Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
It's super nice I love the hotel and the staff is so helpful near to the malecon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great Location!

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed, clean room--- housekeeping cam daily and provided new bottled water friendly staff, free coffee in the morning
Cons: only con is that the sewer gases seep up at night.....remember to cover the drains in the shower and bathroom!
Location: close to everything!
felt comfortable as soon as I arrived! I went to Puerto Vallarta alone and as a female, just wanted to feel safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver Canada

Safe , quiet , comfortable.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Clean , safe , quite.
Cons: Water pressure in shower.
Location: Shops, restaurants , beach, street entertainment.
Nestled in the heart of old town P V . Shops restaurant , the Malacon. We had a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonora

Una agradable sorpresa cerca del malecón de PV

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: TODO! ubicación, costo, decoración, temática, personal, limpieza.. básicamente todo!
Cons: Está excelente
Location: Caminar al malecón o simplemente tomar una taza de café en área central del hotel hacen la tarde perfecta
El lugar está adornado hermosamente con murales y colores que lo hacen un lugar acogedor y lleno de vida; la habitación del tamaño ideal, limpieza y decoración perfectas. La zona muy tranquila y el trato excelente.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Rustic hotel near the Malecon.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the hotel decor is colorful and interesting.
Cons: The facility is older and shows its age. Hot water service is unreliable. Our room had a problem with sewer gas venting up from the shower drain.
Location: The hotel is a short walk from the Malecon and several good galleries, shops, and restaurants. For good Mexican food, try Casa Traditional.
We have visited the Puerto Vallarta area frequently over the past 10 years, although this is the first time we have stayed in the city. We chose the Hotel Catedral for a two-night stay mainly because of its close proximity to the Malecon and Old Town, and of course the many cool shops, galleries, and seaside bars in the area. Overall, we found the hotel pricey in comparison to its amenities and services. On our first morning, we were unable to get any hot (or warm) water from the shower, despite following the hotel's suggestion to first let the water run 10 to 15 minutes. After the first night, we learned to keep the bathroom door shut to contain the sewer gas that was venting from the floor drain (something the hotel seemed unable to solve). We were aware that the room did not have a fridge, and learned later that the hotel did not have an ice machine. The room has a wall safe, but it was too small to fit an IPad. However, the staff were helpful and made some good restaurant recommendations. The area is active and energetic during the day, although reasonably quiet at night.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Mesa, AZ

Hidden Gem! Would definitely stay here again!

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it here! From chatting with Hector, to him showing us our room, to then seeing we had our own private entrance to the rooftop with spectacular views...very clean room, quaintly decorated, plenty of space, very comfy bed. We enjoyed walking down to the Malecon--hotel so accessible to downtown Vallarta. Everything was wonderful! We will definitely make it a part of our trip to PVR each year and will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The bi-lingual staff were really wonderful.
Location: The location was great ..... walking distance to everything I waned to do. Strongly suggest you take the bus out to the Botanical Gardens.
March 2013 had a very nice stay. No surprises; everything was as advertised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Nice place to stay centrally located. But did move to a hotel a little less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Rock BC

Cosy boutique hotel walk to beach, shops, & eats!

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Stayed for 2 nts on the way to YVR. Loved the friendliness and proximity to amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach, British Columbia

Great Location

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Try and organize some parking
Location: The Malacon is a block away as is the principle church in Puerto Vallarta. Also both the outdoor market and the mercado building are close.
Our second stay at this nice hotel. It is close to the Malacon and some great restaurants and is also a good place to explore the area. The only issue is to find parking close to the hotel which is either on the street or in a public car park about two blocks away. If you stay, don't forget to go up to the roof for a great view of the surrounding area.