Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent staff workers

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Great locatin above old town. 124steps to reception so must climb straight up to rooms so must be able to climb stairs daily up and down to beach, old town... great views from balconies
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

What a letdown

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Cons: Service
After asking 5 locals about the location of the hotel, including a taxi driver, I finally found a shopkeeper who pointed out the way. The street ended with a 4 flight staircase which connected to a dead end street, 2 more blocks and a turn to a cul de sac brought the hotel into view. The location once found was fine; the service was not. Two days of power interruptions and two day without water dampen my enthusiasm. Management was absent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value hotel with pleasant staff

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Rooms have great views over the Bay. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Noise from other guests in the corridor outside my room was a tad annoying. I had earplugs which meant it wasn't much of an issue. Easy for the hotel to rectify by bricking up a rather substantial albeit designed vent from the room to the corridor. All in all though an enjoyable and clean place to stay with great views. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kalispell, MT.

stairs with a view

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Patios and pools
Cons: Didn't notice anything needing improvement unless they want to increase star rating.
Location: Close everything that central of town has to offer
Very welcoming staff. Plenty of stairs to keep you fit and amazing vi3ews. Close to romantic zone. You do have to hike the hill and stairs to get back in your room, this was not a problem for me at 53 and my son. Nice place to hang out for part of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from \Somers, MT.

awesome views

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: creativity
Cons: rooms are a little dated. but still O.K.
Location: Close to all the Puerto Vallarta sites and do's
Mexican style with many patios to sit and relax or hang out by one of the two pools. You must be able to climb stairs and walk up the hill from the town, which isn't too far, 5 minutes. we enjoyed it and used the kitchen in the mornings for breakfast and snacks in the afternoon. best hotel around for the money. but remember stairs plenty of them. we will return again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Old broken down hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The pool is very nice. Very shallow for beginning swimmers
We were at casa anita for 4 nights/5 days. After the first night, I have a list of complains which included no hot water, no crib, ac broke during the night and no wifi. They got the first 3 fixed and wifi was only working the last 2 days. We had other family members in hotel also and they have ac and hot water issues also. The staff is friendly and tries to be helpful, but the place just seems to require a lot of maintenance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The bungalow idea
Cons: It need some updating all around
Location: Is close to downtown al
Hotel is old and also there is lots some rooms are nice but other ones need some work, our experience wasn't good , ac unit quit and almos melt down, receive for 3 nights stayed one cause no a/c and no parking,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

A horrible choice

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: balcony view
Cons: just about everything, including the defects mentioned above.
Location: Everything is a five minute walk down the hill to the malecon.
There were many things wrong with the property. The room had a faulty big screen Tv that the the staff eventually swapped out for a cheap portable. The Internet only worked in the room 20 percent of the time over four days. The staff said since the internet was 'free' it was a bonus whenever it worked, as opposed to a utility like water or electricity that guests have a reasonable expectation of receiving as part of their room payment. On Sunday morning, the hotel shut off the electricity for four hours to do maintenance, which meant no way to cook using microwave or appliances in suite. And when it rained on Sunday afternoon and throughout the night, the roof of our room leaked profusely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Friendly hotel but be aware of a few things.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Close to downtown and the beach. The staff were very nice.
Location: A few blocks from beach and central part of town. Easy to catch a bus or cab.
This is a very friendly, clean boutique style hotel. Close to Los Muertos beach and downtown area. The suites all have full kitchens. It's a bit noisy being on a main drag but we got used to it. We had a nice veranda with decent patio furniture. This hotel is not a good choice if you have mobility issues. There are many steps leading to all of the suites and also leading to the office (it's on the 3rd floor). Being a typical Mexican hotel, there are handrails missing where we would expect them in Canada. Although we enjoyed our stay there I'm not sure if I would go back. Our room felt "tired" and needed a lift...just little things like a new shower curtain and small repairs go a long way. There were tiles chipping off in the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
My stay at Casa Anita was fantastic, I stayed in 2 different rooms during my stay and while both very different they were clean and had everything you'd need (especially impressed with all the pots and pans). As other reviews have noted there are a lot of steps which is true but I found it quirky and funny, if this would be an issue for you; this is not the place to stay. Additionally Casa Anita is located just off a fairly busy road again if it's not car noise you'll have street/music or something else going on in PV so it wasn't a bother. I found the stairs down to the beach and being just off all the action nice and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and did a fantastic job with housekeeping.