Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great for kids

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Kid friendly, lovely beach, small enough to navigate with little ones, clean rooms
Cons: There wasn't much information provided in the rooms. Music was weird and too loud. Food was blah. WAY too much smoking, of both cigarettes and pot.
Location: Malecon, of course. Very close to the mall and movies in case of extended rainy weather. Easy access from the airport.
We spent six days with our kids, ages 4 and 6. We wouldn't have chosen this hotel to visit without our kids, and recommend that if you aren't traveling with kids this is probably not the hotel for you! Kids are EVERYWHERE! The waterpark was the biggest draw for us, and the kids had a great time. In retrospect, they had just as much fun just jumping into the regular pool too, but it was nice to be able to sit down while the kids played. The sitting area near the waterpark is not very comfortable and there are not enough tables for all the parents. The music there is way too loud and annoying -- the kids are not paying attention to the music while they're playing in the waterpark, so I'm not really sure what the point of it is. There is occasionally a staff member offering drinks while you watch your kids. We didn't use the kids club, so can't really comment on that, but it didn't look very engaging. Beach is lovely. Don't expect to swim in it, since it's PV, but there's lots of room for sand castles and the vendors don't hassle you much. We had a regular room, not the family option, and it's pretty small with two adults and two kids. The bathroom is very weird and doesn't afford much privacy, but everything worked well enough (unless you like hot showers and water pressure). Food was not great in the buffet. wWe didn't try the a la cartes but heard they were good. Kids always found something to eat in the small section devoted to them. THERE WAS NO GUACAMOLE!! EVER!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Resort Needs Some Updating

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The breakfast at the buffet is OK. Make sure to take advantage of the omelette station! Beach is literally steps away from your room.
Cons: Food needs improving. The rooms can also use some repairs. The restaurants on the resort can use some updating on their menus.
Location: 10-15 minute taxi ride to downtown boardwalk. There is also a taco stand down the street that hit the spot if you're looking for street tacos.
We booked Crown Paradise Club because we were part of a large group, traveling with 4 children, 4 elderly, and 4 adults plus my husband and myself. This resort is great for kids, but not so much for adults. There are 2 large pools, 1 adults only pool, and 1 very attractive pool for kids. The adults pool was disappointing. Very small and nothing too exciting. The food is terrible here. We ate at the Italian restaurant and the Japanese restaurant and food is nothing like Italian or Japanese. We didn't know what kind of food we were eating. The only food that was decent was at the French restaurant. It beats eating the burgers, nachos, chicken nuggets and pizza they have serving at the all-day-available snack bar. The-all-you-can-drink drinks are OK. Nothing fancy. Ask them to make your drinks a double because drinks are pretty weak here. I would recommend families to take your kids here, but definitely not a resort to stay if it is with you and your significant other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Family oriented with friendly staff. Food ok but adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great spot to stay if you have children

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The children's pool and the baby and children's club.
Cons: The baby club was closed one night without warning. The front desk and staff did not know about it and we had plans to go to the Italian restaurant.
Location: Close to ship docks and grocery store and an easy taxi ride or bus ride to town.
Hotel grounds are beautiful, including the pools. The rooms are a bit worn but comfortable. Food in specialty restaurants is excellent. Buffet is good but not excellent. The children's pool is exceptional. Great shade spots available to sit on the beach. Beach is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Grandmother, Thank you very much for your survey. We regret if the information was not provided properly. Baby Paradise is in service from sunday to friday from 9:00 am to 4:45 pm and 6:00 pm to 9:45 pm. Saturdays is only from 9:00 am to 4:45 pm due to our comrades from Kids Paradise and Baby Paradise prepare the Show Fantasy. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Puerto Vallarta and enjoy a better stay. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Smoky room bad food

Posted Nov 26, 2016
People smoke all over the property, not just in the designated smoking areas. Our second night there, cigarette smoke started blowing in to the room through the fan in our bathroom. The fan would not turn off, my kids were sleeping, and the front desk said they'd send someone to help, but after an hour no one had come. By this time it was midnight and my kids were both coughing from all the smoke, and we had to demand a new room and then move in the middle of the night. This was by far the worst experience I've had at any hotel, and the staff were not particularly concerned or apologetic. Apart from the above, I'd describe this place as a little run down. The pools are nice, especially for kids, but the rooms had many little repairs needed. And the food at the buffets was truly bad. We ended up taking taxis into town to eat even though we'd paid for the all-inclusive, because none of my family cared for the buffet food
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Justin, We regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding the last visit you had at our resort. We are working week after week along with our Maintenance Manager to improve most of our rooms. Is a shame that the food was not liked you, we have had a lot of reviews from our guests about the flavor and variety, however we will analize the menu and recipies of the dishes. We hope to have another opportunity to host you and hoy can enjoy our progress. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Needs to be remodeled it's okd

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Lots a weddings on the beach
Cons: Food was terrible
Location: Is all right, soriana, xoxo close by to buy snacks tours agencies close to hotel
Hotel is very old, room was clean but needs restoration, stains on the walls and curtains
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mario, Thank you very much for your review. We are working to improve our facilities along with our Maintenance Manager; we hope to welcome you back and you can look our progress. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great staff, clean hotel, excellent location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Staff is awesome, so friendly and take great pride in their hotel, property is well taken care of.
Cons: My second time to this hotel and it was much busier this time...pool areas get a bit elbow to elbow and could possibly use some seating expansion as well as updating of the pool areas.
Location: Great locAtion, close to bus stops for downtown, the marina, close enough to the airport for quick transfer time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you very much for your review. We have noted your feedback regarding to the pool areas, let us inform you that we are renovating different areas every year, this year was the opportunity to night club Nitro. We hope to count with your visit soon and you can look our progress. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Second time here - fabulous, but disappointed

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: We were here for our honeymoon 5 years ago, and loved it so much we came back. The hotel itself, is beautiful, quaint - and located on a wonderful clean stretch of beach -- that is monitored and cleaned all the time. As well there is a beach bar - right on the beach, and waiters/waitresses serve you on the beach. The staff is friendly & many offer help above and beyond their call. The rooms are quaint, but comfortable, and clean. The person who cleaned our room, was thorough, and made sure we were well taken care of. Refrigerator is stocked with cold bottled water, beer, a few cans of pop, and a couple bottles of water are left in the washroom sink area daily. The restaurant food all tastes good, although, variety is lacking. The traditional Mexican dishes are the best, in my opinion. They've also got a great little snack bar right by the beach that has hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, really good nachos with meat sauce and cheese, as well as a bunch of other tasty snacks. The Japanese restaurant is by no stretch "Japanese" as most North American's know it. It should be called "Asian" as it serves, Chinese, Japanese and Vietnamese inspired food. I am from Vancouver, so I know Sushi, and if you're a sushi connoisseur, like me -- , I wouldn't recommend it. You're better off in the buffet. :) I heard the Italian restaurant was good, although we never got around to trying it. The restaurant staff is fabulous! Carlos, was particularity wonderful, and accommodating.
Cons: A couple of cons, that we didn't encounter on our first stay. 1) Our expedia package says that 24 hr room service is available -- free. When we ordered room service the first time, we were asked to pay $5 when it arrived. We went ahead and payed it (we were hungry and it was late). The next day we went to talk to the staff about it, & sent and email copy of our package deal, to the switchboard, who looked it over & said we would not get charged for room service again. A few days later we called to order, and the man on the other end, once again stated there would be a charge. We explained that it was included with our package and that we had already spoken with the staff about it - to which the man responded rudely snapping "Okay then nothing!!" & hung up in my husband's ear. Again we went to the front desk, & once again sent a copy of our itinerary & the expedia webpage where it says it is included. They were very helpful, and again put a note on our account, along with sent the information to the room service department. They also deducted any "fees" that had gone through, which had gone through even though we had spoken to them the first time. Needless to say, we weren't interested in dealing with the room service issue, again, so we never tried to order after that. And lastly - the second day I asked for a coffee machine to be brought o our room, and it took 3 days and multiple calls for it to arrive. Shouldn't have to make so many calls to get what is included.
Location: As mentioned above - great beach area, clean grounds Shopping mall blocks away
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rebecca, thank you very much for your detailed review. We will share your feedback to our Manager in charge of each area and improve our service. We regret if was annoyed every time you asked your room service and explain the expedia benefits. We hope to count with your visit in a near future and you can enjoy the changes. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from petaluma California

Love this place.....our second home

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The people that work there
Cons: Inforcement of the smokimg policy recently enacted. Still bad. The new lobby furniture is really nice. Great comfort and look.
Location: It is located close to most everything.
We have been staying here for 40 years. It has changed for the better over the years. The staff treat us like family. We will keep going back twice a year as long as we are able.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Clarita, We appreciate a lot your review and we are very glad to read you liked the new lobby furniture. Is a great honour to count with your visit every year and you have looked and enjoyed our progress. We will be very happy to welcome you back home soon. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, United States of America

Great kids pool

Posted Nov 10, 2016
The main reason we booked this hotel was for the kids pool. Not disappointed, the pool its great, and has warm water from 8am to 10pm. 3 more pools are around the hotel, all of them with warm water. The rooms are ok but don not spect much. I like the sand tennis courts, and the proximity to the airport and shopping malls. The hotel sits right beside the main Harbour, and we got to se a Carnival Cruise depart, my kids were thrill. Buffet at the Palapa restaurant it's ok but avoid to dine there, instead book in the morning one of the 3 especialty restaurants (Italian,Japanese,French). If you don't have kids, book the hotel next door of the same name but the one for adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Esteban, We appreciate your review and we are very glad to hear that we met your expectations regarding to kids facilities. We looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards.