Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crescent city, ca

Nice hotel close to the boardwalk

Posted May 20, 2017
The staff was all very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean and location was perfect for walking downtown and to the boardwalk.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We are so pleased to have welcomed you, and thank you very much for your thoughts, we look forward to our next chance to serve you. Warm regards Ulises Arguelles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Hotel With Old World Charm

Posted May 16, 2017
The staff was excellent and took pride in their hotel. It was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever visited and right in the heart of the town. There are many shops to walk to and the beach is close. The wonderful staff from housekeeping to the chef and front desk crew really makes it a 5 Star experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing this lovely review. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. Our team can be as involved or uninvolved as you want us to be, we will be sure to let all our staff know that their services made your stay even better. Your review is invaluable to us and we eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Warm regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Good location hotel is so so

Posted May 8, 2017
This hotel is so so. It's a good location. Very close to the malecon. However, swimming pool is in the middle of the restaurant no lounge chairs. So kind of weird to have people dining while you're swimming. Hotel does not provide beach towels. They do not have washcloths in the rooms. When I book the room I asked for the room to be close to my friend's room that was also booked at the same time and they were on opposite sides of the building. When asked about it at the front desk said it was a special request. The front desk clerk was quite arrogant. Did not apologize. The only reason I might stay at this hotel again is because of the location and the prices cheap but now I know why the price is cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We are very disappointed to learn that your stay did not reflect these important qualities in the service you received. We would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and we appreciate the time you’ve taken to let us know how you feel about your visit. Please rest assured that we are looking into resolving these issues as promptly as possible. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
The service was amazing, great staff, great room, perfect location. When I come back I'll definitely stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities, location and service. We eagerly await our next chance to serve you in paradise again. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A block from the boardwalk/beach

Posted May 2, 2017
Bring good walking shoes since food, bars, clubs, and the beach are all within a walking distance. I would ask for a second room key since the hotel room electricity only functions when the room key is inserted into the energy saving slot. The hotel exchanges money but there is a bank and ATM behind the hotel in case the hotel is low on cash.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. We look forward to seeing you soon at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. Warm regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The room had tiny little ants during our stay. The fitted sheet on the bed kept on coming off the sides. The table next to the kitchenette was a terrible set up. The bathroom shower door couldn't close well and had to bang it closed to take a shower. But the area of the hotel was great because it was close to great steeet tacos and the boardwalk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for you review We are very disappointed to learn that your stay did not reflect these important qualities in the confort that you perceived from the room. Please rest assured that we are looking into resolving these issues as promptly as possible to prevent them from affecting your next vacation at our hotel in the future. Thank you again for providing us with these important details, and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of making it up to you the next time you’re in Puerto Vallarta. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

1 block from the Malecon, short walk to the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Faculty, Restaurant, Cleanliness
Cons: Faster internet, do something about the musty smell
Location: Langosta Loca, Malecon
Great location and CoExist restaurant downstairs is great! Room was clean but they need to do something about the mustiness when the A/C is off. Not sure if its the sewer pipes or the A/C. The internet needs to be faster as well. Wifi was pretty slow most of the time we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review and thank you for providing us with these important details, and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of making it up to you the next time you’re in Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Liked it so much I am going back at the end of this month!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your review, we love that you liked that much your stay. We look forward to serving you soon again. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Great Location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location, helpful staff
Solo traveler, great location, near everything. Large comfortable room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. Thank you for your thoughts, and we look forward to our next chance to serve you. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Good hotel, close to the beach, malecon, bars, restaurants shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Ulises Arguelles, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. We look forward to serving you soon. Warm regards