Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Beautiful place , awful food , bad service , not enough staff and very insecure.
5 out of 5
by Katrina

Beautiful but unfinished hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The ocean side pool is absolutely beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everyroom has a balcony with a great ocean view.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Can't wait to go back, and bring my whole family. The employees where very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Ezra from México

Lo mejor

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Es lo máximo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful grounds, but incomplete, and feels odd

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The grounds.
Cons: Finish construction, hire more staff to serve guests.
Location: Restaurants in Punts Mita, which you'll need bc the one restaurant that is open at any time at Tranquila is average at best.
The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. One of the most beautiful I've seen- infinity edge pool by the ocean, a row of small jacuzzis line the sandy beach, giant pools, etc. The problem is, it seems like they ran out of funds, and just stopped. Stopped construction, and stopped caring. There is only one restaurant open at a time for the entire resort, and their food is average. The pool bar is not completed. It's hard to enjoy the beauty when there is no service to be had- no poolside margaritas for you! The entire place just feels weird, as there is very minimal staff here, and not many other guests. There is no entertainment- none. If your goal is total and complete isolation, this is the place for you. We were disappointed, because having options for things to do would have been nice. I would not stay here next time we're in Nayarit. There is also zero privacy in the restroom area of the rooms- the door to the toilet is clear glass- not even frosted! The shower and tub is out in the open, and also encased in clear glass. If you are at all shy about everyone in your party seeing you bathe and use the toilet, skip this place. The jacuzzi tub also did not have hot water, so it was a pointless ornament in our room.
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
although there were not many children around- they were accommodating to our 2 and 4 year old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very upset with the front desk

Posted Feb 16, 2016
I stayed at La Tranquila because I was a guest at a wedding at the four seasons. My bag was delayed at the airport, so the airline let me know that they would deliver my bag to the hotel when they retrieved it. I told the front desk, the bell hop, and concierge about this and they seemed happy to make sure they delivered it to me as soon as they got it. They received it the night before I was to check out and did not let me know they had it and did not give it to me as I said good bye amd asked if they received it yet. I didn't find this out until I got home. The airline told me that they had detained my bag because I did not pay my bill. I called them and they said my bill was in fact payed. And did not have a reason why they held on to my bag that I had expressed how bad I needed. I didn't have anything, no toiletries, no undergarments, no dress or shoes or makeup for the wedding. They knew this. I am so displeased with the way they handled this that I will never stay there again. It's a shame to, because the hotel is beautiful and tranquil.
5 out of 5
by Bernardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jalisco

La intranquila

Posted Feb 1, 2016
1.- A mi llegada no había un cocktel de bienvenida, menos una persona que me indicara donde estaba el lugar para hacer el check in. 2.- Las primeras palabras de la señorita del front desk después del buenas tardes fue "si les comentaron que el check out es a las 12, verdad? En caso que se pasen una hora más serán 100 usd por hora cargados a su cuenta". Creo que si con esto abres el speech de bienvenida es fatal. 3.-Error en la asignación de las habitaciones, reconozco que llegue a las 2 y el check in era a las 4, sin embargo pasadas las 4, aún no sabía los botones qué habitación tenía yo, y pregunte a la front desk qué tipo de habitación era la mía, pero no me supo responder. 5.-Agua natural en las habitaciones, me dieron 2 botellas de agua en cada habitación para mi primer noche, en la segunda noche no había agua, creo que el costo del lugar valdría la pena por cortesía 2 botellitas más de agua de 5 pesos cada una, no? 6.-Servicio en la alberca, un hotel premium que se dice ser la tranquila, no se puede dar el lujo de no tener alimentos básicos en sus menus, después de consumir todo el día bebidas preparadas y bebidas alcohólicas, ordenó un plato de fruta y me indican que los disculpe pero solo hay piña........... 7.-Agua caliente, me dispongo a tomar un baño antes de salir a la alberca, y me doy cuenta que no existe presión suficiente de agua en las regaderas y lo más impactante que no hay agua caliente, preguntó a front desk y me indican" si sr, lo sé averio una caldera
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total peace at La Tranquila, Punta Mita, MX

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Gorgeous hotel and property, very nice staff; however, as in most Mexican territories be prepared to be asked to sit in on a 90 min. presentation for part ownership units. The benefits they offer are enticing (2 for 1 massages, 20% off all hotel food and beverage, a free lunch on the day of your presentation). Warning: we heard that the hotel is in financial trouble…grave trouble….so buyers beware. Overall, we would definitely return to this property because it was so beautiful and peaceful with friendly staff. However, if they can get out of trouble and actually complete the property fully (currently only about 1/4 of the way built), then this property would be utterly amazing! But with one cafe and one small dining area/bar, it's lacking variety, and the spa has not been built yet, nor the large sports bar in the middle of the pools…so tons of potential!