Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from WA

Great value and beautiful setting but noisy!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The location is great! All inclusive price can't be beat! The staff were all great.
Cons: A designated adults only pool would be nice.
Location: Close to the malecon. The beach front location of this hotel is wonderful.
This hotel is a great value And family friendly. If you are a couple seeking quiet and relaxation it may not be the best place for you. It would be nice to have one pool designated as an adult only pool. Lots of screaming kids with floaties and water guns in the pools so really not able to fully relax by the pool. Our room was on the first floor so we had a lot of noise late at night from people coming in for the night and from the entertainment by the pool. And housekeeping starts early in the morning so don't sleep in. The room had a mold smell but we left the bathroom fan on most of the time and it helped a bit. It is a nice place and good value for your money. We may not go back as a couple but if we bring our family we would choose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach. Super relaxing.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Bathroom could us some paint, but otherwise the room was excellent. The staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

New Year's Vacation

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Cons: The rooms are a bit dated but still comfortable and clean.
The location of the Buenaventura is perfect - close to the malecon and the public sports facility. The staff are amazing - especially Ricardo and Angel in the restaurant!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver. Bc

Central location on the Beach

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: the rooms are great, the maids and Bell boys great, that's all the good things I can say!
Cons: Stop serving lukewarm or cold food Get rid if their time share selling of rooms
Location: lots to do, its in Centre of PV
I would NOT stay here ever again. After 39 years of travelling Mexico, this was our worst experience. Food cold or lukewarm, but waiters friendly and try. Too many incidents here to cause our negative review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to town

Posted Jan 2, 2017
F&B staff was mostly pretty good but the guest service staff was weak. Even though grats are supposed to be included, they didn't really want to help. Concierge staff was useless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Terrible

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel room had a terrible musty smell. The bed was uncomfortable. The Bell Staff, Maintenance Staff, and the Wait Staff were excellent. The front desk and the towel staff were awful. Before i could check out, I had to prove that I paid Expedia the full amount for the stay (I was basically accused of stealing). Housekeeping cleaned the room between 4-6 everyday until check out, then they harassed me three times until I checked out (twice by knocking on my door and once by calling my phone). I checked out two hours before the mandatory check out time. I can't imagine how much more aggressive the housekeeping staff is the closer you get to check out time. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Puerto Vallarta is a nice place

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Get the mold out of the rooms and get a better variety of food.
Location: Shopping, parasailing, site seeing, kayaking.
The hotel is a smaller all inclusive. It only has two restaurants and two bars. It doesn't have a swim up bar at the pool which didn't matter to us. It looks clean and the workers are constantly cleaning the lobby and the area around the pool. The food is pretty much the same from meal to meal, day to day with a few variations. Overall I would give the food a 4 out of 10. As soon as I stepped out of the lobby area into the area where the rooms are located I could smell mold. In our room I could smell it even more. I would have asked to be moved but, as we went by another room with the door open that was being cleaned, I could smell it even stronger. We did find mold on the floor and on the tops of the drapes. On the plus side, it is close to town. So, if you like to shop and see some historic areas, it's within walking distance. If you want to para sail, just walk out on the beach behind the hotel when you see the para sail chutes laying there. If you decide to do it, it was $45,00 from one company and $25.00 (or 500 pesos) from another. If you want the cheaper price, ask for Big Al. My wife para sailed and loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Beautiful location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We enjoyed each day to the fullest. Even took an hour trip to help feed children. Taxi waited for us for an hour & then brought us back to BV. We were accommodated in every way. Food was exceptional. We will come back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel right on the beach and great food!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Everything was really great and rice was very reasonable!
Cons: More mexican food and less amaerican but it was really good!
Location: Close to downtown and great beach!
Loved it will go again!! Can't say enough good things about this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Sj

Great food, excellent staff!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Thank you to Christopher for getting us a room in the 4th floor with a balcony! Excellent location, food, and staff!