Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

A Bit of a Disappointment

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Room was good size
Cons: internet available in the rooms. Solve odor problems
Location: Location south of town. Not safe to walk on busy narrow road so taxis are needed to go anywhere
We were disappointed with the Hotel. We were staying in a king suite which was good sized but very dimly illuminated. The room was generally shabby and an off sewage type odor persisted in the building. The Expedia reservation stated "free wi fi wireless", however wireless internet (or wired ) service was not available in the rooms. Therefore, one had to go to the lobby or restaurant to access any internet. Not good for a stay in Mexico!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
This hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modest, quiet. get-away resort on beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: location...great warm staff...very good food choices...
Cons: As any hotel ages..constant up keep. foul fumes were occasionally noticeable in lobby area of south tower..
Location: Great location ..on the water...near old town ...but out and away from hustle and bustle..
We went for the first time to this resort in March......and although it wasn't perfect..for me and my wife is was just great...not many kids ..mostly adults..and had everything we needed...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Great hotel especially the enclosed beach area great for children however it does get deep rather quickly, also bring some wet shoes the sand is rocky. The large pool is not heated, we went to check out the smaller pool bc it was heated but it was extremely dirty full of drunk adults and children... I did overhear a woman say she urinated twice :| gross. There are two buildings with a lobby in only one and I didn't like the fat that you had to go to the other building just to get towels for the pool and then back to return them. Also would've been nice if they gave you the tokens for the wifi password at check in before you go to your room, no they won't give it to you over the phone. Liked that they have a small continence store in the lobby. Room service for lunch and breakfast were good, the people that deliver it to your room could be more pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

Very nice

Posted Mar 21, 2016
We had a room on the renovated 8th floor. Very comfortable and clean. Nice and quiet, just the ocean sounds:) food was good, spa was great, and service was very attentive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Ocean front view

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Ocean front views
Cons: Did not like the pressure to listen to a 90 minute talk about buying a membership, took 3 hours of our time, and we could NOT apply towards our bill.
Location: Z line, old downtown, beaches
It was a pleasant experience. I wouldn't buy the breakfast package, as you can bring your own food in and go to nearby restaurants. Elevators were too slow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Mentioned that above.
Cons: Fix the minor maintenance issues.......... caulking in the shower, rubber around the sliding glass door, etc.
Great location and nice view of the ocean and mountains. Very accessible public transportation and easy to travel the 5miles or so to downtown Vallarta. The hotel staff were all outstanding!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Crowded and a little worn

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Lagoon
Cons: Better maintenance.
Location: Beautiful location right on the ocean. Must take the bus or a taxi to go to any offsite restaurants. (check google maps)
We have stayed at this resort twice before many years ago. It has become worn. They did not have our correct reservation at check in time and placed us in a large, but poorly maintained room in the S tower for two nights. (had to prop the bedroom door closed with furniture because it was missing a door knob latch, bathroom had a broken vent window. Road noise and hotel mechanical noise is annoying) We were able to move to an updated room on the 8th floor in the N Tower near the other couple we were traveling with for the final nights. The main pool area gets very crowded and people stake out the pool lounges with towels during the morning. There were several days that we could not get a lounge. We did enjoy the nice lagoon with small beach when the tide allowed and did some snorkeling to see small fish. However, we had to drip dry because they had run out of towels. This is an OK resort, but I think we will not stay there again. Read all the reviews and decide if it is right for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Costa Sur isn't ultra fancy, but is located on the ocean, has 2 pools, poolside restaurants, and is a quick bus ride into town. Pleasant atmosphere. Rooms have beautiful ocean view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Like I said, beautiful scenery, quiet atmosphere, convenient bus across the road.
Cons: No timeshare pitch. More comfortable seating in the rooms.
It was a very lovely stay. Everyone was so nice = room maintenane, waiters, bartenders were just great. Juan is a particularly fun but efficient bartender at the Bare Foot Bar. However, being hit up to participate in a 90 minute time share presentation was quite annoying. After we told the young women we absolutely weren't interested, she continued to call our room. When I finally barked at her and told her, no we were not interested, she finally left us alone. Then the rest of the stay was great. Definitely, we would return. Beautiful scenery, quiet atmosphere, bus to town across the road was very convenient, as well as quite an adventure.