Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean, well-located hotel with excellent service

Posted Feb 12, 2016
This hotel is perfectly located if you want to spend most of your time in the old town or the Zona Romantica, a couple blocks off the main drag so you miss a lot of the traffic noise. Service could not be better. The place is well-kept and clean. There are plenty of mid-priced restaurants in walking distance. If you need a bar or restaurant on site, or a swimming pool, or the beach at your door, or if you need an elevator, however, this is not the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
An excellent five night stay at Hotel Boutique Cathedral Vallarta - the staff is extraordinarily helpful and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with charm

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The hotel is located in the romantic zone. An easy walk from the Malecon and Vieux Vallarta. We had the pent house room, complete with a roof top deck. The 360 degree view was fabulous. The downside was that there was no elevator. Not a problem for us but might be for some. The many charming artistic touches in the hotel added to its authentic Mexican ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Spring Island, BC Canada

Economical, Whimsical, Funky Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, decor, location, price,, place to store luggage on last day
Cons: There could be a mirror inside the actual room. The only mirror was in the bathroom, above the sink, in the shower, which was slightly inconvenient.
Location: Perfect for exploring Old Town PV. Close to shops, restaurants, Cathedral, buses, Malecon. Can walk everywhere.
We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Catedral and were comfortable and charmed by the hotel. There is whimsical, colourful folk art everywhere you look and there are interesting nooks and crannies in which to relax. Obviously, they have brought an old building to life through the "boutique" concept. Our room, the Maria Bonita room, was small but completely adequate for our needs. There was air conditioning, but we didn't need it. Our room overlooking the lobby was very quiet at night. Although we had no balcony, we could open the sliding windows wide and it felt like we were outside overlooking the lobby. There were places on the verandahs and roof where you could go outside to read, and the lobby had chairs and tables to work, eat or read at. Wifi was strong from our room, no problems. There was a safe inside the room, too. The whole place felt very Mexican, very clean (daily maid service) and very safe. The location in Old Town PV was superb, close to everything we needed: stores, restaurants, Malecon, buses. Good walking everywhere. Staff was superb, so helpful. You could get coffee and tea and cookies early in the day in the lobby. They had a place for us to store our luggage on the last day, as our flight was at night, and we could have had a shower there before we changed into our clothes for our flight if we'd wanted to. Very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the malecon

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: The balconies need some maintenance.
Location: Location is perfect. It close the main plaza, as well as restaurants, boardwalk and an arts & crafts market
I had a good experience in Hotel Cathedral. I loved the Mexican style decor. That was the main reason I decided to stayed there. The advantage of this boutique hotel is that is close the main plaza, as well as restaurants, the main cathedral of PV and all the shops. About a block from the hotel is a little market of arts & crafts that made my stayed more enjoyable. Overall I would recommend Hotel Boutique Cathedral. I do think so it was a little expensive for the 3 star hotel, however; all seems to be overpriced in PV. Be aware that this hotel does not have an elevator; however the stairs are easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Simple, low key, quiet hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Location, 'Mexican feeling', safe.
Cons: A pool would have been nice.
Location: It's walking to everything.
This hotel is safe, clean and in a great location The rooms are basic but nice and have locking safes. The staff was friendly. The hotel lends towels for the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jal.- california

Good hotel located close to beach

Posted Dec 27, 2015
This was a good hotel nice location and with a great eatery about one block down towards the beach definitely recommend trying both to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great convenience

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Convenience, non-smoking, quiet, pleasant staff, cleanliness.
Cons: I wish there were a mirror in the room besides the one in the bathroom.
Location: I am a vegetarian so there is a great vegetarian restaurant about six blocks away next to the cathedral . The beach is 4 blocks away.
The hotel is beautifully convenient. It was quiet and very comfortable bed, I really was pleased with my room, the TV, AC, ceiling fan, cleanliness and accommodating staff. And Grey Line provided a great pick-up and return to the airport. And, of course, no smoking allowed. A blessing for non-smokers. For the price, it can't be beat. Oh yes, there is a personal safe in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leanne from Comox

Hurricane Patricia.

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
My daughter & I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful boutique hotel in the midst of impending Hurricane Patricia. From the moment we arrived and were offered fresh juice, the service was incredible. The staff & management were very organized for the impending storm & informed all the guests, while supplying water, flashlights as well as keeping us updated regularly. Windows were taped, all precautions were in place. I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Hotel Catedral. You are a testament to fabulous hospitality service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CRAIG from cali

great price nice room

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
nice place great price clean and comfy not 5 star but worth every penny