Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Unfinished hotel, rooms are nice, no resturants,

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Food
Location: Beautiful but not mich to do
Nice and quiet, no night life, nothing to eat, nobody knew about golf, peaple were nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet, pools, golf course
Cons: More people and staff.
Location: You will need a car. They do not rent surfboards even though the waves are great.
I enjoyed my 4-day stay at the La Tranquila. I would recommend this beach/resort over the crowded and overpriced beach town of Sayulita (which has lost much of its secret charm over the last 5 years)... There are numerous large pools that are great for swimming laps, and the beach is relatively quiet with great waves. The beach is very soft sand and fairly short (not much distance from hotel to water) so not great for jogging. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The food is delicious but probably a bit overpriced. Biggest issue, please be aware, is that hotel is relatively remote aside from the adjacent golf course and another hotel. So getting there would probably require a rental car. Also, I was only one of 4 guests in the entire hotel so it is extremely quiet and away from town/restaurants/nightlife if that's what you're looking for. On 2 occasions I came down to lobby and nobody (including staff) was around and it took me 10-15 minutes to find anybody staying or working in the hotel. The golf course nearby is nice, well-groomed, and $75 for green fees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Fantastic in all ways. Great rooms and great staff. Best pool ever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Beautiful place , awful food , bad service , not enough staff and very insecure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everyroom has a balcony with a great ocean view.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Can't wait to go back, and bring my whole family. The employees where very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful grounds, but incomplete, and feels odd

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The grounds.
Cons: Finish construction, hire more staff to serve guests.
Location: Restaurants in Punts Mita, which you'll need bc the one restaurant that is open at any time at Tranquila is average at best.
The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. One of the most beautiful I've seen- infinity edge pool by the ocean, a row of small jacuzzis line the sandy beach, giant pools, etc. The problem is, it seems like they ran out of funds, and just stopped. Stopped construction, and stopped caring. There is only one restaurant open at a time for the entire resort, and their food is average. The pool bar is not completed. It's hard to enjoy the beauty when there is no service to be had- no poolside margaritas for you! The entire place just feels weird, as there is very minimal staff here, and not many other guests. There is no entertainment- none. If your goal is total and complete isolation, this is the place for you. We were disappointed, because having options for things to do would have been nice. I would not stay here next time we're in Nayarit. There is also zero privacy in the restroom area of the rooms- the door to the toilet is clear glass- not even frosted! The shower and tub is out in the open, and also encased in clear glass. If you are at all shy about everyone in your party seeing you bathe and use the toilet, skip this place. The jacuzzi tub also did not have hot water, so it was a pointless ornament in our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very upset with the front desk

Posted Feb 16, 2016
I stayed at La Tranquila because I was a guest at a wedding at the four seasons. My bag was delayed at the airport, so the airline let me know that they would deliver my bag to the hotel when they retrieved it. I told the front desk, the bell hop, and concierge about this and they seemed happy to make sure they delivered it to me as soon as they got it. They received it the night before I was to check out and did not let me know they had it and did not give it to me as I said good bye amd asked if they received it yet. I didn't find this out until I got home. The airline told me that they had detained my bag because I did not pay my bill. I called them and they said my bill was in fact payed. And did not have a reason why they held on to my bag that I had expressed how bad I needed. I didn't have anything, no toiletries, no undergarments, no dress or shoes or makeup for the wedding. They knew this. I am so displeased with the way they handled this that I will never stay there again. It's a shame to, because the hotel is beautiful and tranquil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great option if you like a relaxing environment

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The quiet pool, the beach being not crowded, the restaurant/drinks staff was very attentive but not overcrowding, the room was A+ and wifi worked fine
Cons: Nothing comes to mind, maybe more veggie/vegan food options
Location: Tons of sea stuff, golf and going to the towns nearby although you need a car to go wondering about.
The hotel is in a Golf property that houses two hotels, the "Iberostar playa mita" (another hotel which looks more "common" i.e. more like the all inclusive type, it looked more crowded and not that special at least from the outside) and "La Tranquila". The Tranquila areas are beautiful and very well kept, staff is very profesional and courteous, room was very spacious and had excellent distribution including a bath tub inside and a small two person pool on the outside terrace overlooking the hotel areas and sea. What i really liked was that the hotel was not crowded with people, there was almost no one there when you went out to the pools or sea, no music playing or when they did have some it was only in certain areas and very soft so you would hardly notice it. The pools are so big you can be on one side and not even know who might be swimming on the other end, the beach area is very clean, well kept and you would have it all to yourself, some people walking by from the other hotels in the area but it is great if you like to have the beach to yourself. The pool restaurant staff was very attending but at the same time they were not all over you trying to force any food or drinks, food was not A+ but not bad at all, i'm a vegan so i didnt eat much, if you're a meat/fish eater the food may be great as the chefs looked like pro's. Overall great vacation, i would recommend it for adults, i would assume kids would not have as much fun in a quiet, relaxing environment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Breath taking hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel and property are breath taking, with the most spectacular views. The staff and everyone that we encountered were helpful, kind, friendly and made our stay extremely enjoyable. As many reviews have noted that the hotel is still under construction. In 6 six years they have manage to finish 24 rooms, so even at full capacity it is a ghost town. The first two days - we appeared to be the only quests. So if you are a celebrity and need a hidden hide-a-way this is the place. If you are adventures and love to wander off property to the local establishments and enjoy what the area has to offer this is the place. If you want conversation, spa, room service, activities, comradery, beach side bar, etc this is not the place. For us the room rate was perfect in comparison to the Four Seasons and the St. Regis with that in mind next time we will pay the difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Unbelievable!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
It is really impressive! Off the charts! I stayed in the Brisa suite which must be about 2000 sq ft witj everything you need. Views are amazing, as the hotel facilities. Stop by local supermarket in vallarta or on the way to the hotel. You wont have a lot of options for snacks and other last minute needs in hotel. You might want to buy snacks, sodas, water, detergent, paper towels, etc. Beach is the best I have seen in the Pacific. I counted 7 pools, one infinity pool measuring like 400 ft long. If you wanna relax is the perfect place. If you or your kids want to be stimulated or entertained, find another place. Only one restaurant open at any time. Food is great but only few options. They strive to provide best service