Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful older gem near to all you need.

Posted May 12, 2017
Conchas Chinas Hotel is a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle and still have all you need. The rooms are spacious and clean with a small fridge and burners for cooking. Just a couple blocks from an Oxxo and next door to El Set and Lindo Mar for restaurants and awesome beach play or snorkeling. Of course the bus is right out front for getting wherever you need to go. Town for the buzz or south to Mismaloya and beyond for quieter times. It really is a private quiet place perfect for unwinding. There's a few stairs as is the way with views here. And here you may be climbing or descending, but the views of the bay are great whichever way you go. The staff is kind and very helpful. I was greeted by the ruggedly handsome Miguel, who greeted me by name from a reservation made sometime last fall. It was my second stay with this hotel and I am certain it will not be the last. They were even kind enough to stow my bags for me so I could rest on the beach till my flight time in the late afternoon. It was nice to finish in such a relaxed location. Gracias!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Texas

Love Hotel Playa Conchas Chinas

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: flower plantings and ocean views
Cons: Add shelves in new rooms. Add a couple of English channels to the cable tv
Location: Old part of PV is just a 5 minute cab ride away.
10+ times I have stayed at this beautiful old style hotel. Very comfortable rooms, many updated. GREAT views of the ocean. Multi-level so you get your steps in! Hotel staff is attentive and super friendly. Great sunset views and ocean and bird sounds to sleep by. Rooms are very spacious and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi Nancy, Thank you for your beautiful comments, we are very excited to keep improving so that you as you come back year after year, it is a pleasure to be part of this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice view, but No WiFi, Fresh water or Elevator.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We had a bad customer service experience with Expedia on this. Expedia was unable to communicate with the owner. We stayed one night and moved on to another hotel that was more modern with nicer amenities and for less than half the price! We left our reservation and paid the extra night but could not stand to stay there another night. We stayed at the beautiful Lindo Mar Resort the week before, so I guess we were spoiled by all the ammentities they offered. We got used to having purified drinking water, elevators, and WiFi...little things like that the Hotel Conchas Chinas does not have, and they had only one key to give us for 3 people staying in a room? The room was very small and the beds tiny, yet they charged extra money a night for a third person. We saw other nice rooms with private pools that looked very nice. They were doing a lot of work on the Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Mixed bag

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Great view from the balcony, but neighbors (smoking and noise) can ruin the experience. Beware - no elevator and lots and lots of stairs to get down to the beach especially if you are on a upper floor. Our room was very basic - a toaster or microwave would have been nice. There was a coffee maker and an adequate refrigerator. Staff was very nice. The lobby of the hotel does not have adequate chairs etc for hanging out and is not very inviting (although it could be if some attention was paid to it). Location is ideal. One can even walk along the beach (somewhat challenging but not bad) to town - there are bus stops very close to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

The Hotel Playa Conchas Chinas

Posted Mar 10, 2017
When I first stayed at this hotel in March of 2016 I was certain that I had found the best value for the location in the Puerto Vallarta area. All rooms are ocean front and the views are spectacular. The adjacent Lindo Mar Hotel has a Restaurant on the beach level which has very good Mexican fare and very modest prices. For value the "Hotel Playa Conchas Chinas" is hard to beat. There are a few minor annoyances at this hotel that I feel I must mention. This hotel is under what appears to be constant construction/remodeling. I experienced this both years I stayed there. The Administration has coordinated the work hours so the work starts late in the morning so as not to awaken guests but as a result it often extended into the early evening hours. There is no reliable internet outside of the main lobby ( with the exception of a few suites that were recently added). Some of the room amenities are a little below average. Slow drains, leaking pipes, and fraying towels. From the Restaurant on Ocean level to the lobby this Hotel has 5 floors. There is currently no elevator. This hotel currently remains a value despite it's problems. I will continue to vacation here so long as the pricing remains reasonable.
5 out of 5
by John

Conchas Chinas Sanctuary

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The Jacuzzi suite is a bargain for Vallarta. Private balcony perfect for romantic entanglements and sheltered from sun.We love taking the walk to town tide permitting to work off the fajitas and margaritas. This mile stretch of beach walk has beautiful beaches, rock formations, and stunning villas with few beach goers. It's a complete contrast to city beach where every inch of real estate is a business. We love the Vallarta party but it can get toxic. Retreating to the tranquility of Conchas Chinas is a welcome balance. This beachfront hotel is about a 30 minute walk or short cab ride to Romantic Zone.
3 out of 5
by Roy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful scenery, but construction until midnight

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Overall I would give this place 3 stars, but mostly due to not having very helpful staff after having construction go on outside of my room until 11:30 pm and starting up again at 7:15 am. If we had been alerted about it before I would have been ok with it, but we weren't. And they were literally outside my shower window working all night. The location is nice, just off beaten path of downtown. The scenery and sunsets are stunning, but our room had two light bulbs out in the bathroom and already opened shampoo in the shower. This place has potential once construction is done though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: I loved the rooms. Beautifully decorated and the porch on each room with table and chairs. The restaurant was adorable too.
Cons: The construction, but once cleaned up, it'll be great!
Location: The location was picturesque! Right on the beach with a restaurant right below, 5 mins $5 cab ride into town was perfect!
This hotel was authentic Mexican. It was beautifully decorated and the staff was super friendly. The tile work was so pretty, but there was a bit of construction, it will be absolutely gorgeous once completed! All the rooms look out over the water and there is an adorable restaurant on the beach. Again, service is superior.
4 out of 5
by Norbert

My first visit to Puerto Vallarta

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Nice ocean view and very quiet great location