Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle,wa

OK hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Everything
Location: yes, beach, shopping etc
It was in THE OLD part of town. The pic's on the website don't properly show the size of the room. They are only one person rooms, for basically for single men. I would not recommend the hotel for a family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Elizabeth Vargas, Hotel Management
AGRADECEMOS SUS COMENTARIOS NOS AYUDAN A MEJORAR. LA HABITACION QUE USTED RESERVO EFECTIVAMENTE ES IDEAL PARA UNA PERSONA, TAMBIEN CONTAMOS CON HABITACIONES MAS GARNDES.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Saving money at the Hotel Mocali

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Relatively inexpensive.
Cons: See above.
Location: Lots of local restaurants and convenience stores.
Clean but spartan accommodations. No wash cloth, only one pillow. Rock hard mattresses. No benches or table to put anything. Only bench space in bathroom was the back of the toilet. Almost couldn't close bathroom door when inside bathroom. Good air conditioning. Ceiling fan was useful. TV had 5 or 6 English language channels.
5 out of 5
by patrick

Great location and very clean

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and room was extremely clean. Very close to the Malecon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Comfortable Hotel in Regular Neighborhood

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: the friendly staff; cleanliness of rooms and other parts of hotel; size of hotel; location in working neighborhood
Cons: access to Internet; hotel making sure that guests are not too loud, including in the staircases, at night.
Location: see above
We really enjoyed staying at Hotel Mocali because of the fact that it is not part of the busy resort-type hotel area at the southern end of downtown. Located at the northern end of downtown, it is easy to get by foot to those parts of the town, and it is only a few blocks away from the beach and from the beach walk (Malecon). I very much enjoyed experiencing a regular neighborhood bustling with little businesses, etc. with hardly any tourists in the streets. The hotel is relatively small, the rooms are small but clean - if you need a desk and chair(s), you may not find that. We stayed in two rooms (I found the one that was reserved for me too loud and not private enough because the window was level with the street) so I requested to be moved. I very much appreciated the hotel's efforts to find us another room, this time a few floors up with a balcony, that we liked. The last few nights we needed to move into another much smaller room but that was ok. The rooms were clean and I felt safe. Unfortunately, the Internet did not work in those two rooms so we had go to the lobby or the staircase area. But that did not detract from our experience there -- in fact, the incredibly friendliness of all of the hotel staff overrode those things. But if your Spanish is limited, do not rely on the fact that all of the staff understand or speak English despite of the fact that you read about the hotel's "multilingual" staff online. Nevertheless, so happy that we stayed there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Small hotel in a great location! I would stay there again . And A/C works great. Room is small but gives you a real feel of mexico
1 out of 5
by Bonny

NEVER AGAIN

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
I STAYED AT THE HOTEL MOCALI 3 YEARS AGO AND NEEDED IMPROVEMENT THEN. NOW IT IS EVEN WORSE. THE ROOMS ARE EXTREMELY DATED AND I COULDN'T LOCK MY DOOR PROPERLY. I REALIZE PUERTO VALLARTA IS EXPENSIVE, BUT THIS WAS NO DEAL. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS PATHETIC. I'LL NEVER COME BACK HERE. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, bc

Clean and very well maintained

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, very well maintained, great staff
Cons: internet is poor and doesn't work at all in the rooms
Location: Close to beach, a gazillion restaurants and bars in the area. Also great food from street vendors like the best tacos for 12 pesos.
Relatively quiet considering its location. Short walk to the beach. People were great although it would be better if they could work on their English skills a bit. Hotel is light on amenities but you're not paying for them so its a relative bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ajijic

The hotel was close restaurants and the beach.

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was okay.
Cons: They need to have a person with some basic English available if they are going to have English guests.
Location: It was close to a couple to nice restaurants and the Mardi Gras parade route although none of the staff seemed to know about it.
The hotel was nice when we arrived although no one spoke English which made it difficult. Our room was not cleaned or made up after our first night. I had called and told them that we only needed 2 of the 3 rooms booked for 2 nights instead of 3. They insisted they couldn't do anything about that and refused to sign anything that said we had only stayed 2 nights. The lack of anyone who spoke English made everything more difficult, even though we tried translating what was said. It would also be helpful if they let you know that you had to be able to handle a lot of stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Decent hotel for the money and close to everything

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Good little hotel. Close to Malacon, shopping, restaurants, bars etc. Staff is friendly. A bit noisy as sound tends to echo in halls. Windows open to a somewhat busy street. Room is basic, clean & airconditioning and a ceiling fan. There's coffee, cut up papaya and melon with toast in morning. Wifi good only in lobby. Good value for $$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pleasant ñ, clean, amazing customer service Might get a bit noisy