Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Cozy and Unique

Posted Mar 27, 2017
I booked this hotel for myself and my 12 year old son. We fell in love with the Decor and its charm immediately , the room was smaller than hotels I have previously stayed in but I was looking for something different with some charm and uniqueness. it's located near shops, restaurants,El Morro and there is a Trolly free of charge to get around Old San Juan. The staff was amazing! Marcia and Christian are great! The only down side for us was the mattress, we didn't get much sleep if your use to sleeping on a firm mattress then I would suggest to ask for a room that has one ,other than that great place to stay! Bonus: if you like cats then you'll really be happy ,they hang out like us tourists ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Great location.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We had a rooftop "casita" which was very special but I think not all rooms are as nice. The rooftop terrace has hammocks, bathtubs and lounge chairs. It's a perfect place for a quiet breakfast or sunset happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Real Old San Juan charmer

Posted Mar 12, 2017
If you want to experience the best of Old San Juan, Villa Herencia is the place to stay. This boutique hotel is beautifully appointed and decorated and is perfect for walking to all the best cafes, tapas houses and restaurants this great city has to offer. Steps from the Old San Juan gate and paseo, tons of history and breathtaking views are waiting steps from the front door. Highly recommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful, Unique Guest House!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: I liked how they remodeled a piece of history and still kept its charm of a Spanish villa.
We loved this guest house/hotel. Very small and unique with beautiful rooms, light breakfast, wonderful rooftop terrace and lots of charm. The lady who checked us in was wonderful and answered all our questions about the area. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great small hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Villa Herencia is in the heart of the oldest part of Old San Juan. The rooms range from tiny to smallish, but with everything you need in an old world style. Staff was helpful with suggestions for dining as we tried mightily to avoid the Wendy's and the Burger King. We succeeded by diving into Puerto Rican meals every time. The best rooms appeared to be on the second floor, but that is really just a guess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Best place to stay in Old San Juan

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Ambience, decor, location, staff, just about everything.
Cons: Make the upstairs patio a non-smoking area. We were eating breakfast on the patio & another guest was smoking next to our table. Very unpleasant.
Location: Located in the heart of Old San Juan it's close to Castillo San Felipe de Morro, los paseos, museums, restaurants, nightlife, etc.
This was our second stay at Villa Herencia and we love it so much we would never stay at another hotel when we are visiting Old San Juan. Since it is centrally located there is no need to rent a car. Every part of the old city is accessible on foot. Even at 2:00 am in the morning we always felt safe walking the streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge VA

This was a great surprise...

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Closeness to water & the downtown area. The really original décor/ furniture. They have balcony RELAXING area, with hammock..
Cons: nothing
Location: wonderful- walk to waterfront & downtown
Talk about creative in their decorating!! We are definitely coming back next time.Romantic setting. Walk to water front/ downtown!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Small quaint boutique hotel in old San Juan

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Lovely place, great location, bathtubs on the roof. Very charming with welcomig, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Nice hotel. Staff super helpful and courteous. Had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Cozy, private, romantic boutique hotel!!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
First time visiting the hotel. I was looking for something special and definitely found it. The room, lobby, terrace and common areas are exactly the same from the photos. This create credibility. I'll definitely will recommend and will come again. See you soon!!