Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles.

i never write reviews but had to on this one!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Comforter to bed was filthy with stains. Called to have it removed and replaced. Never got new one until several hours later had to ask for one. Most of the Staff didn't not speak any English. We had a total of 3 large bath towels for 3 people. No wash cloths, had towels which would be standard at any other hotel. Buildings are not completed so you stare at a 1/2 or 1/3 of unfidhed construction. That looks like it has just stalled. I could go on but I will stop here. It was very unfortunate but luckily we were only staying one night! Was hoping to really like it so we could go back with friends in future. Oh well!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Resort was beautiful. Room was really nice. Pools are wonderful. The service at the pool wasn't great. Shower is located in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

The Tranquilizer

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Pool along the beach is AMAZING.
Cons: Place is just so enormous I'm not sure what really to do. Maybe finish the other planned buildings (also enormous) and hope more people come?
Location: Very close to the town of Punta Mita. A bit longer cab ride to Sayulita but still convenient.
Place is enormous yet void of humans even during what is described as a "high season" week. We stayed Dec 22-24. Staff seemed more eager to sell us a time share than serve hot coffee in the morning (we asked twice to no avail). We received permission to check out a night early, yet had to spend an hour on the phone with Expedia catching the hotel staff in a lie, and still awaiting the refund of our final night as promised by the reservation staff. I’d be happy with just a refund of 1/3 of our stay (Friday night did carry a premium and I totally understand and accept this). Negative comments aside, the hotel property is BEAUTIFUL and very well maintained. If you are looking for a VERY quite resort, this is a perfect place for you. The tranquility will tranquilize you. An important disclosure is the property has very few actual hotel rooms. The rest are condos (likely many unsold and unoccupied), hence the sparsely populated resort—which is GREAT if that is what you are looking for. Rooms are very nice but we found the lack of any available and/or optional shower privacy a bit odd. Don't think about doing any work in the room, the "desk" is way too high and there were basically no electrical outlets in the room anywhere. Finally, does anyone actually get in one of those silly little cold water pools on a hotel room balcony? A nice table and/or set of lounge chairs would be much more useful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great food and staff

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place will be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Unfinished hotel, rooms are nice, no resturants,

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Food
Location: Beautiful but not mich to do
Nice and quiet, no night life, nothing to eat, nobody knew about golf, peaple were nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet, pools, golf course
Cons: More people and staff.
Location: You will need a car. They do not rent surfboards even though the waves are great.
I enjoyed my 4-day stay at the La Tranquila. I would recommend this beach/resort over the crowded and overpriced beach town of Sayulita (which has lost much of its secret charm over the last 5 years)... There are numerous large pools that are great for swimming laps, and the beach is relatively quiet with great waves. The beach is very soft sand and fairly short (not much distance from hotel to water) so not great for jogging. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The food is delicious but probably a bit overpriced. Biggest issue, please be aware, is that hotel is relatively remote aside from the adjacent golf course and another hotel. So getting there would probably require a rental car. Also, I was only one of 4 guests in the entire hotel so it is extremely quiet and away from town/restaurants/nightlife if that's what you're looking for. On 2 occasions I came down to lobby and nobody (including staff) was around and it took me 10-15 minutes to find anybody staying or working in the hotel. The golf course nearby is nice, well-groomed, and $75 for green fees.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is still under construction and feels oddly corporate. The staff largely doesn't speak English which makes room service tough. But the pool and beach are stunning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Fantastic in all ways. Great rooms and great staff. Best pool ever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Beautiful place , awful food , bad service , not enough staff and very insecure.
3 out of 5
by pasquale

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels