Ratings based on 585 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

wrongly advertised hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The entire property is in disrepair. The staff tries hard; however, so much is wrong. The doors of my balcony cabinets are missing and hanging down. Kitchen sink is rusted and damaged. Cable wire for TV comes in a window. So window cannot be completely shut. Refrigerator is 20-25 years old, but works. Bed room door does not completely shut. No fact towels included in bathrooms. One has to request them and requires a tip. I'm in the most expensive room that have to offer - report as Newley Renavated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach. But that's about it.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice staff, close to the beach. Not very clean, dilapidated facilities, hardly worth the money you save.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Appalling Hotel. Truly, the worst.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Close to the sea; cheap
Cons: Clean the property, finish the construction and trim (there are clearly unfinished rooms that we occupied), manage the random people roaming the halls
Location: This is a prime location right on the beach in the Zona Romantica...so much to do within walking distance.
Let's start with something positive: Blue Chairs Hotel is directly across from the beach, so you can literally leave your room and be on the sand within a minute. And it's cheap. So there's that... Beyond its fortunate location and pricing ("Cheaper than WalMart!"), there is little to recommend here. This hotel is so incredibly awful, we found ourselves constantly laughing as we discovered new horrors...and the laughter is what kept us from crying. It would be difficult to chronicle all of the issues we discovered over the course of the week, but here are a few of the highlights: > the halls and public spaces of the hotel are absolutely filthy...garbage everywhere, soiled linens...there was no terrace or space in the facility that invited a guest to linger and relax, and there were broken and heavily soiled furniture strewn about. > two of the four rooms we occupied during the week did not have towels or toilet paper, and none were delivered to the room. They "ran out" of towels mid week and inexplicably could not provide additional towels. > The noise, oh the noise...an adjacent property had an all out rave until the wee hours of the morning for a few of the days, which meant virtually no sleep for us. The onsite club - which we knew was right outside our room - usually gave up by 11pm, which was nice. > None of the rooms are completely finished - many of the key elements are there, but none are fully formed. Missing door trim, broken locks, nonoperable toilets...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Convenient and reasonably priced

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pleasant and amenable staff. So convenient to the beach. Enjoy the food and beverage service while sunning and bathing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Comically horrible

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location, right on the beach
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to beach and walking to the romantic zone.
Where to start? Just don't stay here. Sewer smell everywhere, elevators that felt like death traps, dirt and unfinished construction throughout, no blow dryers, no bed comforters, no towels! We thought that at least we were supporting the gay community, but then found its not even gay owned. Expedia- you have a good reputation, so please take this hotel off your lists!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Ontario Canada

Blue Chairs is right on the beach.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: read above. I actually loved staying there. I stayed there before it was The Blue Chairs. It has changed for the better.
Cons: They just have to finish certain projects. They did wind up putting new locks on all the upper new rooms.
Location: everything is very close by.Entertainment on the Roof Top Bar. No noise or dance music after 8:30/(pm. I actually loved it. The staff on the front de
i was leary about this hotel, but they upgraded me to a huge new 2 bedroom suite. I moved to a1bedroom on the top floor the next day as the locks weren't at all secure in the first condo. All in all i think they just have to finish with minor details & they'll find they'll get better reviews.Id definitely stay there again. I found the main maid a bit lazy, but i tipped her anyway. They won't clean your room i guess, if you don't tip. lol. I could tell when she was off as the other maid was very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Hotel was in a good location but after being to Puerto Vallarta I would stay at a different hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, nice view.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Oceanfront room had nice view. Very sparse room, didn't feel it was worth the cost (even at 80). Cleanliness could use some work, there was a (unopened at least!) condom left laying on the bedside shelf...
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The place is a dump! Great thing its a Gay Hotel but i dont know why its in such disrepair....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Close to beach but that's it.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great location. Took two days to get pillows. No spread on bed. Started with two towels, then one, last two days had to go to desk to request towels. One of two AC units worked. Musty smell all the time. Sewer smell some time. But great location. I extended my stay but moved to a different hotel.