Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Mixed bag

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Great view from the balcony, but neighbors (smoking and noise) can ruin the experience. Beware - no elevator and lots and lots of stairs to get down to the beach especially if you are on a upper floor. Our room was very basic - a toaster or microwave would have been nice. There was a coffee maker and an adequate refrigerator. Staff was very nice. The lobby of the hotel does not have adequate chairs etc for hanging out and is not very inviting (although it could be if some attention was paid to it). Location is ideal. One can even walk along the beach (somewhat challenging but not bad) to town - there are bus stops very close to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

The Hotel Playa Conchas Chinas

Posted Mar 10, 2017
When I first stayed at this hotel in March of 2016 I was certain that I had found the best value for the location in the Puerto Vallarta area. All rooms are ocean front and the views are spectacular. The adjacent Lindo Mar Hotel has a Restaurant on the beach level which has very good Mexican fare and very modest prices. For value the "Hotel Playa Conchas Chinas" is hard to beat. There are a few minor annoyances at this hotel that I feel I must mention. This hotel is under what appears to be constant construction/remodeling. I experienced this both years I stayed there. The Administration has coordinated the work hours so the work starts late in the morning so as not to awaken guests but as a result it often extended into the early evening hours. There is no reliable internet outside of the main lobby ( with the exception of a few suites that were recently added). Some of the room amenities are a little below average. Slow drains, leaking pipes, and fraying towels. From the Restaurant on Ocean level to the lobby this Hotel has 5 floors. There is currently no elevator. This hotel currently remains a value despite it's problems. I will continue to vacation here so long as the pricing remains reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful scenery, but construction until midnight

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Overall I would give this place 3 stars, but mostly due to not having very helpful staff after having construction go on outside of my room until 11:30 pm and starting up again at 7:15 am. If we had been alerted about it before I would have been ok with it, but we weren't. And they were literally outside my shower window working all night. The location is nice, just off beaten path of downtown. The scenery and sunsets are stunning, but our room had two light bulbs out in the bathroom and already opened shampoo in the shower. This place has potential once construction is done though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: I loved the rooms. Beautifully decorated and the porch on each room with table and chairs. The restaurant was adorable too.
Cons: The construction, but once cleaned up, it'll be great!
Location: The location was picturesque! Right on the beach with a restaurant right below, 5 mins $5 cab ride into town was perfect!
This hotel was authentic Mexican. It was beautifully decorated and the staff was super friendly. The tile work was so pretty, but there was a bit of construction, it will be absolutely gorgeous once completed! All the rooms look out over the water and there is an adorable restaurant on the beach. Again, service is superior.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mexican Hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: better equipped kitchen and more comfortable chairs on deck
Location: on bus line, ready access to everything.
Room was lovely. We got a room with a kitchen so we could cook some meals. Had to ask for pans, spoons, dish towel. Frig was small and needed defrosting so no ice. Never the less we enjoyed our stay here. The beach was wonderful and the restaurant very good. Be warned that there are a lot of stair. I would go back
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely site but construction over your head

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location and océan view
Cons: Close the hotel when under construction
Location: Walk along the beach, enjoy nice beaches
This hotel boasts a gorgeous site. The rooms are clean and comfortable but if you are on the fourth floor prepare for construction directly above your head: falling plaster, nails and hammering and drills. The two restaurants upstairs and downstairs, El set and Lindo mar are very good and their staff is excellent. The staff at the Conchas Chinas hotel, however, is not very nice. The young man is always locked to his computer and the others are not very nice with the exception of an older staff member around at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Great hotel with authentic feel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Very nice rooms that are currently being renovated (as of November 2016), and two excellent and affordable restaurants plus exclusive beach make this an easy pick for a comfortable vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments, There are more surprises and changes. Our aim is to provide you with more comfortable facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Very nice with amazing view

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: view
Cons: an elevator
Location: the beach is beautiful
I love the hotel, as soon as they finish with the improvements it will be 5 starts :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by management, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your commets, We are working on improving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

***Horrible hotel***

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible... We didn't have hot water for two days.. the room was dirty and very small. Need's maintenance.
4 out of 5
by James from Chicago

Great little hotel, Best view of sea and sunsets

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
An older hotel probably undergoing continuous renovation while in operation. This did not interfere with our stay, but others may not tolerate so well. Most of staff was excellent, housekeeping staff was average- missing towels and wash cloths, big TIP envelope in your face before you receive any service. Kitchenette is functional, but well used, plates, pots, utensils, and coffee pot were all there. Bed was firm, but comfortable, bathroom was dated, tile- quaint, but we liked it. tub/shower was deep could be used for soaking. We had the jetted tub on the balcony outside the room, again, tile/concrete tub, but OK, deep enough to soak and jets were strong. since beach is rocky, it changes with the tide, at low tide beach is larger than at high tide, but the rocks provide attraction for fish and other sea life, so snorkeling is better than at the more popular all sand beaches such as los muertos. the restaurant on the beach feels like it is part of Conchas Chinos, but it really belongs to the hotel next door- service and food were both very good there. Prices were reasonable.