Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice vacation for 9th time at Friendly. Updates on food and accommodations were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

The name of the place is contagious.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The staff is the best! New pool is good.
Cons: Food did not change at all during our two week stay. On the other hand it is buffet so there is always something to fill the hole.
Location: Night time watching the sunset is the best. Either from the hotel or downtown PV.
I love this place. I don't want to recommend because every year it gets booked up. The staff and the owner make you feel so special. I never stop smiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

9th time staying here

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I know that they are in the process of remodeling the bathrooms which will be nice.
No reason to stay anywhere else in PV. Staff is great, food has improved greatly. Renovations are a nice improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Great Beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Great beach, wonderful staff.
Cons: Better system to keep food hot. New beach lounges and cushions, bring back dancing and music in the lobby.
Location: Location is great, easy to get anywhere.
Have stayed here for 8 years. Hotel is clean, beach is great, staff is wonderful. There have been a lot of cosmetic upgrades but found some basics lacking this year - old beach lounges with no cushions available, food was repetitive and due to use of heat lamps, usually lukewarm or even cold. Coffee was lukewarm in the coffee bar in the morning. Our room had only two plugins and one lamp - therefore made it very hard to charge phones and have a light on. Entertainment in the lobby has been taken away so found sitting in the lobby very boring. Asian restaurant only open for a few hours, and not at usual eating times. Very disappointed with availability of good beef, beach party cut back to very other week. Thinking of finding somewhere new to go next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Would have liked to see more variety with the food. Over all good time great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Would go again

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff; music volume around pool first week was great, second week a little loud (younger people arrived to stay). Coffee bar!
Cons: Shouldn't have to ask for bathmats,facecloths-random as to whether or not they were received. A coffepot & fridge in room wld be nice
Location: On the beach; walking distance to Malecon, stores etc. Bus stops in front of hotel.
Pleasant staff. Food was a little repetitious. Rooms need updating (particularly the bathroom) - more comfortable chairs in room would be nice! Drinks were good; pools were nice, service was great. Variety of entertainment each night. We would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna, BC

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
It was my first trip to Puerto Vallarta. All employees are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Lots of fun activities throughout the day. Great food. Will definitely chose Friendly again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Wonderful resort, truly friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Everything, but especially the friendly and wonderful staff.
Cons: Make it so we could stay longer (ha ha - just kidding!)
Location: A quick and inexpensive cab ride to the Centro area has lots to see and do, especially the beautiful colonial architecture.
I could not say enough about how helpful everyone was, and how clean and cared-for all the facilities are. The food is extremely generous and varied and there is always something new to try. It is a beautiful place to stay and relax and is conveniently located close to the airport and downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C Canada

Friendly Vallarta. Right on the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Cons: They could have pillow top mattresses and coffee makers in the room. We are very satisfied with everything else not much else to complain about. Love
We always have a great time at the Friendly. Been going back there for years. Staff and service are great. Food is wonderful. They make you feel like you are at home. Always something to do activities for all ages. Wonderful place to stay. They really take care of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Albert, AB

"Friendly Experience"

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable accommodation, cleanliness, friendly and attentive staff, great food and drinks and entertainment, lovely pools and beach
Cons: Kids Club,
Location: Located close to downtown and shopping center
Wonderful ambiance with friendly staff, great food, comfortable rooms, great service, nice beach with service, great pools. Great Entertainment and activities (especially the Mariachi) Kids Club a bit disappointing, but overall will definitely go back!