Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good value

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I have been to the Canto 25 - 30 times since 1980 and have never had a bad experience. We had a 25-year time share that finally ended a few years ago. I have always liked it because I play a lot of tennis. Their tennis facilities are good but not great. They removed two of the clay courts to add a new pool and water park. Visibility on the hard courts (4) is poor unless you pay to have lights. The tennis staff is friendly and helpful. You can also get inexpensive and wonderful massages there very cheaply. Of course, you can go across the street from the hotel and find them cheaper. The pool area was crowded last week. Somewhat surprisingly, there seemed to be a small percentage of guests from the US. Most were from Canada. I think the price level is very appealing to those who may be staying for a couple of weeks. The food was ok. They have a great salad bar but the pasta bar was very repetitive. The rooms were in good shape but they were working on the exterior, as always. In general, if you are cost-conscious, the Canto is great. If you are looking for some luxury, then this may not suit you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

A bit of paradise even in January!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The architecture, the pool, the location, the safety, the friendly staff, the special dinners near the ocean, the proximity to the ocean and beach.
Cons: The shows were fun, but a night of music and dancing for the guests would be nice after dinner.
Location: Right on the warm ocean, long white sand beaches, perfect sunsets, walking distance to the Malecon and its artwork, souvenirs and beautiful cathedral.
Our stay at Canto Del Sol was just what my husband and I needed! We felt pampered for the entire week. The staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and kind. Our room was neat as a pin and very comfortable. The ocean surf woke us each morning. The food was varied and tasty. The drinks were wonderful, a special thanks to Diego for the Spanish Coffee! The pool was perfect-- warm, spacious, with lots of room for peaceful swimming and shallow areas for tanning and relaxing. Coconut trees and beautiful flowers and shrubs add to the ambience. This hotel has thought of everything: cooking classes, fun entertainment, even paperback books to be borrowed along with the crisp clean blue pool towels. Our vacation here was one of the best ever--and we've been married 32 years!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Come for the breakfast juice, stay for the crop

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Their restaurant food- Italian was the best for sure. Also their brekky juice, next level
Cons: The breakfast each day was like slop. Could be improved
Location: Boca De Tomatlan, El Eden
Probably one of the best resorts I have stayed at in Mexico (in reference to Cabo, and Cancun). Their drinks were great, restaurant food was great, hotel was kept in a nice condition and our fellow travelers were top people! When ordering drinks, always ask for brand name (i.e Smirnoff, Jim Beam etc). Their brekky juice was seriously out of this world! Try them all. Breakfast food was the only let down. Try to order omelets. They were great. Enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Great hotel! Not the "ritz" but very good amenities and the staff was AMAZING! Food was "good", could use more healthy options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, Or

It is a smaller hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Great little place right on the beach. Lots of families, singles and couples. A good mix. The staff were nothing but friendly, accommodating and fun. We did the all inclusive and the surf and turf restaurant was amazing as was the Italian. The Buffett was typical for all inclusive and was decent. There was a snack bar and waiters all over by the pool to bring you snacks and drinks. The room service at midnight to the early am was just soda and sandwiches but it was better than nothing. We had a ton of fun and would go back. It's a cheap 40 peso cab ride downtown to the Malecon. Puerto Vallarta is very beautiful and safe. The room was just fine for what we needed it for which was sleeping and getting ready. For the price, location and our experience I would highly recommend this hotel unless you want a large hotel with lots of pools. There were many families vacationing from local states in Mexico, but we liked that diversity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time in Puerto Vallarta!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Everything was great - many food choices, clean, great staff, location good! Two complaints are WiFi was very spotty and difficult - had to keep rebooting!! The shows were not that great. Dancers kept doing the same thing! Great costumes though! The band on Christmas night was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Cons: Tour guide is good, but could be better if he can provide more information about tour package and deals. ex. buy two get third free. etc.
Location: go around shopping mall at Plaza Galerias and Plaza Caracol.
one of the best vacation hotel I have been. food is great, service is excellent, daily evening show is excellent. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, close to beach, clean, affordable, good food
Cons: Drinks are a little watered down, but I suppose that's smart if you're going to be drinking ALL day long!
Location: We walked through the city to the Malecon which took about 30 minutes.
We enjoyed our room, staff was welcoming and we felt like they went above and beyond to get what we needed even in the buffet!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tracey

Never again will I stay in a 3star hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The bed was like concrete and the daily buffet food was awful!!!!!!!! Greasy, cold tasteless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian E.

Family Trip

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on CheapTickets
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was always excellent.