Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel was fairly accurate. Lots of biting flies outside. The beds were so uncomfortable that we took the sofa cushions off and slept on them. The food was good, and the service was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Klamath Falls, OR

Great place to stay; not super busy.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Quiet motel out of town. Friendly staff with good food. Hotel could use some upkeep, but we loved it there (we would take a foam pad for the bed next trip). Have stayed there before and Absolutely would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thank you very much for your opinion: We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you back very soon Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Excellent value; lovely hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We had a great stay. The location was nice-a short walk from the beach but close to busses and some lovely walks in the neighborhood. The young man at the desk was very helpful and flexible when we asked for a room change (room 415 has nice morning sun). The breakfast was very good with nice variety and beautiful fresh fruit. Other reviewers have commented that towels are a problem but that was not our experience. There were none when we arrived but there was no shortage after we asked for towels. The pool and rooms were nicely maintained every day. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thank you very much for your opinion. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Cheap, quiet and clean

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Short walk to the beach, zoo, bus stop. Pool was small but perfect for younger kids. Breakfast buffet was good except the coffee. Kitchenette was limited but several restaurants close by with great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest:Thanks for your opinion, we are working hard to provide you the best service, and appreciate your feedback Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort St. John, B.C.

Comfy and close to Mismaloya beach

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: I really liked the two bedroom suites.
Cons: The hot tub was broken while we were there so it should be repaired.
Location: The location is great. It's right in Mismaloya town close to the beatiful beach, Los Arcos snorkeling area, the zoo and the El Eden ziplines.
I was very pleasantly surprised with the Casa Iguana as some of the reviews were lackluster. It was a comfy hotel with very friendly staff. They didn't all speak English all that well but they tried. It was very nice to get a two bedroom suite for such a good deal. There was a little kitchenette if you wanted to buy your own food but the restaurant on site was good not to mention other very good restaurants in Mismaloya like Tony's Hideaway. The hotel was a couple of blocks from the beach but not too far a walk. The only thing that I didn't really like was that the hotel is laid out more like a motel with a shared front walkway instead of individual balconies. Also if you're going to Puerto Vallarta for nightlife you wouldn't want to stay in Mismaloya as there isn't much to do at night but look at the sunset and go to Tony's. All in all I would really recommend The Casa Iguana hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest:thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy, and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back very soon Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice and quite place to relax

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: It is a clean and well kept property
Cons: The kitchens need to be stocked and fully loaded with stoves, ovens and coffee makers
Location: It is located in the center of things to do in Mismaloya. 2.5 miles to the zoo, and around a 1/2 mile to the beach. Also buses to PV run every 15 mins
I stayed there for a week and I was just the place I needed to relax and unwind. All of the staff were excellent. The room was clean and roomy. It was just myself so the 2 bedrooms were a real bonus. The kitchen area was not up to par though. There wasn't a coffee pot, stove or oven to do any cooking but reading other reviews previous to going, I expected it ahead of time. The breakfast was always something to look forward too. There was always a good selection and the coffee was surprisingly good for Mexican standards. I have been going to PV for 15 years now and I will be going back to this hotel again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thanks for staying with us.We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back very soon Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, CO

Great place for the price!!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The pool, the food, the staff, the price.
Cons: Maybe have quiet hours after 11pm. Serve coffee earlier :)
Location: Stand Up Paddle with Alberto Hernandez. Full instruction w/ snorkeling at Los Arcos. Ramada Miramar (Juan's Place) fantastic fish dinner - went 2x
If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Mismeloya, this is it. About 1/4 mile from the beach, it offers an accommodating staff with clean, comfortable rooms. The pool area is relaxing and breakfast was delicious. This is not your upscale resort (and the price will reflect this), but being located in the locals area, it gives great insight into the lifestyle of Mexico. Take the bus there for 80 pesos, and the zoo is a must see - buy the animal food, it is worth it. I highly recommend Casa Iguana if you want a true experience. I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thank very much for your opinion. Your feedback is highly important to us and it helps us know were are in terms of service. We work to make our guests happy. Sincerely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: I liked the location outside of the touristy areas of Puerto Vallerta
Cons: Noise control. Fix the hot tub. Clean the place up
Location: El Eden is walking distance (2 miles) and there is a bizarre zoo close by that is quite interesting.
We rented this hotel knowing it wasn't top of the line. However, after surviving the first night there with loud, obnoxious drunks playing music and partying 50 feet away from our room long into the night, we chose to leave and find a new hotel for the rest of our stay. When we tried to get the front desk to do something about the noise and obnoxiousness, we were met with indifference. The hot tub is empty and the grounds are slowly getting worn out. We weren't expecting a top of the line resort but this wasn't very good at all. And little bug bites as well did not help the experience. I'm sorry but there is no way I can recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thank you for the opinion. We apologize for the inconvenients you may have; we are working hard to provide you the best service Sincerely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Good location. Close to restaurants, beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
My 7 night stay was pleasant. Met some friendly travellers of different ages. Room and grounds were reasonably clean & neat. Could use some updating and rooms could be a cleaner and some small things fixed. Beds are comfortable and staff is friendly. Over all good value for an inexpensive hotel. Mosquitos are bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thank you very much for your opinion. We work hard to make our guests happy : Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

You get what you pay for...

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Close to beach Pretty atmosphere Rooms authentic in color and kitchen stocked with pans if you wanted to cook Staff extremely helpful and fast
Cons: Money exchange services More towels in room (face towels) More english speaking TV selections
Location: Three minutes walking distance from beach that had a couple restaurants A couple other restaurants within walking distance A mile away from downtown
So first off I thought they advertised as all inclusive on expedia, but when we arrived it was a different story. Apparently you only can get morning breakfast all inclusive...guess I missed that selection. They also advertised they could exchange money, but couldn't any of the days that we were there. The staff is nice enough, only a couple could understand english though. Loved that it was only a couple minutes walking time from the beach and loved that it was off the beaten path. Downtown is not too far away. Overall I would like to stay there again knowing what I know now. Like how to take the buses vs cabs. And exchange money before hand. Safe travels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: thank you for your opinion. We are working hard to provide you the best service. We hope to see you back very soon Sincerely