Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Inexpensive hotel...quite comfortable. Nice pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

good location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Very close by bus to Walmart or Old town. A large variety of stores and eating places a short walk away. Very clean and well kept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Centrally located hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, decorations, public areas.
Cons: Not many electrical outlets, better wi fi,
Location: central location, few bus stops to Malecon, few bus stops to Marina Vallarta, half block from the beach. The beach though is not very good.
THe hotel room was spacious with a little kitchenette, complete with dishes and pots and pans. The stuff was helpful and nice, but did not speak much english, so at times it was slightly challenging. The room is basic. Mostly everything worked and we did not have any problems with hot or cold water or electricity. There are not much electrical outlets, so it was helpful that we brought an extention cord. Their basic free wifi was spotty and not good. They also have you sign in online every day and it was annoying. This hotel is good for a budget traveler who is going to explore the city, the beaches, etc. and not stay in the room. It could get loud during the day with mostly mexican children swimming in the pool, but from around 10 pm through 9 am it is very quiet. Everything in the hotel seemed clean and the maid was able to accomodate us at our own schedule, sometimes cleaning in the afternoon, sometimes morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Worst hotel in my life

Posted Jul 18, 2016
My room was next to a busy street. The room shook each time a truck drive by. Below my windows was a bar. It was Saturday night. Outside the bar drunk people were talking. My fitbit shows I only slept 42 minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place!

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
This place is a well-kept secret. Great price, mostly friendly staff, clean, safe. It's a budget place, for sure, don't expect a luxury tourist hotel, but a tremendous deal with good location. Con's: courtyard/pool area is a bit of a sound chamber, and the rooms with verandas have screens at the top of the veranda windows...so you can't close sound out. The place is generally quiet, but if anyone -- or a bird -- is talking outside by the pool, you'll hear them clearly. Beds are very, very firm (Mexican style). They had *one* foam topper in the whole place. If you don't like firm, you won't like these beds. Breakfast just okay, wifi very inconsistent. Some staff not very helpful, others great. Very little English ability on the staff. Pro's: clean place (except the tile floors, which are "cleaned" daily but mopped rather inefficiently, so wear slippers), mostly friendly staff, pretty quiet (but ask for a room away from the busy street side), excellent location...close to beach and downtown, cooking facilities, nice little pool which was hardly used, several good places to eat in the area, and great price! One strip joint out on the main road but not near enough for concern. AC and TV worked fine. Will stay again (if not accompanied by a light sleeper). I give pretty strong ratings overall because it's the kind of place you're glad to get for this price range.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from PDX

Good value, nice people, good stay!

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
A good 3-night stay - I would return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed the Vallartasol hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly staff and located close to bus lines and grocery stores. the balcony kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans. The 4 burner gas range and refrigerator were very useful and economical.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

A two-week stay at Hotel Vallartasol

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was great and everything became like home except the pool lounges.
Cons: Pool lounges are painful to use. The noise from radios in late-evening and voices during the night was noticed by light sleepers.
Location: There are many places to eat, large grocery stores, and shops within a few blocks. Very well-situated and near all bus routes.
We found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. First problem was WIFI reception. This was remedied by an attentive staff....Marisol. I believe they called a repairperson and installed another modem. The air conditioning, refrigerator, and living space were all very good. The balcony was large and a welcome relief from being indoors. There was only one serious problem...the pool furniture(lounge for sunning) had no cushions....iron barns under fabric....very uncomfortable...for this reason, I could not recommend the hotel to a friend....otherwise, this was a fine Mexican hotel...not fancy, but clean, with a good staff and the comforts of home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: A restaurant on the premises would be a great help
Location: beach, shopping taxis are easily available, and are reasonably priced
rooms were comfortable, basic, nothing fancy, mostly young kids hung around in the pools, and were very noisy screaming and splashing. If you just need a place to crash its great, there is also a guard at night in front and they lock the iron gates in front of the hotel, so it felt safe. we asked for recommendation to eat and their suggestions were great. all day long we were busy doing outdoor activities so didn't need to use the rooms, across the street there is scuba/dive shop that you can sign up, light shopping and the beach and restaurant were great you can walk to the downtown its about 15 to 20 minutes walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen Small from Vancouver BC

Nice, inexpensive place to stay.

Posted Jan 1, 2014
I stayed in a room with a kitchen on the balcony, which was great because I was able to grocery shop and make my own morning meals. The pool is well maintained and offers a refreshing experience upon your return. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a good place to stay if you are not looking to spend a lot of money.