Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Independence and beautiful beach views

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The junior suite.
Cons: Cleaning, better beach towels, more and better bathroom amenities (shampoo, soap, etc.).
Location: The beautiful playa de los muertos is right i front, and there are lots of shops and restaurants in the neighborhood.
Nice rooms, especially the junior suites which have a fridge and kitchenette and a beach-side balcony for breakfasts with a beautiful view of the beach and green forest covered hills. Rooms are light and the suites spacious. The hotel itself is relaxed, the cleaning a little too relaxed in the opinion of my wife, although I didn't personally notice any problem (which may say more about me than about the cleaning). There is no restaurant on the hotel, but there are is one in the lower story of the hotel which is a separate company, and there is no shortage of restaurants and shopping opportunities in the surrounding buildings and the neighborhood. Wifi worked fine, as did the air condition. I thought it was a fine price for a hotel that had everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you for stay with us... See you soon...!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from VA

The bed and the Bathrooms are not comfortable

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The beach is just a few steps away
Cons: Bathrooms are poorly designed
Location: Perfect location
The staff is friendly and helpful .The restaurant is the best the food is excellent "Si Señor"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you for stay with us... We are going to send your comment to the management, is very helpful. See you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach. Nice view. Great price and staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Good : hotel. Good price. Nice staff. Air conditioning. Close to beach. Clean. Great location. BUT... Has no pool. They share the beach umbrella and sun chairs with a restaurant downstairs where they make you only consume from. Those chairs are first come first serve. Overall pretty good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are going to inform to the management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

Ocean front view

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: I loved the location of the hotel, and how close everything was in the area, I even walked to clubs from my Hotel, lots of things to do NICE AREA
Cons: If I could suggest something to improve on, it would be to ask the guest If they would be doing any cooking in the room ? so that the Stove was ready
Location: Location is near most everything you could need, mini stores, bars just around the corner, and just a few feet from hotel,food and fun
I was very pleased to actually get the room that was booked and shown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HENOCH ROCHA, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! Your opinion is very important to us. Greetings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield,California

Beautiful spot

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: location, great price for on the beach .
Cons: would have loved wash cloths,
Location: in the heart of the old town ,everything was in walking distance water taxi out the hotel to take us to water falls and any where we wanted to go.
we were very pleased with the ease of checking and out, the Hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. very clean, balcony room looking out to the beach, had a stove, and sink it with four chairs and a table land fridge in the room to hold our beverages , xoxo on the corner had all our needs to stock the fridge. very helpful staff, and great air unit,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HENOCH ROCHA, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! Your opinion is very important to us. Greetings
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Great room and awesome view 3rd floor

Posted May 18, 2017
Elevator to small I have a family of 5. No free coffee not even in suite. Stay over all was ok....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by HENOCH ROCHA, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! Your opinion is very important to us. Greetings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn WA

Great price, Beautiful view from older hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Many of the negatives priced into the nightly rate.
Cons: Accuracy in the description of hotel amenities that the hotel marketing has put out.
I arrive in the afternoon to check in. The front desk guy says he can upgrade me to the second floor for $12 USD cash. Ok no problem, I said yes. As soon as I asked him for a receipt for the $12 he panicked a little, started shuffling papers and gave me my money back. He then said he would upgrade me free. B.S.! I caught him trying to hustle me! (be warned that PVR is full of hustlers). I get up to my room and step out onto the balcony to enjoy the view. I shut the sliding glass door and it locks behind me, trapping me outside! Fortunately, I had my cellphone to call the front desk or I would've had to scream for help. You have to clean the dishes in the room otherwise they charge you, yet they provide no dish soap. WIFI doesn't work in room. TV wouldn't turn on (didn't need it anyway). No blanket in room, only a couple sheets. No free umbrella and chair as advertised. Just buy a drink or food from Si Senor and they'll let you sit there so its not that big of a deal. I had an ocean view room with no noise issues. It was very quiet at night. Only a small gap on the bottom of the door. (TIP: to the other reviewers with door gap issues, stuff toilet paper in the gaps with a credit card). Hot tub was drained out on the roof. I fell asleep on the roof and some mexican dude touched me on my face then ran off. The surveillance cameras were broken, no big surprise there. Considering the location, ocean front view, the price is very fair. The room was clean. Hotel needs some repairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WASHINGTON STATE

on the beach.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: location, price, atmosphere...not sterile like the time shares to the north.
Cons: Get the water fixed that comes from tap.
Location: on the ocean and minutes walk from 25 restaurants and another 25 if you walk 10 minutes.
On the beach in a terrific location but hotel is older and owner has not kept up with improvements. Water is not drinkable from tap but there is an OXXO across the street to buy gallons of water inexpensively. Staff was great and the room was quite clean, the only noise we heard was the surf crashing in at night. Those rooms facing the street may be noiser, I dont know. We would stay there again but we are an older generation that doesnt demand a lot. Great walking from the hotel to restaurants and night life. We had no complaints, great breakfast place around the corner with excellent pancakes and a block over is Archies Wok for great Thai food and very casual but elegant atmosphere. Directly inland from exiting the SAIL built out 100 feet into the ocean and next to this hotel. Waiters on the beach were top notch, never bothered us but did a great job. They will make a huge portion of guacamole at your chair on the beach. Would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted May 6, 2017
Staff friendliness, cleanliness and great location. Luv it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from emeryville, ca

Nice option and close to everything

Posted May 3, 2017
Good location but very loud surroundings especially at night.