Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Mexican hospitality

Posted Apr 28, 2016
My wife and I expected a king size bed, as booked, but that was not meant to be, even after telling them we were celebrating our anniversary. Their position: 'show us confirmation'. Everything was else fine. We had a great time. We really decided not to let that keep us from having a good time. The food was above average. The rest of the employees were awesome, they made up for, what I consider a lousy reception. I get they might not have had our preferred bed, but they should have at least followed up a day, or two later. They never did. I had to come down three times, and they just kept telling me come back tomorrow, between 12 and 1, as if that were all I had to do. Again, all else was very nice. The location is optimum for Tours, walks on the beach, and local exploring. Oh, make sure you turn down the timeshare thing quick, and they will leave you alone. If you're amiable, good luck to you. Would I stay here again? No, but only because I couldn't have the bed I wanted. Best thing about our stay: All the people working there are so friendly, and eager to help, it makes me proud to be Mexican. Saludos a todos los empleados de Canto Del Sol.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A great stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: The location.
Location: Lots of shops near by and the old city.
The hotel was extremely beautiful, the pools, to the rest rooms were vey clean. Staff went out of their was to be helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

This hotel was great!! We would highly recommend!!

Posted Mar 29, 2016
The hotel was very nice. We liked how small the resort is-was easy to get around. The staff was very accommodating and friendly! The food was good, lots of variety! We cannot wait to go back to the Canto Del Sol Plaza!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British columbia

Nice hotel, on the beach. Lovely, heated pool.

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Pool, service, food, fabulous chamber maid.
Cons: Put the foamed on beds before people ask. Ie. On all beds. Greatly improved comfort.
Location: Close shopping.
Fabulous service, a la carte restaurants good. Close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2016
disappointing service from the hotel staff, subpar food and general cleanliness
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Best resort ever

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Hotel provided everything I could ask for. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location was insane. Overall very happy with my experience and their services.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: The concierge took care of everything for us! From our dinner reservations to the excursions we booked!
Cons: The rooms could use a little updating!
Location: The hotel is 20 min walking or a cheap cab ride away from the marina and downtown! Perfectly located in the middle of the two!
We celebrated our 3rd year anniversary here and absolutely loved it! The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious! The hotel had a great location, only twenty min walking to downtown and the marina! The sunset at the hotel was beautiful too! If you want an ocean view book it in advanced! And I would We would definitely recommend to friends and family!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: I like the pool area and buffet.
Cons: Room cleanliness.
hotel is small but has everything you need. It's close to a lot of the shops. The rooms need a lot of updating but overall you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB. Canada

Great Hotel by the Beacg

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: The staff!!
Cons: The elevators could be a bit bigger.
Location: The location in great, the beach, ocean a few steps away. It is also handy to have little shops when walking out the front door.
It was a great stay, we had a bit of crazy weather but that is only in mother nature's hands. There was some construction going on but that never interfered with our experience. This is our second stay at this location and would have no problem staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Would come back for another stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The ease of access to beach and neighboring shops. Short $3 taxi ride to downtown or the marina. Large variety of food options.
Cons: Better reservation management. We were told we could not get into the Italian restaurant only to see there were 5 tables total seated.
Location: See above. Close to downtown and marina. Walking distance to several small specialty shops within a few blocks.
Great service with very helpful staff. Very good dining options - only negative is that you have to book prior in the day for reservations in the restaurants. We were given a wrong room at check in but that was corrected without much hassle.