Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pool smells bad, pool stairs are green and also the top parts of the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buda

Food was Not very good

Posted Jul 30, 2016
GREAT STAFF CLEAN ROOM FOOD WAS JUST TERRIBLE Besides that everything was fine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Average hotel for good price

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, view, lots of chairs and umbrellas, many different drinks
Cons: Better rain prep, fix AC in all rooms, faster room service, more food variety, more meats
Location: Boardwalk is walking distance down the street if you don't mind walking through a bunch of stores where they try to get you to come in
Pros: Everyone we encountered on staff was incredibly nice and helpful, timeshare sales pitch was minimal and not aggressive (was worse at the airport and on the streets), room was clean, lots of chairs all with umbrellas both on the beach and at the pool, staff was always there with a new drink when ours were empty (a nice tip helps you there) Cons: Food was average, menus were fluffed up a bit to seem like more than what was offered, there are really only 2 restaurants and a beach grill with burgers and hot dogs, our AC didn't work properly (was turned down by the staff when requested but never truly got cold), nobody stops sales people from bothering you at the adults only deck (and on our last day they let children up there), they didn't seem prepared for heavy rains at the Frutas y Floras restaurant, absolutely no soundproofing in room (expect to hear hall noises and shows at night) We didn't have super high expectations given the low price we paid, so the experience was about as expected and not actually bad. The views were beautiful and the everything was clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Angeles, WA

Nice Hotel...food was not great tho

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We spent a very nice week here in late July. Was a very nice hotel. Nice staff. The food in the Buffett was not great, but the Sunset restaurant each evening was much better. Great location close to the Malecon. Overall it was a good, relaxing atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Our stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
It seemed that hotel staff didn't care about our room temperature, it was so warm, I placed 3 requests to simply adjust the thermostat, because you're not allowed to do so,and they never did in 5 days that we were there, it was very disappointed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This was a nice hotel and my kids needs were met. We would for sure return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Service, Great Views, GREAT VACATION!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
I'd like to point out that I NEVER write reviews, but our recent trip here merits a review. We (party of 6) stayed at Buena Aventura last week and were floored by how amazing it was. We were right by the beach (some rocks in the water) but we mostly stayed in the pool. The all inclusive did not disappoint; the food and service were amazing, there was something for everyone. The mini bar was always stocked, drinks were always available, and everyone was willing and ready to help you with what you needed. There is a tour representative at the resort that we purchased 3 "adventures" from and he was so helpful and accommodating (ps. I don't recommend going snorkeling after May... JELLYFISH). Also, it was a 5 minute walk to the boardwalk and to all the site seeing locations. To sum it up, we had an incredible time and can not wait to return. Buena Aventura staff were a huge part of that, and if you're not staying here you're missing out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

first time

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The location and the staff.
We had a real good time.The staff was very nice.The only negative was the pressure sales pitch as soon as we arrived.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane WA

May trip

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel is really clean there is access to the beach and the food is really good. The staff knows English pretty well.
Cons: They should have maps of the hotel printed not just on TV. And have a menu of non alcoholic drinks.
Location: The hotel is close to los arcos there are lost of stores around the hotel and a food market that sells fresh fruits and vegetables.
This was our first time in Puerto Vallarta our friends have suggested the place and said it was great but our family didnt agree with them. The town is clean the roads are old and the sand is not real. The weather was really nice but there is not much to do in the town you ether have to buy excursions or lay on the beach the whole day. There is not much exploring you can do in town. There are couple markets and malls that are worth going to but they mostly sell souvenirs. When you travel to Mexico never forget to bargain with people they are willing to drop the price if you are willing to ask. And dont buy excursions in your hotel go to the market and bargain for the price. Know the price of the excursions before you bargain so you dont buy it for more than it is worth. The botanical garden is a good one to visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon Suite

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The proximity to downtown, the water bottles, sodas and adult beverages that were provided in the minibar daily, the pool area, the beach access.
Cons: The food was ok and often not authentic. The dinner by the pool on our last night there was simply amazing. My compliments to the chef!
Fantastic view from the honeymoon suite which included a Jacuzzi tub which was really nice. We were upgraded from a deluxe ocean view room which was greatly appreciated. The first night there was in the "other" room which was fine. The view wasn't great but you could see the ocean. There was a soccer tournament happening which meant TONS of kids. The first night's sleep was interrupted several times by screaming kids and loud parents...really rough first night but the following nights in the honeymoon suite were great.