This hotel is truly beautiful. It doesn't have many rooms, but they are all beautiful and comfortable in their own unique way. Every staff member that we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. The wifi worked okay, but that seems to be the trend in PR. Also, it is an old building, so keep that in mind and you will be more than pleased. The water in our room was either hot or cold. No in between. I think that whoever stayed in the room right before us had broken the handle, so it might have been for that reason. That or old city pipes? The terrace was awesome! Wish we had more time to spend up there with a glass of wine or two :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Amazing, Romantic Hotel! Love this place!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, romantic, great staff, great location - would definitely stay here again
Cons: not a thing.
Location: Great location -everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance.
This hotel greatly surpassed my expectations. This is a small boutique hotel, with a very romantic feel. The hotel has about 9 rooms - I think. The hotel has a beautiful roof deck for all guests to enjoy. Located right in the heart of Old San Juan - everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance including great restaurants, the forts, shopping and any historic site. Parking also was not a problem. We had a rental car and found a parking spot on the street but there are also parking lots nearby.