Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
The employees are great and I loved the fact I was like one of three guests during my stay. The property is rather small, but in an awesome central location in Zona Romantica. If you stay here request a higher back room. I was in a room closer to the front and the first floor. They have a bar directly underneath the first floor, and you can hear thumping loud music up until 3am. If you are out partying until 3am each night you are good. I'm sure the rooms on the third floor are quieter when the club is open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santiago

Cheap studio, GREAT locaction

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Good for the price, spacious and well located for party and dinning. I will come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Liked the downtown location. Only part I didn't like that is that , no reception and thanks to a lovely French gal from Montreal opened the door after I walked about the area for about 15 min. Looking for the spot,seeing the address but no way to get in. This lady told me where to go and even walked me to the hotel where I signed in and walk back to this spot which was about a 10 min. walk. There doing renovations at this place also. I really this spot and would come back again. Fe Riendly cleaning staff and talked to Reno guy which was very knowledgeable. All in all a very beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Rooftop pool. Great cleanliness. Location. Lupita and Roberto were so helpful and kind.
Had the beautiful Little rooftop pool all to ourselves most mornings and evenings. great location for nightlife, the beach, and excursions. Will definitely return to the iguana de oro! Get your keys from hotel Encino.
5 out of 5
by rene-marin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Monika from Melbourne

Don't bother unless u plan not to sleep....

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Room was bigger than we needed, but it was apparently a long eeekend so not many options. Was more expensive than other places we stayed at in puerto valarta. But it was above 2 night clubs, it was noisy, the curtains didn't block out the light and when u check in u actually have to go to another sister hotel (which is about 5-6 blocks away) to check in where the staff are rude and don't help u at all. The pillows were rubbish - all bumpy... We had to pay a bond for the room, credit card would have actually taken it off the credit card rather than most places that just do a hold or cash where we would have to come and pick it up on check out at the original chek in place. Thankfully the hotel maid was very reasonable and gave it back to us on the spot. Don't forget to do it kitchen check of all items on check in... There was a smell coming from the drain in the bathroom. Don't rate it, very average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good economic room close to nightlife

Posted Jan 7, 2015
It is a great little space that has all you need if you're like me and spend minimal time in your room when vacationing. It has a small, equipped kitchen if you like to cook (why on vacation though?) it has a bed and a decent bathroom. The little sitting area is nice and has a tv but again, why? It is an easy 3 block walk to the Malecon/beach and right in the heart of all the nightlife. The price is especially right! Rooftop pool is nothing to write home about but is perfect for those days when you can't venture too far from your bed in the morning. Stanzas downstairs is awesome! My only complaint is the wifi didn't work while I was there but once again, I'm not trying to sit in my room and play on my phone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Don't stay here if you are claustrophobic.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Nowhere on my itinerary did it mention you cannot get into this place without registering at an other hotel. Imagine my surprise when the cab driver pulled up to this address only to find a wall with a black door and a number above it. When Hotel Encino FINALLY answered the phone, they had a lady let me in. Not a great start to my holiday. After getting into my room I realized that it really had no windows! A small window in the bedroom looked out onto brick walls. Only after meeting someone with a room at the front with a balcony did I realize they actually gave me one of the better rooms. The ones with the balcony are on a very busy bus route. The noise and pollution are horrible. I also found out from the lady in the other room that they do not supply toilet paper. This is a first for me. You get one roll when you get there then you are on your own. Needless to say I asked to be moved to the other hotel and ended up in a beautiful suite overlooking the river. Much better option. I would highly recommend the suites owned by Encino.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente