Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Work on updating the air conditioning and take care of the sewer smell.
After reading numerous negative reviews, I was worried about what our experience would be at this property. However, we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was. We had a superior room with 2 queen beds, a large bathroom with walk in shower and a balcony with an amazing view. We were in room 347 and we couldn't have asked for a nicer location. Price was extremely reasonable - only $126 per night and the location was fantastic. Steps away from the beach and within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and shops. The beds were very comfortable with pillow top mattresses and it was spotlessly clean everywhere. The only couple of downsides were the air conditioner was kind of noisy and there was a sewer type smell every so often in the bathroom but it wasn't anything unbearable. It's Mexico so you just have to be a bit flexible and appreciate the differences. People were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and would stay again but only in a superior or above categorized room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Moody BC Canada

Love the hotel, the location to beach and old town

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Cons: Beds need foam or better mattresses as they are extremely uncomfortable.
We stayed with 9 other people at the hotel for a week. We loved the hotel, the food was good, the drink prices etc was very good and the location was fabulous. The beach in front of the hotel is fantastic, great for swimming, Fidencios right next door was a great place to eat and drink on the beach. The only complaint is that the beds are super uncomfortable. Very hard and although we would stay again, we will bring air mattresses or something to make the room more comfortable!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from white Oak, TX

Nice hotel very clean right on the beach

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Wonderful time in Puerto Vallarta! Lots to see and do!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location and fabulous staff

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Great beach location and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice but could be updated. You can't beat the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas,Tx.

Nice grounds easy access to the beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Finally got into the type of room that was confirmed on our rez at 4:30 after much non professional discussion with the office staff. Suggest talking to the manager immediately when this happens within 15 minutes we had the room type as confirmed. Took 3 days to get a frig. No coffee available until 8-8:30 even tho restaurant staff was there.The room cleaning staff did an excellent job and very friendly. Overall will not return and will not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel located on the ocean.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Clean and in a perfect location. Can not complain about sitting on the balcony watching the sun setting over the ocean.
Cons: The room I was in could use some upgrading but I did hear they have been working on bringing the rooms up to date.
Location: I like the location because it is not in the middle of everything but in walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Arriving in Puerto Vallarta we was swamped by taxi companies looking to drive us to our hotel. Word of advice to make transfers in advance. Arriving at the Tropicana hotel check in went smoothly but our room had no views so we went to complain at front desk and they sent us over to renovations where they had no problem giving us a beautiful room ocean front with great views. It was a Superior size room. Pool is nice but not heated so in January even though the climate is beautiful the pool is cold. The beach is off the pool area and full of palapas but get out early to reserve one. They have a restaurant where we ate breakfast only. There are so many restaurants in walking distance we had dinner at different restaurants every night. It's not just Mexican either. All varieties of restaurants and the food was excellent especially the price.Try the wine from Chile they where very good. We use credit cards for dinner because you get the best rate. Pesos for other things. There is a bank atm as you walk in town. There are three booths next to each other. Use that atm it gives a good rate of exchange. Loved it so much that I booked a junior suite for next year at the hotel. If you can book the hotel direct online or agent go that route.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Hotel on the beach good price

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Great location near downtown and plenty restaurants to go to. Great view of the Bay.
Cons: Fix the smell of the sewer that comes up some times. The bar needs more bartenders and the restaurant is just ok.
Location: Great location to shopping and restaurants
The smell from the sewer came up some times in to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Excellent value and great beachfront location

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Cleanliness, lots of beach chairs/palapas, nice pool area.
Cons: Older rooms need to be renovated.
Location: Perfect location, with literally hundreds of restaurants , bars, bakeries, shops within easy walking distance.
The first room provided was old and tired, with no ocean view. We asked for a different room and were accomodated on our 2nd day (of a 2 week stay). The new room was modern and bright and had an ocean view, lots of storage , a/c, etc.. Very nice and roomy. The beds are somewhat hard. The staff are pleasant and accomodating, and , the lady who cleaned our room did an awesome job (make sure to tip the room cleaning staff, they deserve tips ). Love the location in old town .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Good Value and Great Location.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: Rooms could be upgraded. Very minimalistic, but clean.
Location: In the heart of Old Town with the beach, shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance.
Great Location, on the beach and close to "Old Town" and all the restaurants and shops. Somewhat out dated rooms. The pool and beach are kept in great condition as are the little restaurant and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

On the beach where all the action is.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Our room had a street view AND an ocean view from our balcony! GREAT water pressure to in the shower and never ran out of hot water.
Location: Everything is within walking distance from here. From shopping, nightlife to amazing restaurants and cafes.
Great, affordable hotel right on the water & close to the gay beach. Check in & out was easy & efficient. Had all the basics, cable T.V., A/C, a safe, & comfy beds.