Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from heber ca

Terrible customer service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
My A/C didnt work i reported it to front desk and they never came to fix it, the next day i slept with no a/c it was super humid and hot outside, i had family swetting i had to open sliding door but it was worst never ever staying in that hotel in my entire life, Dont recommended at all!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well kept hotel on the beach with two pools.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We had a balcony room with a terrific view of the beach and water. Very large rooms and the maid was wonderful. Quaint hotel with nice inexpensive restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Pay more n stay in a better hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Tropicana hotel was dirty, beds had sand, bathroom were dirty and old, swimming pool was dirty with a lot of bugs. Found cockroaches by stairs and ants in the bathroom. Would never stay at this hotel. Playa los arcos is a better hotel couple blocks away .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix AZ

Local favorite

Posted Jun 15, 2017
This hotel serves mostly local vacationer's almost exclusively. Staff did not speak any English & offer no assistance when I was robbed & injured on our 3rd night out of 10. I was repeatedly given wrong directions to police to report the crime & file a report. I would not recommend this hotel to any Americans as there is a real attitude issue due to our current president. I thought in a tourism town like Puerto Vallarta would at least try to hide their feelings, but on my 7th trip to what was once a lovely vacation spot will be my last. Expedia or Add'l Upgraded Travel Insurance also were no help to a traveler that was robbed & injured.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Decent but nothing fancy or even nice to be honest

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Great price for hotel. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Their restaurant is really cheap and the taste is okay For the price. Old town is awesome way better than the updated resort area (close to airport), more friendly and cozy. Small beach town love the vibes! Now to the negatives.. the hotel was not the business. Wifi only works in there lobby it does not work in rooms what so ever. There TV had like 3 English channels (I only speak English) if you are bilingual or speak Spanish then cool your in luck with TV. There's were bugs all over bathroom sink. Little bugs , but still bugs. The beds were very hard, which kinda worked out for my husbands back lol but not for mine. THE SHOWERS.... GROSS. We laid a towel down and showered with our flip flops. Basically the hotel was very run down and very outdated. Aside from those things my friends and I had a wonderful time. Also watch out for the cops out there THEY ARE SHADY !!!!! They tried to make me pull money from the ATM and pay them cash for a ticket I got (ran a red light searching for return car rental) when I pulled up to ATM my car rental manager happend to be there and called them on their BS and they left unhappy that they didn't get me out of my money. so not cool !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Needs better ac and faster check in.........snndjdmdmskdnmdmd
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do much better!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Paid for 3 superior rooms, we got 2. The other was in the back next to a construction site awful! The young man at the front desk said they could not move us to a better room because they were sold out. I had my reservation for 8 weeks. Also when we checked in I was told I needed to email them a copy of my reservation confirmation , even though they had my reservation and I showed them a copy of it on my phone. This was a first for me, He made me sign into their wifi just to send the email. I returned later to complain that the key and doorknob was difficult to work and needed repair, this was never fixed. We never had any wash clothes during our stay in any of our 3 rooms. The beds were the worst , like sleeping on cement blocks in all 3 rooms. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel room had a leak in the bathroom. I called front desk twice to address the issue . Nothing! The room was out dated . Smelly. Nothing like the pictures. Hotel restaurant staff very rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Ca.

Has all we need.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Staff, price and location. Rosario,our room attendant was a darling,kept the room sparkling.
Cons: The food at the restsurant
Location: Very centraly located, near everything.
Clean, very price reasonable,has a restaurant but food could be better, very happy with the staff and very well situated, we are near everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Gave it a high rating

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The Staff were outstanding and the location was excellent
Cons: The rooms could be updated some. The sliding door track was nicked and worn which made it stick and noisy to open and close.
Location: Location was great. There are restaurants, shops and entertainment too numerable to identify in the Romantic Zone
We are giving the Hotel Tropicana a high rating. The staff was so helpful and pleasant. Check-in couldn't have gone any easier. The rooms were very clean and the location was just where We wanted to be. It is right on the beach with access to all the shops and restaurants in the Romantic Zone.