Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

quiet, off the path

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great staff, friendly . Restaurant was a big disappointment. Tried it several times, and never was worth repeating
Cons: Food !!
Location: Difficult hill to climb, back street was a bit dirty. Best to take a taxi!
If you are looking for some privacy, quiet time, 5 min taxi ride to beach. This is fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good place for non-Spanish-speaking gay men but..

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Nice, quiet location. Very secure. Nice décor. Good restaurant, but it doesn't open for breakfast until 8:30 and that's IF the chef shows up.
Cons: A cocktail hour, to meet other guests, which was hard to do. Earlier breakfast hours, a puctual chef, a more accessible concierge who returns calls.
Location: Plenty to do at the bottom of the hill, about a 10-minute walk.
...it's a bit of a hike down into the Zona Romántica and QUITE a hike back up the hill to the Casa Cúpula. (In fairness, a cab up the hill costs about $US2.5o, tip optional.) They have a great gym & 2 tiny pools, one "clothing optional." We felt a bit isolated. Not just because of the "hike" but because the Casa is really 3 houses truncated and not well connected to each other, with lots of stairs to climb. (Not for the the physically challenged.) And no central lobby or area for socialization, except around the "clothing optional" pool, which required lots of stairs to access. The biggest problem for us, besides the "hike" was the room itself. Electrical outlets were old (mostly not 3-prong) and far-between. There was NO PLACE to put our suitcases except on the floor and no chest of drawers in which to put our clothes. There was not a single chair in the whole room, nor any surfaces to write on, place a laptop or lay out a book or a map. There was a pedestal with a lamp on it, on each side of the bed, but virtually no surface area for anything else. The bathroom was tiny with old plumbing. The ONLY ventilation came from the door to the room, which must be left open if you want any fresh air, which we did. The place has excellent security. A/C and a ceiling fan partially addressed this problem. Bottom line: We felt cramped and isolated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Best Hotel In Puerto Vallarta!!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
My third stay at Casa Cupula and always hate to leave. Special shout out to Juan, Christian, and Rueben these guys will do whatever needed to make your stay absolute heaven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hollywood

Incredible service!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located. Just a short walk down the hill to the beach. The restaurant is excellent, the shrimp tacos were my favorite! But most importantly the staff is the BEST!!! Special compliments to Christian, Ruben, and Juan...they made the stay absolutely unforgettable and were so helpful with anything we needed and were so pleasant and fun to talk to! The rest of the staff was incredible as well and so attentive! I will definitely come back and have already referred a few people.
5 out of 5
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by J Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by DONALD from DALLAS

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
THIS IS MY SECOND TIME TO CASA CUPULA AND I REALLY ENJOYED MYSELF
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Staff are amazing.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel is beautiful, although the hill can be a challenge. Staff go out of their way to do what ever it takes to take care of all of your requests. Very large clean suites. I stayed in the LOVE suite and it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A wonderful stay

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was very kind and friendly!
Location: The beach is a short walk all other activities are a short cab ride away. My friends did zip-line and hotel took care of all details.
The best part of Casa Cupula was the staff. That is not to say the hotel is not beautiful because it is. The rooms are all beautiful and all have great views. I stayed with 3 friends and each of their rooms were just as beautiful as mine. The restaurant has wonderful food and durning the day they serve at the pool. The diner menu is excellent. The owner is a friend man and talks to everyone and wants to know about your stay. During diner he will come up to your table and inquire about the food. Over the past 15 years I have stayed at other hotels and this was my first time at Casa Cupula but I will be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel and Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and ocean and mountain views
Location: It was a hike ill but it was close to downtown
The hotel was located on the hill and had wonderful ocean and mountain views. The staff and concierge were excellent and were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable.