Ratings based on 3,082 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pinckney, michigan

Family Vacation

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Traveled with 2 under 2yrs. Family friendly, always had fresh towels and house cleaning kept things very clean, especially with our messy boys! Nice pools, kid friendly. Also have an adult pool for those without kids. My only complaint would be slightly slower service than other resorts we have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MEV

Posted Mar 28, 2017
My son and I really enjoyed our stay @ the Wyndham. Great place for families to stay and relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NIGHTMARE from beginning to end.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
There were roaches in the room crawling on the dresses and cabinets. The manager's excuse was they had just experienced a great deal of rain and weren't able to fumigate. What???? What made matters worse was the way the situation was handled. It was almost as if this was a common occurrence. Yes they upgraded our room but only after asking three different managers. I tried connecting with corporate but conveniently I couldn't get through until the day before we were checking out. Service was horrible. No one EVER answers the phone. Not the front desk. Not service requests. I literally had to either put the phone on speaker and go about my business in the room until someone picked up or I would have to call back several times. Room service was always later than what was promised. One of the days I ordered breakfast around 610am. Pancakes and an omlet. U would think I had asked them to go to the farm for the eggs because it took well over an hour. I ended up having to cancel the order altogether because we had booked an excursion on the island of culebra that day and needed to catch the ferry by 830 am. We ended up not eating until around 1pm because of the late room service. (Btw the manager didnt even offer to comp the breakfast as a courtesy for the lateness) By the time we got to fajardo to catch the ferry we had to wait in line right away or we were told we ran the chance of not getting a seat so no food for hours! Service was horrible. No smiles. Felt like a motel!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad insulation for rooms. Bad food taste

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Very bad insulation for rooms. Bad food taste..........
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

The Struggle Between a 4 Star or 5 Star.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The location, the view of the Rain Forest Mountain is stunning.
Cons: Take the Root & Bone Restaurant, push the tables back and make it a dance floor.
Location: El Yunque National Forest, the waterfalls are really nice.
I struggled between this being a 5 star or a 4 star review and it comes down to my own not knowing what we wanted on our trip to Puerto Rico. First the Positive. The Wyndham is an absolute beautiful hotel with either a view of the Rain Forest Mountains or the Ocean. We preferred the Rain Forest Side. We had a really nice modern room, comfortable bed. Room Service was on point. What chose this Hotel because of the seclusion. Other reviews of Hotels in San Juan talked about the area being too touristy and overcrowded. What my wife and I did not take in to consideration is by choosing seclusion, any type of night life that you might enjoy i.e. dancing you are cutoff from. That is unless you want to take a taxi back to San Juan which is about $80 one way and or take a rental car and you are driving on roads you are unfamiliar with at night. When you inquire the Hotel Staff about it, they will very quietly let you know that they feel the same way and that other people inquire about the same thing but they are not really allowed to talk about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel is close to the beach and contains rooms for ocean view and forest view. Staffs here are really nice. In addition, there are some swimming pools and a golf course inside the the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great resort with very nice amenities and beach

Posted Mar 26, 2017
With the exception of check-in, our brief stay was great. Not sure why check in was the ordeal it was! I was one of 3 in our group who had prepurchased our rooms on a travel site. I was the only one who upgraded to ocean view. One friend checked in right before me and had not upgraded, but got an ocean view room. I was next to check in and upon arrival to my room, realized I was given pool view. I went back down to desk and asked for ocean view. I was given keys and was asked to view multiple rooms to see if they were acceptable. They weren't. I don't know how the desk doesn't know which are ocean view. 4th time was a charm and I got ocean view, but not the king bed, but all was well after that. The rest of the stay was great. Food and drinks were a bit pricey, but worth it to stay on the resort. I would stay there again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florids

Beautiful Resort

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My wife and I had an amazing experience at this Wyndham property! Comfortable and spacious room...friendly professional staff! She and I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Amazing hotel!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We loved this hotel, away from the busy city and nestled in the rainforest. Great beach! And friendly staff. Can't wait to come back! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful veiw, nice hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
My stay at Wyndham was pretty good overall. However I was upset at the fact that they closed the pools at 10pm, even when it rained all day and didn't stop until 9pm. I think for the money we pay they should extend the jacuzzi's and pools if their is bad weather considering they do not have indoor pools or juiccuzi'a. Also, they don't have any heat, even though puerto rico is an island, the hotel was very cold and especially cold after getting out of the pools and coming in to change. I think they should offer heat for the rooms. Other than that it was a beautiful hotel. The good is very expensive, your BEST bet if your staying here is to rent a car and drive to nearby places to eat. They have everything KFC and burger King nearby as well as a strip of places that are great and safe to eat in. I think the wyndham should offer shuttles to go to cheaper places nearby to eat because my boyfriend and I spent at least 50 dollars for just one meal at the wyndham, but we found places nearby that we ate at for 12-20 dollars for the two or us. Overall this is a good place to stay. If you stay here you have the rainforest, horseback riding, and Atv's nearby. The number one thing I'm going to tell you is RENT A CAR to make your trip worth it!!