Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, close to beach, clean, affordable, good food
Cons: Drinks are a little watered down, but I suppose that's smart if you're going to be drinking ALL day long!
Location: We walked through the city to the Malecon which took about 30 minutes.
We enjoyed our room, staff was welcoming and we felt like they went above and beyond to get what we needed even in the buffet!
2 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Tracey

Never again will I stay in a 3star hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The bed was like concrete and the daily buffet food was awful!!!!!!!! Greasy, cold tasteless
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Pretty resort

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The pool is massive, even small bedroom had a little balcony
Cons: The drinks seemed a little watered down. There were lots of kids which made the pool a little noisy and not as peaceful, but should've expected that
Location: Free kayaking was awesome! and then we went two minutes down the beach to jet ski
Relaxing vacation, pretty good buffet restaurant and the 3 other restaurants had a good variety to pick from
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel with plenty of activity

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Good location from downtown - not too close to be noisy, but close enough to walk to. Also the food was vey tasty!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Just the right distance from city life. Plenty of tours available. Recommend the 'City Tour' and 'Rythms of the Night'!
It was a great, mid-quality place to stay. We were comfortable in our room, the food was fabulous, and there was enough to do no matter what you felt like doing.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton,ab

Very nice hotel, good location, enjoyed everything

Posted Mar 13, 2015
For our first time would recommend this resort good location, great place, will be back
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

No complaints

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Had a nice time there.staff very friendly and helpful good food .drinks ok and plentiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Interesting 3 star?

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The Hotel Staff, pool and bars were very good.
Cons: This hotel needs to have an overhaul to bring it up to date.
Location: The hotel is a short taxi ride from down town Puerto Vallarta, where you can enjoy the sites, visit old buildings, go to different islands etc.,
The Hotel is in desperate need to an face lift. We were put into a very old room that was horrific for the first night, however, the staff were kind enough to move us the next day to a much better room. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are good and do all they can to make sure that your stay is a good one. The food is mediocre but there is plenty and pool is very nice.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont

Nice accommodating hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Had a very nice warm pool with swim up bar. Food was really great, food available during afternoon and special occasions.Hotel staff was very accommod
Cons: The patio by the ocean in the evening always had smokers by it and no room to sit and watch the ocean at night
Location: Was close to the downtown. Could get there easily shopping and night out on the town where is easy to get to. Nice location beach was a little rocky.
We had our family vacation there 10 days of beautiful weather great accommodations good food. Everything was great tell staff took care of any questions or problems that we had,and answers to any questions that we had. Would go back again very friendly and busy hotel a lot of people to get acquainted with and talk to
4 out of 5
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Solo and regular senior traveller to P.V.

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
As a regular traveller to P.V. to visit friends I find Canto Del sol very convenient.It's within walking distance to town or the bus stops just round the corner.The hotel itself is very clean, rooms cleaned daily by very pleasant staff.The food could be better.The breakfast is probably the best meal of the day and cannot be faulted.There are 3 special restaurants where you make a reservation in advance and these 3 provide very nicely presented good food!The evening shows are good but if you go in the low season like I did once, then they were pretty poor.All in all I find the Canto Del Sol a hotel that I would return to and one that I would recommend to anyone.You are very well looked after there !
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spruce Grove Alberta

It is a nice resort.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Our second day there my husband didn't see a step and fell and hurt himself bad. No compensation as we had to cancel events that were planned. Disappointing.