Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Cozy, private, romantic boutique hotel!!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
First time visiting the hotel. I was looking for something special and definitely found it. The room, lobby, terrace and common areas are exactly the same from the photos. This create credibility. I'll definitely will recommend and will come again. See you soon!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful b&b in a quiet corner of Old San Juan

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel was clean and quiet. Room was absolutely beautiful, old Spanish style. Rustic but comfortable. The grounds are unique, with the main building having an open space in the middle where the rooms are, and an open patio on the roof with hammock and tables and chairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, United States of America

Cute historical gem in the middle of old town

Posted Oct 25, 2016
When my fiance and I came to Puerto Rico, we wanted to stay somewhere that FELT like we were in Puerto Rico (not some generic hotel), and this little gem right in the heart of old town was definitely that. We really enjoyed our stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for everyone. One of the biggest pros is the locations. This is right across from the main cathedral in the heart of old town (hidden next door to the exorbitantly expensive Hotel El Convento) — and just a block from the coast. It's also just a short walk to the castle. The down side is that if you're renting a car, it can be a bit difficult to get all the way here and down the tiny cobbled streets. There is also NO HOTEL PARKING — you'll need to valet right next to the cathedral for $21/day. Trust me, you want to do that. The staff is absolutely fantastic — very helpful and willing to give you a list of recommendations for where to go for the best food, the best drinks, the best music, etc. The rooms themselves are definitely different. Very much on the small side. Our room fit our bed, a tiny night stand, mini dresser, and little TV. You can barely even pass each other inside. The shower is big enough, but the water had only 2 settings: cold and scalding. So we had to do a bit of back-and-forth regulating. The electricity also went out one of the mornings, but we decided to just go in town and it was back on when we came back. So overall, not the biggest or most luxurious accommodations, but certainly unique.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jul 21, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Villa Herencia on our honeymoon...what a wonderful experience!! The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome! The breakfast served freshly prepared, the fantastic dinner recommendations, help with getting taxis and rental cars...the list goes on and on. Jonathan and Juan, thank you so much for the fantastic vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Jul 18, 2016
My wife and I just returned from our Fourth of July trip to Puerto Rico. We stayed at Villa Herencia for three nights and absolutely loved it. If you're looking to stay in Old San Juan this is the place to stay. Great location, pretty close to the Morro Castle and many of Old San Juans great restaurants. Located on a quiet street in a beautiful building. Hotel is small which we loved, not much if any noise at any given time. The rooms are beautiful, great design and are kept nice and cold which was very nice to come back to after a long day of walking. Staff was very friendly and helped us find some restaurants and activities to do. Turn down service was great, our room was always clean and smelled great. The King bed was very comfortable. A couple of cons. Only reason I leave these is in case people care about these issues. The cons were very few and easily looked past by my wife and I. The room is a little small. Not much room to maneuver once your bags are down. The water temperature was a little erratic in our room. Either scalding or freezing but we always expect this when traveling so it didn't bother us. The parking was tough which I don't blame the hotel for, it's rough everywhere in Old San Juan but it did add $25 extra daily to our stay so just keep that in mind in case you can't find street parking. Like I said, just a few cons but the good far outweighed the bad and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Happy traveling!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, IN

Nice location, the whole area was walkable.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: It was beautiful!
Cons: Breakfast, was just okay. Nothing super exciting.
Nice place, we enjoyed it. Great location. (No further info needed, but your form insists upon more words!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: beds, decor, staff, lobby, terrace, free wifi, free breakfast on a silver tray!
Cons: stronger wifi, hot/cold water situation
Location: Old San Juan
This hotel is truly beautiful. It doesn't have many rooms, but they are all beautiful and comfortable in their own unique way. Every staff member that we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. The wifi worked okay, but that seems to be the trend in PR. Also, it is an old building, so keep that in mind and you will be more than pleased. The water in our room was either hot or cold. No in between. I think that whoever stayed in the room right before us had broken the handle, so it might have been for that reason. That or old city pipes? The terrace was awesome! Wish we had more time to spend up there with a glass of wine or two :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Amazing, Romantic Hotel! Love this place!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, romantic, great staff, great location - would definitely stay here again
Cons: not a thing.
Location: Great location -everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance.
This hotel greatly surpassed my expectations. This is a small boutique hotel, with a very romantic feel. The hotel has about 9 rooms - I think. The hotel has a beautiful roof deck for all guests to enjoy. Located right in the heart of Old San Juan - everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance including great restaurants, the forts, shopping and any historic site. Parking also was not a problem. We had a rental car and found a parking spot on the street but there are also parking lots nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Charming little hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely nice and the vibe was charming.
This is an interesting hotel. It has a very charming/romantic feel -- very European -- but it is unusual in several respects. It's a small building tucked on a quiet cobblestone street in Old San Juan. The is no grand entrance or lobby, just a sitting room off to the side with a small reception desk. The rooms are off of a courtyard that is open to the elements. My room (queen size standard) opened off the common courtyard. The main room included the bed and two nightstands, that's it. The ceilings were very high, and the furnishings were nice, but the room was tight, with no space to move around, and no where to sit but the bed. What was most odd is that the only windows were in the door from the courtyard. One could open the shutters on these windows, but there would be no privacy in the room. The bathroom was good sized and pleasant, with mostly new fixtures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little bit disapointed

Posted Oct 13, 2015
The air conditioner kept making noise all the night, and the fountain outside my room is noisy too, making me feel that it's raining all day long...And the staff on the front desk is supposed to be on duty till 11pm, but I went to the front desk for bottle water at about 10pm, one one was there... As for the complimentary breakfast, they ask for your preferences when you check in. at first I thought it's nice to customize breakfast, but the next morning when I went to the dining hall, nobody there and no food there, I waited for a while until I found someone in the kitchen and then ask for service...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2015 by Marcia, Hotel Management
we regret all these drawbacks. air conditioners are not supposed to make any noise so we apologize for that. We also regret that you haven't found the fountain relaxing, know for a future occasion, that we just can turn it off. being a small hotel our work may extend beyond the reception's, thats why we have two bells, one located in the reception area and the other in the dining room so we know when a guest requests our assistance urgently. know that we strive to attend our guests the best we can and are willing to make adjustments to accommodate all requests. best Regards Marcia